We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel Just Don't Stay in the Annex” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #145 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Just Don't Stay in the Annex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Because of an computer error on my part we had no reservation waiting for us when we arrived at the hotel. It was the last day of the World Cycling Race in Firenze. The hotel offered us their last room at 250 Euros! We took it knowing very little else would be free. The room itself was lovely and spacious with large shuttered windows looking onto a Tuscan hillside. Our friend who booked the annex was not so lucky. While she paid considerably less what she got was an unlit stairwell at night and an elevator that repeatedly got stuck on a floor because users neglected to close both cage doors hampering its ability to move freely between the floors. I encountered one irate man at reception who on recounting to the desk clerk his having nearly broken his neck on the unlit stairwell was told the annex does not belong to the hotel and the unlit stairwell was something they have no control over. The clerk could only say he would tell the manager in the morning - no help whatsoever to people in the annex that evening. Our taxi picked up my friend in the morning. It took her a very long time to get down the stairs with her suitcase because the elevator was not working again.... She said she would never stay at this hotel again. I would stay here again. There is a charming courtyard with real grass underfoot and the breakfast was good as was the service at reception. However I would not recommend staying in the annex.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Thanks a lot for clear explanation about the annex, we try to be more clear as possible but sometime the information, on the website, by e-mail get lost, probably we are all too in a hurry and we don’t keep attention to the information that instead you keep.
I am very sorry for the bad experience of your friend.

We look forward to seeing you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    153
    62
    20
    9
See reviews for
70
175
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

the hotel is located bang outside SMN station and within walking distance from all attractions... there is supermarket exactly opposite the hotel which makes it really convinient.

the rooms are decently spaced in a deluxe double room but the bathrooms are really small ...the fridge in the room were not working and we found small insects in the room - hence the cleanliness could be better...

breakfast could be better definitely for the price they charge....

there are 3-4 steps to get into the hotel and the hotel should think of putting in a roller so that we can roll the luggage upwards instead of lifting it...

excellent staff - good hospitality from all of them...

Room Tip: choose the renovated deluxe double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVARAVIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Thanks a lot for your suggestion, we will think about.
Sorry for the inconvenient, next please notify this kind of problem as soon as possible, this is an old building, it was built on 1870 and think the main drain under the building was built from the roman on the 50 b.c., so this kind of problem can happen but we always check and control.
We value your comments.
We hope to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambassi Terme, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Aurora Hotel is really just a few steps away from Santa Maria Novella. We stayed in a room in the annex with a wonderful rooftop terrace that looks out over the entire city! The room was simple but very clean. The staff was really friendly and helpful, I will definitely book my next overnight stay in Florence at Aurora Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the Annex which meant going around the corner and up an elevator, but it was quiet, clean, and roomy as well as a great value! The staff were excellent and the breakfast was generous and delicious. The hotel is right across from the train station where you can also get many buses, and an easy walk to important sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Thank again for the clear explanation about our annex.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth Herts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had booked a De Luxe Room. The first one we were given, where we spent just one uncomfortable night, was in the main building. The room was so small that there was room only to walk sideways between the end of the bed and the window - which overlooked a wall with windows in it through which the lights in the corridor opposite shone throughout the night - the curtains in our room were of a "see through" fabric! There was only one hardback chair in the room. The bathroom was tiny and the shower hose could not be adjusted and sprayed water on the wall rather than on the person showering.

We complained, and the manager promised to put us in a better room for the next two nights. He was as good as his word and when we returned to the Hotel later that day our baggage had been moved to a newly renovated room on the ground floor. This was much bigger, overlooked the gardens and the outdoor breakfast area. The ceiling was opaque and the lights changed colour constantly but thankfully that feature could be turned off as it was making me dizzy! The bathroom was very modern and the accommodation generally was very clean.
Breakfast was served in a small-ish room on the ground floor. It was a help yourself breakfast from whatever was laid out in the small kitchen area beside the dining room. In good weather it was possible to eat outside but the seats were all taken whenever we were there.

The staff were very helpful indeed, loaning us umbrellas when there was a storm just as we were leaving to go to dinner and being generally pleasant.

There is no Restaurant for evening meals at this Hotel, but there is a very nice Restaurant a few yards down the road. We ate there on all three evenings (being unable to walk very far) and would recommend it - Trattoria dall 'Oste

The Hotel website states that there is "on site" parking. We didn't find this and I am not sure how to find out whether there actually IS any such parking. However, the Hotel is next door to a Public Car Park where you have to leave your keys so that they can park your car and, presumably, move it around when necessary. If you are staying at the Aurora you get this parking at the discounted rate of about €30 per night so for our 3 night stay the parking costs amounted to around £75.

The Hotel is convenient for trains and is not far from the point where the Hop-on/Hop off Buses start from so it is very easy to get around. The Duomo is not far away, nor are most of the other important sites. There are loads of Street Markets.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it. The better rooms seem to be on the Ground Floor along a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Sorry for the inconvenient, we are going to renovate all the rooms of the hotel, at the moment the ground floor is completely renewed and the third floor now is renovate for a quarter.

We hope to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Right next to the train station and in heart of the city. All tourist attractions are few minutes away. No need for cab or bus. Bus station right behind the hotel, from where u take a bus to outlet mall.

The room was a little small and a tad noisy due to road traffic.. but not too bad. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok, not so great. Thank god they had a lift... of the 4 hotels we staid in Italy, this was the only one with a lift.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KolkataNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We value your comments.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here this past January and absolutely loved it! The staff was always friendly and willing to help. The location is right across from the train station, which was amazing because we had a lot of luggage! It was not even a 5 minute walk to the most popular sights like the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, etc. The room was lovely and had the basic necessities, though we didn't spend much time in the room it had a lovely view of the Duomo in the distance. Breakfast was really enjoyable and they even had a patio in the back to enjoy some outdoor space. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your so nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#115 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#202 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#188 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#139 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#76 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Aurora is situated in an ideal position in Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella railway station, close to Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso and only 5 minutes by walk from the Dome. Internet is free, and all rooms offer air conditioning and a private bathroom.The hotel is situated in a neoclassical building from the beginning of the 20th century, completely renew WITH LIFT, and is overlooking with wide windows the historical centre and the romantic hills of Florence. Some room, superior level, are available with views of garden.The hotel is elegantly furnished and offers all the modern comforts, rooms include a minibar and an LCD TV, and buffet breakfast is available from 07:00 until 10:00. The hotel has a pleasant garden, a small oasis of relaxation in the city center.Hotel Aurora features a paid private parking and a large garage in agreement with the hotel. An experienced and professional staff will provide guests a personalised service and all kinds of tourist and travel info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing