We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly hotel - couldn’t imagine a better place to stay in Florence”
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #36 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I’ve never written a review for TripAdvisor before, but we booked this hotel because of the great TripAdvisor reviews, and it absolutely lived up to our expectations, so I decided to post this. As the reviews mention, it’s an amazing location – just ½ block from the Duomo, 10-minute walk to the train station and walking distance to everything in Florence. It has a great vibe – very friendly and helpful staff; when our room wasn’t quite ready (we got there early), they made us a couple cups of cappuccino (some of the best we had) while we waited for a few minutes and helped us locate places we were looking for on our map. Rates were reasonable, at least off-season; for non-refundable rates (paid in advance on their website) the rooms started at $76Euro/$106US for economy double, and we ended up splurging a bit and booking the Superior Double for $108Euro/$150 US, which was a really incredible room – very large, light and modern w/ TV and an unbelievable view of the duomo and tower right out our window! When we booked, I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary (we met in Florence 22 yrs ago), and when we got to our room, there was a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us – so sweet. There is complimentary breakfast in the morning (very good, w/ cereal, toast, cheese, salami, hardboiled eggs, fruit, cappuccino), and free cocktail reception each night, which we enjoyed. We had a wonderful stay; our only complaint was that it was too short; we look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Perseo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2009

The Perseo is located an easy 5 - 10 minute walk from the train station. It is located close to the Duomo. The hotel lobby is on the 3rd floor of the building. Laura and the other front desk staff we're friendly and helpfulf with restaurant recommendations, tips on seeing the sites of Florence, and with train schedules. Our room was clean, quiet and large for a 3 star hotel. The washroom was large, clean and had a good shower. We enjoyed our stay and will recommend the Perseo to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clintco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Very central, good value, quiet, very friendly staff

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidrSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

In October my husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary. We decided to spend our anniversary in Italy and happened to be in Florence for our special day. Personally, I like to stay in hotels that are off the beaten path, that provide a bit of the true flavor of the area. Hotel Perseo was just that! Upon arriving, Laura at the front desk was warm and inviting. She helped us make dinner reservations, provided great ideas for visiting local sites and even gave us restaurant ideas outside of the tourist area.

The hotel itself was great! It was centrally located and just around the corner from the Duomo. Everything was within walking distance -- and quiet! The staff overheard that we were celebrating our anniversary and quietly upgraded our room and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we finally were able to check in. The room was on the 5th floor, by itself, very private and incredibly clean.

In the morning, there was an nice breakfast buffett to get you started! I have stayed in Florence before and wish that I could say my first stay was as pleasant. You have to be careful where you stay, on my first trip I was near the train station and all I heard all night were people rolling their luggage down the cobblestones....like I said, the room at the Perseo was quite, and quite roomy. The bed was also very comfortable. The windows opened up and a nice fall breeze was flowing through the room. At night we had a beautiful view of the Duomo, all lighted up! I got some great camera shots from our room window.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cox008366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We travelled to Italy for our honeymoon and while the whole trip was a dream, Perseo was definitely one of the highlights. Laura and the rest of the staff were so kind and helpful. They even arranged museum visit times for us before we even arrived! The room was lovely, quiet and charming - perfect size and great use of space. The shower was a bit small, but fine. The hotel offers free internet access on a computer in the lobby, which was very helpful. The breakfast was nice, with a variety of choices. They also offer a happy hour drink and snacks in the afternoon - a welcomed treat after a day of sightseeing. Not to mention, the location is fantastic!
The value of this hotel makes it a smart choice for any traveler, but for those of you looking for a personal experience in a friendly environment - this is the hotel for you. We didn't feel like guests - we felt like welcomed friends. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyh1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We were placed here by our travel agent, Destination Europe, Kayla Ziegler, and were very unhappy. They were notified it was our honeymoon, and when we got there, jokingly I asked the front desk if we had the best room in the hotel, she giggled. Then when we told her it was our honeymoon, she stopped in her tracks and was shocked and did not want to give us the room she did, but that was all there was. The room didn't even have a room number on the outside, you had to guess and remember which door was ours. The view was of a trash-bin and the room was worse than any dorm room I have seen. Like a previous post, it was more like a hostel...as a matter of fact, the floor below is a hostel. After sending numerous emails to our agent in the states, not only did she not respond by calling as asked, but she emailed and asked us what she thought she can do and was very rude. The hotel finally was notified by her and we were upgraded the next day to a little more decent room' this was after she finally called me and the call ended up costing $115USD. The view was nice, the room was clean and larger, but still very hospice like, not a warm feeling at all. The next 2 mornings we were awaken by the maids barging into our room, not once, but 2 days in a row at 8:45am. Unreal and unacceptable. They also placed their work station each morning on the wall where the headboard is, needless to say, very loud and annoying, esp. since we were on our honeymoon. Internet never worked, wireless they say was down. Then both rooms we had did not have a wired connection either, the only rooms in the hotel SUPPOSEDLY, my luck I got both. Definitely not a 3 star hotel compared to the other 3 hotels we stayed in along our wonderful trip through Italy. Very disappointed and will be back to Florence so we can have a better taste of this wonderful city. Try and avoid using Destination Europe if you do decide to stay here. The staff was friendly, that was not the issue. The location was good, that was not the issue. The room, the beds, the maids, the agent...that was the issue...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sept969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlpers, Owner at Hotel Perseo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2009

Dear Sept696,
It is difficult to write a response to your review so i will limit myself to the facts from our point of view.
You checked into the hotel early afternoon , sat 12 september for a 3 night stay. My colleague Laura at this point realised we had made a mistake with your reservation, we had reserved a double room with private facilities, aircon, tvsat and mini bar but no view. As the hotel was fully booked the error couldn't be corrected straight away. Before 4pm (change of shift time) Laura had already spoken to your travel agent and it was agreed you would change rooms the next morning. To compensate our error you were offered a free tour for 2 which you accepted a long with a free bottle of wine. The next morning you were given 2 rooms to choose from, once selected you were very happy.
Our first cleaning maid starts at 09.00am, the others at 09.30 and 10.00. It's difficult to get them here on time, earlier immpossible. Before heading for the rooms they collect the housekeeping list, check which rooms are already vacant and then start for the day. You did call to reception one morning, the maids were immediately moved to a separate area of the hotel. As they call through to reception for updates on the rooms( we hold keys at the reception for this reason) and they do not enter rooms with out knocking first, barging in 2 times seems most unlikely to me.
The hotel provides free cabled and wifi internet access to its clients. In a perfect world we would never have problems, during the month of September we changed both provider and computer system, since then it's working perfectly.
We are located on the 3rd,4th and 5th floor, the 1st floor is managed by others.
It is difficult for any business to get it right 100% of the time, when you make a mistake it is important to acknowledge and correct it when possible. Should it have been possible it would have been done straight away. Everyone in this hotel made an effort to correct the bad start and to meet your every request. Your travel agent contacted you immediately (it must have been before 10.00am local time saturday morning ) and then spoke with us to find a solution. Highly professional behaviour. Some of the reoccuring compliments I receive from our clients are the warm decor, friendly environment and attention to service. Many of our clients have posted their photo's of our hotel on this site showing an unbiased representation of our hotel. Yes we are only a 3 star hotel and in my opinion we don't represent anything like dorm style accommodation. Have a great day everyone
Louise Monk
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

My husband and I were on our honeymoon while we visited Florence Italy. We found Hotel Perseo on trip advisor and want to echo the great experience that previous visitors have had. The hotel is in an excellent location. We were able to get from the main train station (Maria Santa Novella central train station) and walked to Hotel Perseo. We had two piece luggage set on wheels with a backpack and walked up the street to find the Hotel. The hotel is located in a central location and very close to the famous Dome. It's in the heart of Florence.

Not only is the location awesome, but so are the staff members. The staff members are really hospitable and made us feel right at home. There is free breakfast in the morning (a variety of items ranging from hardboiled eggs to cereals). The coffee and pasteries were great!! Our room was located in the back and it was very quiet. There is free internet access on their central computer. This was key for us because our we weren't able to get wi-fi anywhere.

The staff made sure that we were able to celebrate our wedding and have a romantic honeymoon. We had a great day of sightseeing and were out all day. At the end of the day, we went back to our hotel room and found a wonderful surprise, a bottle of champagne waiting for us. It was so nice of the staff and we really appreciated all of their friendliness and kindness.

We would absolutely go back to the hotel. We had no qualms or negative experiences. Everything was in walking distance of the hotel and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 09Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#34 of 411 in Florence
1,807 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#52 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#64 of 411 in Florence
1,152 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 411 in Florence
2,129 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £78 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing