We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,981 results
Traveller rating
1,241
625
94
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,241
625
94
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil perseotrain stationgreat locationthird floorbell towerchurch bellsstay there againfamily roomwithin walking distancepastrieshard boiled eggscentral locationthe hotel staffmuseum reservationssmall liftby european standardstwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,133 - 1,138 of 1,981 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2009

This hotel was quite a find! Only two blocks from the Duomo and in the center of Florence, everything was an easy walk. The hotel is on a main road only 5-7 minutes from the train, and was surprisingly quiet. The staff is wonderfully helpful and was very friendly. Our first room was really small, and the wireless internet was down, but they did move us to another room that was more spacious and had internet access. And it was free! The room looked recently renovated an was nicely done. The breakfast was also excellent with a wide assortment of pastry, fruit, cereal, breads, meats and cheeses, etc. I'd very much recommend this place. I did some price shopping and while it was in the moderate range, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonetothedogz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

As everybody says the location is fabulous. The room was clean comfortable and cool!
All the staff were extremely helpful in every way - museum bookings included.
On our net trip to Florence we will definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manchester1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We could not have picked a better hotel in florence, it was perfect in every possible way. we picked Il perseo based on trip advisor's reviews (thank you!),and they were all so true. The location is #1, the value you could see for yourself, and the staff goes out of their way to be helpuful and to make you feel comfortable. Thank you Louise, Laura and everyone else for a fantastic stay. we can't wait to go back. Do not go to this hotel if you are looking for antiques in your room. it is very simple with spic and span bathrooms, and simple furniture.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inmde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed at Perseo for 3 nights in mid-July 2009 as part of our Europe tour.

Location: Everything has already been said -- any closer, and your room would be INSIDE the Duomo. A 5-minute walk to the train station, this has to be the most conveniently located quality hotel in Florence. A car is not necessary, nor recommended.

Hotel: Don't be alarmed by the austere, poorly marked entrance. Take the old-school elevator (cage-like contraption where you have to open 2 sets of doors) to the 3rd floor and you will find the perkily-painted Perseo reception area (24/7 coverage), with the breakfast/bar to one side and a small lounge to the other side. Hotel Perseo occupies this 3rd floor and the 4th floor. Having been recently renovated, the Perseo has the air of a midrange boutique hotel. Breakfast is free and quite good, though sometimes you may need to wait for a seat.

Room: On the advice of previous TripAdvisor reviewers, we asked for, and received the one room with a view of the Duomo! The dome is magnificent, especially when softly illuminated at night. The room itself was quite spacious with an extra daybed/sofa. Clean lines and warm colors. Bathroom was modern and clean, though the shower stall door kept rolling off its slider.

Service: Above and beyond. They accommodated our request for the Duomo view room, though we did have to change rooms on the 3rd day because it was reserved for another party that had made an earlier booking. All staff members were extremely nice - the gentleman who worked the night shift offered us each a glass of wine after we lamented the fact that we kept missing the hotel's complimentary "happy hour" wine each day. The woman at the front desk also recommended a delicious nearby lunch spot called Trattoria Zaza. The hotel will also make reservations for you at the Uffizi and Galleria Academia, for which you will need to pay 4 euro per ticket, but will save you some waiting time in the lines.

Internet: Free wifi is available only in the reception area; otherwise, they provide cables for in-room use. There is also a computer for guest usage in the reception area.

Value: Excellent. We paid 96 euros/night and thought it was a steal for the location, level of service, and quality of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJ912001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Seriously close to the main attactions (Duomo, Uffizi, Gallery Academia & Palazzo Vecchio)

The staff were particularly helpful, & even searched & printed our train times.
The hotel also allows you to borrow a laptop for up to 30mins.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPYLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews