We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Delle Camelie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delle Camelie
Ranked #187 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Did the job.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I chose the Delle Camelie online based on the price, location, and reviews. The hotel itself has two stars on its sign although I've seen it advertised as a 3-star. The room was pretty spartan and wasn't as clean as we would have liked. The walls gave evidence of the mosquito problem in Florence, with smashed bodies and spots of blood on them. Even with the window shuttered, we were swatting mosquitoes every night. The bed was ok. THe air conditioner blew air and we never felt any cooling, even after talking to the desk guy about how to run it properly. There was no closet, rather an armoire that was very old and didn't smell too bad. No in-room safe. Very tall ceiling, no carpeting, making an acoustically live room. Given that, it was pretty quiet. Breakfast, as others have noted, was pretty minimal. Locationwise, we drove a rented car from Germany and the built-in GPS didn't have Italian maps built-in. We used our iPhones to navigate (VERY expensive!). Parking is a challenge with tow-zones not clearly marked if you park at night. We parked at the nearby Forteza, about a 5-10 minute walk away. THere were numerous restaurants nearby which was very nice. Access to the Duomo and interesting parts of the city was a 15 minute walk away--not bad going, but a long way at the end of the day when feet are tired out. We would stay there again but would look for something a bit closer and nicer first. Oh, if driving, the streets around the hotel are a maze of one-way streets. Without a good map or directions it can be incredibly frustrating to even go around the block. Take good maps and/or a good GPS. A hotel clerk who speaks decent English (or your language) and gives good instructions would be a big plus, particularly when arriving in the late evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donch47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    62
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
62
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very clean hotel. Very nice location. 5 minute walk to the metro. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of town yet only a few minutes away from city centre and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful!!!!!!! I will definitely stay at the hotel again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHSCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

I was very pleased with this hotel! Mr Antonio the owner was very kind and helpful. I did not have a laptop with me but there was a computer available in the dinning room. The location was great; 10 minutes from train station; 10 minutes from Duomo.Very quite at night in a nice spot by a park. The room was basic but clean and comfortable and most important for mid July the A/C worked great ( and I was able to control it myself). Very good value for your money!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the train station, bars, restaurants, shopping and museums. It is about a 5 minute walk to get into the really touristy area of Florence. The hotel manager is a sweetheart and was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room was huge, bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was always spotless. Great amenities for the price we paid. Hotel does not have free wifi but a card can be purchased for 5 Euro and used in your room at your convenience. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone watching their dollars in Florence!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Just stayed here one night but this was a decent hotel. It was not too far from the train station and from main tourist sites, like il Duomo, the David, Ufitzi Museum, etc.
The place was very plain but really spacious. It was clean and the air conditioning worked well - which is key in July in Italy. Because of it's location and praticality, I rated it a 4 star - but that doesn't meant this is a high-end hotel with bells and whistles, just a good value for what it offers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploring_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We selected this B&B of just 10 rooms because of its reasonable prices. It has in-room bath and a tiny shower, and air conditioning but no elevator. Our room for 3 was a bit cramped. They gave us a double bed when we needed 3 twin beds. Unfortunately, the night desk clerk wasn't able to separate the beds for us until the next day. It's a bit further from the Florence sites than is ideal, but its still walkable and not too far from the train station. It's near a small neighborhood park, so you see the regulars and not just the tourists. What stands out most in my mind is the friendly hospitality of the charming proprietor, Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyChickOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

I stayed for three nights in this hotel, and had the room without bathroom for 45 euros (excellent value!). Since this was the only room without a bathroom, the outside restroom/shower was pretty much mine all the time (the room was just two steps away). The hotel is about 10 minutes from the main attractions in a very quiet area. My room was particularly quiet, facing the courtyard. Breakfast was simple but adequate, and the owner was nice and helpful. Wifi available with the purchase of a 5 euro prepaid card from the reception. The room was very nice and clean, so if you could get it for a low price (venere.com), I would strongly recommend it. At that price I don't think you can get anything better in Florence. This was the best value during my 2 week trip to Italy.

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Incognito777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#120 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#235 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fedora
Hotel Fedora
#209 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Anna's
Hotel Anna's
#244 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#164 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delle Camelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delle Camelie

Property: Delle Camelie
Address: Via di Barbano 10, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#98 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Delle Camelie 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delle Camelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delle Camelie Florence
Delle Camelie Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing