We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
Ranked #13 of 651 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Central”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We enjoyed our three day stay at the Tourist House very much. The room and bathroom were surprisingly large, quiet and had wonderful AC, which was much appreciated on the 90+ days. Conveniences like a computer and mini fridge were unexpected and pleasant as well. The garden was lovely and our hosts were helpful and welcoming. The location was just steps from the Duomo. Certainly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    107
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
112
437
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Had a lovely three day stay in early June. Tourist House Ghiberti is a very comfortable and well managed B & B in a great location. We would definitely stay again when in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a very night 4 night stay. The room was lovely and large with a great bathroom. The location is great, very central to everything. The wifi was good, and there is a pc in the room which you can use to print. (very usefull when booking day tours on a long trip). Mini bar in room which is great and reasonably priced.

The owners are friendly in a reserved manner, but were always helpful. The shared hot tub is also a great plus and we made use of this as well.

You feel like you have a small apartment in Italy here. Also I noticed its right next door to an Italian language school. (Leonardo I think) so useful if this is part of your plan.

We could sometimes hear opera music or Italian instruction form some of the nearby apartments. I loved the experience.

One note the beds(2 singles together) were getting a bit saggy, so not the best for comfort, could be even better if these were replaced.
Ps. There is a lift for bags.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulypockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Enjoyed our stay the Tourist House. The room was nice and the breakfast was really good.

The best part was the hot tub. My wife and I used it every night !!

The location is very good, only minutes from the Duomo and everything else in Historic Florence, the longest walk we had was only about 20-25 minutes.

We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is the second time we stay at Ghiberti and we have found that the location, service and price are unbeatable. Claudio and Lorenzo are extremely helpful and very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Florence:  the hotel was conveniently located, and the room adequate for the price.  The arrival experience is a little unnerving as you enter a large door off the street into a dungeon space that leads to a dark staircase.   Once safely inside, the owner met us, and he is both odd and unfriendly.  It was our honeymoon and for four days we barely got a hello, much less a smile from him.  He wouldn't make dinner reservations for us anywhere, insisting we call ourselves.   Zero service.  Breakfast was also lackluster.  Ok for a place to sleep, but buyer beware.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globalgiant72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio B, Owner at B&B Tourist House Ghiberti, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs,
We are very sorry that our 5 rooms B&B didn’t meet your expectations.
Our location is inside of an old building (700 years old), and there are some other apartments upstairs. For sure we cannot improve the main entrance if the other owners don’t want, but for us the fact to have the double doors downstairs is common and safe for the old buildings like ours.
We used to work in 4-5 stars hotels in Florence and around the world before opening our own business, so, what you wrote surprised us a little bit, especially compared to other comments by other guests.
Actually as you did not sign your review, we have researched and found your reservation which was for 2 nights and not for 4.
We are here working 7 days on 7 from 6:30 am to 11:00 pm every day without days off, at complete availability for guest questions, with suggestions for tours, restaurants, reservation for museums, etc., and even during the night we are here inside for any emergency.
We always try to give to our guest a wonderful welcome and to let them feel like home. Of course we are human, not machines. Sometimes it could happen that some problems that you could have at your own home, create us some wonderings: did you notice during your stay some water problems? Probably not. As the plumber could not resolve the problem right away, for 3 consecutive days (before and during your stay) we were obliged to empty a bucket of water every 2 hours (even during the night).
This is what experience permits us do to, but, I repeat, it could happen that sometimes all this work influences our feel. We are really sorry if you hadn’t had a nice and comfortable stay.
Regarding restaurant reservations we really don’t understand what you mean, usually we never refuse to make reservations to the restaurants, but sometimes it is not useful. During week days (the nights of your stay) almost all the restaurants are empty only certain restaurants require a reservation.
Of course if our guests are sure to go and want a reservation we surely do it.
In your case I remember that during the breakfast time you asked me 2 museum reservations. I stayed on the phone almost 20 minutes to get the line and after I did , you asked me to cancel one .
So I stayed other 20 mn on the phone.
When you asked me for the restaurant reservation few minutes later, I just did not have time to call in that moment as I had other guests to serve breakfast and I was late with my job. I kindly told you that you would not have any problem to find a table available at Oliviero restaurant on a Wednesday night, and anyway if you wanted to have it immediately you could have use the telephone in the room and do it yourself as all the restaurant staff speak English.
Our breakfast, that served only 10 guests maximum is well furnished with products of 4 star hotels (just one example the jam is in glass jars and not plastic, or for the tea there is one selection of 40 different types), and from the comments of the other guests, who stayed in different place during their vacation, also 4 star hotel, we have had always positive reviews.
Kind Regards
Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is a wonderful B&B. Extremely well located, lovely room, excellent breakfasts, reasonably priced. But the most outstanding feature is the desk staff who went way beyond the call of duty in answering questions, making suggestions, and doing whatever was needed/wanted to make our three days in Florence outstanding.

We did not find it noisy at all. It was everything we hoped for and more. It makes us wonder why would anyone want to stay at a hotel when there are accomodations that offer high quality personal attention like this available?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,502 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 412 in Florence
1,305 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,199 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 412 in Florence
329 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#18 of 651 in Florence
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tourist House Ghiberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tourist House Ghiberti

Property: B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
Address: Via Maurizio Bufalini 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Tourist House Ghiberti 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist House Ghiberti is situated in the heart of Florence, close to the Duomo. It is a family run hotel with modern comforts and technology. The rooms, retaining the proper Florentine style and hung with pictures by renowned Italian artists, have private bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning, computer with free internet access, TV lcd 32 inches, Satellite Decoder for tv and radio, DVD-CD player, movies at disposal, audio system speakers/headphone and optical fiberglass light on the bed sides, safety box, mini-bar, kettle with tea and coffee, telephone and fax. WI-FI connection everywhere and free. A rich buffet is served for breakfast in a room facing a flower decked terrace. For your enjoyment, our indoor jacuzzi and sauna are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Tourist House Ghiberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Ghiberti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing