We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay as a old household building”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #142 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay as a old household building”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Aurora early Oct 12. It attracted me because Aurora is much closed to the station.

I check-in around 7pm. The front desk staff settles all check-in process, then, he gives us a map to go to another building. Two ladies pick up 6 items (include 2 big luggages) and 2 back pack. How do we go to another building? Finally, the front desk staff helps us to pick up the luggages but he only put to the entrance. The really bad item is the building is very old. And it’s like a household, need password to open the door. The elevator is very old and waiting elevator areas need turn on the light by self. And our room stays in 4th Floor. It has the main door that need put the password again. The hotel areas feel as a household rather than hotel and it feel dirty, old and insecurity.

In addition, the room cannot access wifi. OMG! I book Aurora having 2 reasons 1) near station, 2) free wifi. No wifi, I cannot access internet 3 nights. Next day, we go to breakfast in main building. We request to change another room that stay in main building. But he said no room next 2 days in main building. And he said wifi signal will be weak on busy time. The main building is also same situation. But we use the wifi at 2-3 am. I guess anyone already go to sleep.

Therefore, if you have another choice, don’t select Aurora.

Room Tip: Before the booking, request hotel provide the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viving1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    155
    63
    20
    9
See reviews for
72
177
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I chose this hotel for its location close to the Firenze SMN and it did not disappoint. We were two couples travelling by train so after alighting from the Eurostar we headed out the right hand side door of the station and found the hotel situated directly across the street. We chose the deluxe rooms so we were housed in the main building which was serviced by a lift to the 3rd floor as another 4 start hotel located next door has rooms on floors 1 and 2. The rooms were modestly furnished, spacious with modern bathrooms. The breakfast was plentiful with a cooked option if wanted and you could sit in thenice courtyard garden to eat. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to store our luggage until we departed on the day we checked out. The hotel is within walking distance of all of the major Florence attractions as well as historic centre, the main shopping streets and the outdoor leather markets near the station. Behind the hotel is the major SITA bus station which we caught to the airport to pick up our hire car for our week in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Stay in the main renovated hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggiemaeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Hotel is AWESOME! It's just across Firenze SMN and walking distance to the tourist sites. There is a mini-supermarket opposite to the hotel. For shopaholic to the Mall (factory outlet), SITA bus terminal is 2 right turns. You can't miss it! Breakfast is lovely especially the ham & cheese omelette. I casually requested for a hot water flask which they willingly provided with a returnable deposit of 20 euro. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNGYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Simply awful. It was clean and safe enough but it is all downhill from there. The bed was a pull out couch. We literally saw the couch cushions under the bed. The bathroom was very tiny with NO counter space to put any items. The shower was barely large enough to raise your hands high enough to wash your hair.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We arrived at the hotel late night from catching a train from Naples. We were delighted to discover that the hotel was across the road from the hotel (not too close but close enough!). In prime location close to all amneties (such as supermarkets and the train atation), we were initally booked into one of the rooms separate from the main building around the corner. We must say this was quite an adventure, as you have to go up a lift and through several doors. Room was nice but entry to get there was like out of a harry potter movie. That was the first night.

In the morning we had a lovely breakfast in the main building (which appears to have been recently renovated - very posh and chic). The breakfast is great and the grassy terrace area was like an oasis. Being cheeky we spoke to the hotel manager at how we thought the rooms which were around the corner from the main building were a bit odd. To our surprise we were kindly given an 'upgrade' to a room in the main renovated building. The hotel manager was amazing and we could not thank him enough - very accomodating to our needs.

So we moved our belongings to the new room and wowee so posh. All brand new with quality finishes. The bathroom with modern trimmings and even the shower was a sort of fusion luxury style and overhead and side water jets (felt like a carwash - very luxury). On top of that the window faced the grassy courtyard (near the breakfast area). The main wow was the ceiling. The ceiling is is covered with a sort of perspex with a changing light behind it that changes colour! Amazing.

For all its flashyness, the hotel still delivers a quaint feel that is what visitors want when travelling to Italy, but also delivering great service. We were quite happy and would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you are assigned a room in the separate building around the corner, it might be worth your while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anth0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located very close to the station. The rooms are decent but nothing extraordinary, worth 3 star Hotel. Breakfast is provided but the food is horrible, they can really try to improve on this area.

Helpful?
Thank arch_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Very convenient location especially if you have a train to catch early in the morning. Room was very spacious but the layout was impractical, old and kinda creepy. Breakfast was OK with good selection of pastries and served in an open courtyard. Will try other hotels when back in Firenze.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaWenLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#104 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#202 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#138 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Aurora is situated in an ideal position in Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella railway station, close to Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso and only 5 minutes by walk from the Dome. Internet is free, and all rooms offer air conditioning and a private bathroom.The hotel is situated in a neoclassical building from the beginning of the 20th century, completely renew WITH LIFT, and is overlooking with wide windows the historical centre and the romantic hills of Florence. Some room, superior level, are available with views of garden.The hotel is elegantly furnished and offers all the modern comforts, rooms include a minibar and an LCD TV, and buffet breakfast is available from 07:00 until 10:00. The hotel has a pleasant garden, a small oasis of relaxation in the city center.Hotel Aurora features a paid private parking and a large garage in agreement with the hotel. An experienced and professional staff will provide guests a personalised service and all kinds of tourist and travel info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing