We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of "everything"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #40 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“In the middle of "everything"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

One of Perseos best qualities is that it is so central. It is a two minutes walk to Il Duomo and shoppingstreets. It is easy to navigate in Firenze because it's not a large city and therefor this hotel was perfect located for us. It's located at the 3rd floor and the elevator looks scary, so we walked, but it is possible to use the elevator.
Very nice staff, italian breakfeast - nice capuccino, and the rooms are OK.
Be sure to ask in the reception of nice places to eat. They will show you to good and not to pricy restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariPrM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    546
    85
    13
    5
See reviews for
487
770
71
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I visited the Hotel Perseo for two nights earlier this month (August) with our 18 month old. The first thing to say is what a tremendous location within walking distance of the train station and the Duomo and within easy reach of all the other major attractions in Florence. The main attraction to the hotel, apart from the location, was obviously the cost which was reasonable considering it was peak season at 88 Euros a night. The hotel is situated off the main road between the Duomo and the Santa Maria Novella train station. On arriving and entering through the front doors you are confronted with the lift, this is one of the only downsides to this hotel. I can only describe as a small antique style lift and you select level 3 to get the floor in which the hotel is situated. Upon getting out of the lift you are met by the reception to the hotel. The staff members on both days were extremely helpful and provided us with a map and circled all the attractions we were looking to visit and advised us of opening and closing times etc.. We where shown to our room which was clean and a decent size. The bathroom was also clean and the room had a safe which is always convenient. The continental breakfast was OK with a selection of meats, fruit, cereals, tea, coffee and fresh juice available. All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel and if we where to return to Florence would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tally2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is literally minutes away from the Doumo and walking distance to most of the other major attractions and great restaurants. They are very hospitable and the rooms are quite large and clean. Would definitely come back here to stay next time I visit Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HangryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Location fantastic - only a few yards from the Duomo. Perfect for being able to get to the main Piazza early in the morning to minimise queuing.

Rooms / facilities are good for a three star hotel and are air conditioned (important for Italy in summer).

Staff particularly friendly and helpful, we could see this was true for us and other guests who had queries.

Would definitely go back to this hotel if we visited Florence again and would recommend to friends.

We had a hire car and used the car parking service - you do have to pay for this but it worked well and was convenient.

Suggest you take account of the hotel staff's recommendations for places to eat and places to go - worked well for us. Especially the "self service restaurant" for lunch which is just around the corner.

Hotel is on the third floor of the building. There is a small lift if you need it (eg for suitcases) - otherwise it gets you in practice for all of the steps you'll be climbing in Florence.

It wasn't relevant for us but it is close to the main train station - about a 5-8 minute walk (reasonable with a wheely suitcase - lots of the other guests were doing this).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasperatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is literally steps away from the Duomo Square and most other highlights, location is unmatchable. The rooms we took was simple but clean and spacious. The breakfast was excellent with sufficient choice. Friendly and helpful staff. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Perseo for four nights on our European vacation this July.

We also visited London, Paris and Rome, but our stay in Florence was the highlight of the entire trip, with the Hotel Perseo as our central hub.

You are 1/2 block from the Duomo - literally within view as you step out the door - and within easy walking distance of just about anything else you could want to do. The Academy, Uffizi, Pitti Palace, Ponte Vecchio, world-class shopping, train station, etc. are all within about 10 minutes walk from the hotel door.

The hotel and staff were fantastic, from breakfast to restaurant recommendations, we could not have been happier with our choice.

My one piece of advice to all tourists visiting Florence is to buy the Firenze Card - online or at the tourist information office next to the Duomo. Lines are very long for everything during the high season, and the Firenze Card allows you to skip most of the lines. It turned a 2-hour wait for the Uffizi into less than 10 minutes - worth every Euro.

Thanks Perseo for making this a trip we will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheelras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent hotel in great location so close to everything. Staff are so friendly and welcoming, especially Laura who gave us great recommendations on things to see and do, restaurants and booked us a Fiat self drive winery tour which is a must do when in Florence. The hotel is very clean and tidy and rooms are large. Would highly recommend Hotel Perseo.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Property: Hotel Perseo
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing