We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
Ranked #14 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Florence:  the hotel was conveniently located, and the room adequate for the price.  The arrival experience is a little unnerving as you enter a large door off the street into a dungeon space that leads to a dark staircase.   Once safely inside, the owner met us, and he is both odd and unfriendly.  It was our honeymoon and for four days we barely got a hello, much less a smile from him.  He wouldn't make dinner reservations for us anywhere, insisting we call ourselves.   Zero service.  Breakfast was also lackluster.  Ok for a place to sleep, but buyer beware.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globalgiant72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio B, Owner at B&B Tourist House Ghiberti, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs,
We are very sorry that our 5 rooms B&B didn’t meet your expectations.
Our location is inside of an old building (700 years old), and there are some other apartments upstairs. For sure we cannot improve the main entrance if the other owners don’t want, but for us the fact to have the double doors downstairs is common and safe for the old buildings like ours.
We used to work in 4-5 stars hotels in Florence and around the world before opening our own business, so, what you wrote surprised us a little bit, especially compared to other comments by other guests.
Actually as you did not sign your review, we have researched and found your reservation which was for 2 nights and not for 4.
We are here working 7 days on 7 from 6:30 am to 11:00 pm every day without days off, at complete availability for guest questions, with suggestions for tours, restaurants, reservation for museums, etc., and even during the night we are here inside for any emergency.
We always try to give to our guest a wonderful welcome and to let them feel like home. Of course we are human, not machines. Sometimes it could happen that some problems that you could have at your own home, create us some wonderings: did you notice during your stay some water problems? Probably not. As the plumber could not resolve the problem right away, for 3 consecutive days (before and during your stay) we were obliged to empty a bucket of water every 2 hours (even during the night).
This is what experience permits us do to, but, I repeat, it could happen that sometimes all this work influences our feel. We are really sorry if you hadn’t had a nice and comfortable stay.
Regarding restaurant reservations we really don’t understand what you mean, usually we never refuse to make reservations to the restaurants, but sometimes it is not useful. During week days (the nights of your stay) almost all the restaurants are empty only certain restaurants require a reservation.
Of course if our guests are sure to go and want a reservation we surely do it.
In your case I remember that during the breakfast time you asked me 2 museum reservations. I stayed on the phone almost 20 minutes to get the line and after I did , you asked me to cancel one .
So I stayed other 20 mn on the phone.
When you asked me for the restaurant reservation few minutes later, I just did not have time to call in that moment as I had other guests to serve breakfast and I was late with my job. I kindly told you that you would not have any problem to find a table available at Oliviero restaurant on a Wednesday night, and anyway if you wanted to have it immediately you could have use the telephone in the room and do it yourself as all the restaurant staff speak English.
Our breakfast, that served only 10 guests maximum is well furnished with products of 4 star hotels (just one example the jam is in glass jars and not plastic, or for the tea there is one selection of 40 different types), and from the comments of the other guests, who stayed in different place during their vacation, also 4 star hotel, we have had always positive reviews.
Kind Regards
Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    103
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
110
429
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is a wonderful B&B. Extremely well located, lovely room, excellent breakfasts, reasonably priced. But the most outstanding feature is the desk staff who went way beyond the call of duty in answering questions, making suggestions, and doing whatever was needed/wanted to make our three days in Florence outstanding.

We did not find it noisy at all. It was everything we hoped for and more. It makes us wonder why would anyone want to stay at a hotel when there are accomodations that offer high quality personal attention like this available?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have stayed at this property three times since 2004 and it just keeps getting better. The amenities are quite impressive, from in-room computers to the fulsome breakfast. The rooms are scrupulously clean and quite comfortable, and the desk staff exceedingly helpful with reservations and recommendations. The location is ideal, in an area behind the Duomo, so very central for accessing all the main sites. My only suggestion is to make a fan available for those of us who need the windows closed for noise control but find ourselves too early for the air conditioning.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the street, but the windows are very good at dampening the sound. Still if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simulcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great B&B in the heart of Florence . Room is big but a little noisy (this B&B has 5 room of which 2 face the street where buses are running. Windows have 2 double glazing which isolate completely the noise ) Otherwise this B&b is perfect. Rooms are very nice and respect the character of Florence. The owner is just perfect and looks up and takes care about every little thing. Though it is a B&B it is like a very high standard hotel. Place highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menashebarnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, TX
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was the best place to come home after our wanderings around Florence. It was quiet, spacious and lovely. The location was excellent. The free wi-fi was an added bonus. All their recommendations and advice were good. Their hospitality was wonderful.
Although we did not use it, they have a hot tub and a swimming pool. I imagine that in the Summer the pool would be a great plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verypicky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is our second time to stay at THG and prayerfully it won't be our last. Claudio,Lorenzo, Crystal,and Sara are the most wonderful hosts that you could ever hope to find. The rooms are spacious,comfortable, quiet and sparkling clean. The breakfast is fantastic: 3 types of cereal, 2 types of juice, milk, meats, cheese, rolls, croissants, danish, eggs to boil, american coffee, Italian coffee, cappucino and tea, fresh and cooked fruit and there is usually some type of homemade cake available..delicious. The hosts see to your every need and comfort, Give suggestions, directions, call cabs and are at your service 24/7. The location is great, just around the corner to the Duomo, 10-15 minute walk to Santa Maria Novella train station. If you ever get the opportunity to visit Florence then do your best to stay here. You will love it. A five star hotel could not offer any more than THG. Thanks, Joe & Ann

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Good location, local restaurant Zio Gigi was good, entertaining, and reasonable. The Tourist House is a good choice for a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tourist House Ghiberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tourist House Ghiberti

Property: B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
Address: Via Maurizio Bufalini 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Tourist House Ghiberti 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist House Ghiberti is situated in the heart of Florence, close to the Duomo. It is a family run hotel with modern comforts and technology. The rooms, retaining the proper Florentine style and hung with pictures by renowned Italian artists, have private bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning, computer with free internet access, TV lcd 32 inches, Satellite Decoder for tv and radio, DVD-CD player, movies at disposal, audio system speakers/headphone and optical fiberglass light on the bed sides, safety box, mini-bar, kettle with tea and coffee, telephone and fax. WI-FI connection everywhere and free. A rich buffet is served for breakfast in a room facing a flower decked terrace. For your enjoyment, our indoor jacuzzi and sauna are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Tourist House Ghiberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Ghiberti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing