We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good price”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #151 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, good price”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel location is perfect as it is near the train station. Since Florence is small, it is also connected to the area around Duomo by way of Santa Maria Novella. The modern room at the ground floor, though had no view, was very clean and spacious. Pretty courtyard to take the simple breakfast. Would go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelladybug60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Customer,
thanks for your helpful advice and the time it has spent in writing this post, your comments are very important and we keep in account.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    156
    63
    21
    9
See reviews for
73
178
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We visited Florence in April 2013. We stayed at the Aurora Hotel due to its proximity to the train station. It is right across the street from the train and bus stations. The location to the various attractions was good- we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The provided us with suggestions on where to eat and called a cab for us at 4:30 in the morning so we could get to the airport. The breakfast was very good with eggs, different types of pastries,etc. We had a Quad room and it was very big. The bathroom was also big and had headed towel racks. One draw back was there was mold around the window in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clnscheffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The location was excellent - minutes to train station, 15 minutes to Academia and Uffizi Gallery. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was in another building around the block from the hotel and breakfast. Room was clean but very small and wifi was pretty much non-existent even though it was advertised as available in all rooms. Too much money for what it was...

Room Tip: Insist on a larger room or see the room before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franny2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your post and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Sorry for the problem with the wifi.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel at the beginning of March 2013 for 2 nights at the start of our Tuscany trip. We were very happy to find the hotel was 10 seconds from the Terravision airport bus stop opposite SMN train station, with a cheap, handy supermarket right opposite. The corridors are lovely with a boutique type feel to them, with nice mirrors, decor and flowers. We had a deluxe double room which was spacious and clean and had effective heating for the chilly evenings at the beginning of March. You could even see the Duomo dome (just!) from the window and we could see lovely sunsets at night. The hotel staff were always friendly when we had a query, for example about validating train tickets or asking for tape for my broken camera! The breakfast...wow it was amazing. Definitely one of the best we have had in Italy and we have stayed in quite a few Italian hotels. Lots of sweet and savoury options, good juice, coffee etc. My boyfriend looked forward to the next morning's breakfast as soon as he had finished it on the first morning!! Great location to all the sights, 2 mins from Santa Maria Novella and 5min walk to the Duomo (we do walk fast though). Florence is quite small and you can reach Michaelangelo within half an hour. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Florence for one night or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very very happy to see that we are going in right direction, we thank you for your cute words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we try to do our best, always.
We look forward to seeing you your friend and relative at hotel Aurora again
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the staff is amazing!! I had to make two reservations, when I booked the nonrefundable so I couldn't modify the reservation. The staff just instructed me to make another reservation. No problem! I got there they had everything already ready! No need to check out the next day and check in again or change rooms. The breakfast is amazing!!! And they have a small courtyard in the back that you could use. We didn't because it was a tad too chilly for it. Our room had an amazing view! The hotels location is just a 5 minute walk to the duomo! Not to mention right next to the train station!! So that was definitely a plus! The noise factor wasn't that bad to be honest. The only thing "bad" thing that we could think of is the small shower. Now for me it was fine, for my travel buddy not so much. But aside from that I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tichaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself has a beautiful presentation. Everything is so welcoming. The front desk staff spoke English. They have 3 spaces for the car park and its cheaper then parking in the garage. Stop at the front desk before parking and they give you an opener to get to the space which is shared by the bus station. The rooms were a great size and the biggest bonus is the number of outlets in our room. There were a lot for American standards. My only ding was our shower. It was clean enough but old and kindy of mildewy. It didnt really go with the rest of the hotel. Like everything has been remodled but the bathrooms. Bathrooms are my hang up anywhere so Im overly picky. Otherwise its a beautiful hotel inside and out. Theres a beautiful courtyard in the back. It is definitely convenient and surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFroehlich70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
We keep in consideration your advice about the bathroom.
I look forward to seeing you again
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel, room No. 105 with my partner on the 27th and 28th of December 2012.

On the second night something very strange happened that has really worried us. The smoke alarm on the ceiling was stuck to the roof at the beginning- as expected- but on the second night we noticed it was loose and hanging down from its wires. and more interestingly, while we were trying not to get suspicious and to ignore it, it was pulled back up again.

Our only impression is that someone was spying on us by passing a camera or something next to the smoke alarm wires into the room.

I tried to get an explanation from the guy at the reception but once I started talking he forgot even those few English words he knew and said that he could not understand.

Horrible experience. I have sent an email to the travel agency and am waiting for their response

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Farshid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Costumer
sorry for your feeling, sorry for the probably misunderstanding with our staff, the night porter probably was so surprise from your idea that he didn't arrive even to understand, in Italy the activity of espionage is a severe crime, we have one of the most strict privacy laws in the world.
I want to advice you that your impression is absolutely not true, unfairly prejudicial to the good name and image of our hotel, I can assure we do not have any video and or video recording system anywhere (both common area and of course in the rooms) on the ground floor and the third floor in via Alamanni 5, Florence where is located in the room in question, as you may come to see by yourselves.
We are pleased to ask you to come yourself or to send any person you like to inspect all the building we own in via Alamanni 5.

My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#122 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#106 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#201 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#136 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#74 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Aurora is situated in an ideal position in Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella railway station, close to Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso and only 5 minutes by walk from the Dome. Internet is free, and all rooms offer air conditioning and a private bathroom.The hotel is situated in a neoclassical building from the beginning of the 20th century, completely renew WITH LIFT, and is overlooking with wide windows the historical centre and the romantic hills of Florence. Some room, superior level, are available with views of garden.The hotel is elegantly furnished and offers all the modern comforts, rooms include a minibar and an LCD TV, and buffet breakfast is available from 07:00 until 10:00. The hotel has a pleasant garden, a small oasis of relaxation in the city center.Hotel Aurora features a paid private parking and a large garage in agreement with the hotel. An experienced and professional staff will provide guests a personalised service and all kinds of tourist and travel info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing