We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, close to everything but off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
Ranked #10 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Claudio, we love you!!!! This B&B is a terrific find in a great location but the main reason we would return is Claudio. We had challenges before and during our stay and he was there first by email and then in person every step of the way, at all hours, solving every issue. If you have questions about tickets or tours, ask him firsts as they are connected to all that goes on there and can get you tickets and make great suggestions that will save you time and energy.The rooms are comfortable and well-maintained with good space and lots of room and wonderful high ceilings. The bathroom was sufficient although it was our first experience with a shower that barely let you turn around it was so small. The history of the building was very cool, the breakfast was good, and the outdoor patio upstairs was quiet and lovely. It is across from the hospital and so quiet, but walk out the front door, make two right turns and you are in the Duomo square. It is a very short walk to anywhere. There is a small elevator to help get your luggage up the stairs so no worries about accessibility. All in all it was a terrific place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwsllc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife & I stayed for five nights and the excellent reviews we had read were proven to be correct. Claudio was a wonderful host and thought of every little thing for the traveler, including a clothesline in our room. The location was excellent and the restaurants that Claudio recommended were very good. The breakfasts were excellent as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrjer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at THG. It is located on the second floor of an apartment building conveniently located near the Duomo. As others have noted, it is located directly across a hospital. While our room was directly facing the hospital, we had no problem with noise. With the bedroom shutters and windows closed, it was very quiet. Closing the bathroom door effectively shut out the street noise from the less insulated bathroom window. Though we heard sirens while walking on the streets during the day, I don’t recall hearing a single siren during the three nights we were there. There was no issue with noise from other rooms or the common areas as well.

Our room was quite large, with high ceilings enhancing the spaciousness. It was very clean and appeared well maintained. The WiFi worked well and in our room there was a workstation on the desk for those not traveling with a tablet or laptop. A cardkey provides entry to the building, second floor, and your room. The building has an elevator/lift of the style you’d expect to see in an older building – it adds to the charm of THG. The stairwell/hall was somewhat dark, but that was not a big issue for us.

The breakfast selection was good and the serving table was kept well stocked as guests came and left. During the day and evening Claudio was usually in or near the reception area and ready to help if needed. THG was a good base for our visit to Firenze. It offers good value and we considered it the best choice we made for accommodations during our Italian vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

An excellent, quality and value-for-money guest house. Fantastic facilities including a jacuzzi (great for a post-Florence-walkabout soak), spacious rooms (and beds) and, most importantly, dedicated hosts. The central location makes all of Florence's sites and eateries (ask for recommendations!) easily accessible. This place is so good I've overused parenthesis.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This B and B in the heart of Florence is an excellent place to call home while visiting this exciting city. It has a central location, very comfortable, wonderful breakfast to start your day and the rooms are perfect. It is an oasis in a very busy city and gives you comfort as you set out again for a fantastic adventure of your day. I can not say enough about Tourist House Ghiberti. I was in Florence 9 years ago and stayed at this delightful B&B and I returned to find it as great as it was before. I will not wait another 9 years to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDOan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed at THG for 4 nights in early October with my daughter. I have been to Florence once before and stayed at a hotel far enough out of the city that we had to take a bus in each day. The locations of THG made up for any increase in price that we paid. We were 2 blocks from the Duomo and could walk anywhere -- the Accademia, the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Oltrarno, the Central Market, etc. We arrived very late on the first night and were directed to one of several pizzerias still open for a wonderful first night meal. Our room was quite spacious and the bathroom with bath tub was great. Our room faced Via Bufalini and was right across from a hospital, but we experienced no problem with noise thanks to the double windows and shutters, all of which could be opened up for fresh air. The breakfast was bountiful, delicious and fresh and gave us tons of energy for our daily touring. We loved eating in the small courtyard to start our days. Our hosts were pleasant, efficient, and never tired of answering our many questions. They helped us with our Italian, called taxis for us, and always gave us excellent directions. The beds were a little firm for our liking, but we used the extra blankets in the wardrobe to make them a little softer. I hope to be able to return to Florence again some day and if I do, I'll also hope to stay at THG. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

like others we wondered if it would live up to its rave reviews.well after spending 4 nights there it does.what a great location but nice and quiet.our room did not lack for anything and put some 4 star hotels we've stayed at to shame.our host and hostess could not do enough to make our stay comfortable.the breakfast selection was excellent i loved the diy boiled eggs and toast and brilliant marmalade! twinnings breakfast tea also.a special mention to our host's home baking.all in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobson692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 410 in Florence
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 657 in Florence
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tourist House Ghiberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tourist House Ghiberti

Address: Via Maurizio Bufalini 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £68 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Tourist House Ghiberti 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist House Ghiberti is situated in the heart of Florence, close to the Duomo. It is a family run hotel with modern comforts and technology. The rooms, retaining the proper Florentine style and hung with pictures by renowned Italian artists, have private bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning, computer with free internet access, TV lcd 32 inches, Satellite Decoder for tv and radio, DVD-CD player, movies at disposal, audio system speakers/headphone and optical fiberglass light on the bed sides, safety box, mini-bar, kettle with tea and coffee, telephone and fax. WI-FI connection everywhere and free. A rich buffet is served for breakfast in a room facing a flower decked terrace. For your enjoyment, our indoor jacuzzi and sauna are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Tourist House Ghiberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Ghiberti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing