We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff and Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #43 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
zabbar
2 reviews
“Wonderful staff and Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

Traveling with a coeliac condition is not always that straight forward but this short holiday was made absolutely easy by the excellent assistance provide by the hotel staff. They put my mind at rest from the very moment I’ve sent them the first email as Louise new everything about the condition and made sure that the staff provide all the necessary assistance. Anna was very keen on the preparation of the gluten free food for breakfast and Tani was absolutely helpful for the selection of the right restaurant offering GF food, he even went a step further and plotted them on a map which also included the nearest GF gelateria.

We traveled as an extended family and we stayed in two separate rooms one for two and another for four persons. Both rooms were absolutely clean and spacious with very modern bathrooms. The location of the hotel is very central and less than ten minutes walk from the main central station S.M.N.

We will definitely recommend this nice, small and lovely hotel to any one traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzoZabbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    540
    84
    13
    5
See reviews for
473
759
70
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Il Perseo!

We arrived in Florence at 7.30 am on the overnight Artesia train from Paris (don't do this, it was a nightmare!).

We were very tired after the train trip, but it was only a short walk from the train station to the hotel. We had expected that we'd have to leave our bags and come back later on. However, the staff kindly found us a room that we could check into straightaway (at approx 8am). So after a nap and a shower we were in a much better frame of mind for sightseeing!!

The room was very comfortable and spacious, the hotel is quite small and the staff were very friendly. They assisted with a tour booking (and recommended a great tour to the Chianti Region and Siena), provided free happy hour drinks and internet access. The hotel is also very central to everything in Florence. Breakfast was great too.

We couldn't have asked for more, the hotel and staff were lovely and it all represented excellent value for money. If you are on a long trip staying in hotels, you will definitely appreciate the nice change of staying in a small well run establishment like this one.

  • Liked — the staff, the location, the room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

I booked this hotel based on the great reviews on this website and we weren't disappointed. The Duomo is RIGHT NEXT TO IT and is easily seen from anywhere in Florence. You can walk to every great museum and attraction, it's central and there are some great restaurants around. It's a five - ten minute walk to the train station, and not far to the river.

This rooms are comfortable and the bathroom was surprisingly modern. There are only a few rooms which gives the hotel an exclusive feel.

But what made this hotel great were the staff. Laura made us feel really welcome, helped us book train tickets, recommended sights, gave us maps and was just generally lovely.

We absolutely loved florence and wouldn't stay anywhere else. An absolute pleasure.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEitalysomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

We read all of the great reviews and decided to give it a try. They were all correct, the place was great. The room was clean and we had a great view out our window. The best part of the hotel was the staff. You can get a nice room anywhere but they staff really go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They chatted with us every time we stopped in the lobby for their happy hour, asked us about our day and gave us helpful tips on where to go and what tours past guests have enjoyed. We had to take care of some business at home but didn't have our computer (they offer free wi-fi) so they offered up a laptop that they keep available just for the guests. The breakfast was good and the dining area was always very clean.

We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The location, helpful friendly staff and clean rooms
  • Disliked — small room (but that is typical for this area)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelMiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

My friends and I stayed at the Hotel Perseo to run the marathon. We were all extremely happy with accomodation. The hotel is about 200 metres from the duomo and only 5 minutes walk from the main station and you are spoilt for choice with places to eat and shop, and all the sights are on your doorstep.
The hotel is newly renovated and kept very clean and serve a good quality continental breakfast, the coffee is very yummy.
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us with all our queries. Also the hotel was only a 20 minute jog to the start of the marathon and 10 minutes crawl from the finish! Breakfast normally starts at 7 but they set up for us at 6 and also let us keep one of the rooms till 3pm so we could come back and shower after the marathon at no extra charge! They also gave us excellent restaurant recommendations, good food at reasonable prices. You cannot beat this place for quality, price and location.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LizSAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

Great location and the staff (Tani and Laura) made the stay truly memorable. Not only did they book the Uffizi and Accademia in advance, they also booked a hotel in Venice and helped us with all of our plans (restaurants and museums) in Florence. Best of all, they were accommodating, knowledgeable and fun. Room was very nice and surprisingly quiet for being only steps from the Duomo.

  • Liked — The location and staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stever3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

With a one minute walk to the Duomo, the location of the Perso can't be bettered. Add to that a level of personal service that you simply can't get in the larger 'posh' hotels and you've got the makings of a great stay in Florence.

The hotel was renovated a year or two ago and the comfortable rooms have a modern feel to them - flat screen TV mounted on the wall, individual air conditioning units and trendy bathrooms.

Our room at the back of the building was peaceful and had a typical Florentine view across the red tiled rooftops.

Breakfast was fine, with good Italian coffee, although the breakfast room is a little soul-less. But who wants to hang around at breakfast when Florence is calling!

Another reviewer mentioned the entrance off the street and the need to take the lift to the 3rd floor. Yes, as you walk off the street you might think "Oo-er" but it's fairly typical in Florence -- a lot of the smaller hotels are situated above the shops so the reception is on the 3rd floor. Just take the lift (max 2 persons!) and you're greeted by charming, helpful staff in a lovely, modern reception.

Definitely the best Florence hotel we've stayed in, and we've visited often in the past 5 years.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Property: Hotel Perseo
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing