We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....average rooms.”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #169 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Booked this hotel because of its proximity to the train station. Location is perfect, just across the station, up a flight of stairs. Hotel staff are all very nice and helpful. Breakfast is adequate with cereals, brioche, cakes, ham, cheese, juices, fruits...and omelettes which unfortunately are not kept in warm trays, so they are served ice cold. Our room, which was spacious and could fit all 6 of us comfortably was clean but is in dire need of refurbishment. Furniture is very old fashioned but bathroom was ok. We've noticed that we were staying in an old section and on the right hand side of the reception, there is what i think is the new section which is modernly made up and seems much more high standard than the section we were in. In any case all in all we would stay there again...preferably in the modern section.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel was perfect for us the location was right across the train station, and central to most major sites in Florence.
We were lucky enough to have our room upgraded for an additional 10euros a night from a double room in the Annex to a double room in the main hotel, which from what I read in other reviews was well worth it.
The rooms are spacious with great lighting (the roof had a function that changed colours).
The staff were friendly and willing to provide advice on what to see and do.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the rooms in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
We take in account your advice about echo in the halls, we see what is possible to do.
Sorry for the inconvenience with neighbors, but please advise the hotel staff soon, is our duty to stop not polite guest.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and can highly recommend this hotel. We had a twin room that looked out onto a pleasant garden area with a gazebo with tables where one could eat breakfast. It is directly opposite SMN train station but you'd never know it - it was so peaceful, no traffic noise. The room was spacious and well laid out and the bathroom was gorgeous. There was mood lighting and the air conditioning unit was practically silent. The best thing about the Aurora though was the staff, charming, efficient and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank a loti you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Because of an computer error on my part we had no reservation waiting for us when we arrived at the hotel. It was the last day of the World Cycling Race in Firenze. The hotel offered us their last room at 250 Euros! We took it knowing very little else would be free. The room itself was lovely and spacious with large shuttered windows looking onto a Tuscan hillside. Our friend who booked the annex was not so lucky. While she paid considerably less what she got was an unlit stairwell at night and an elevator that repeatedly got stuck on a floor because users neglected to close both cage doors hampering its ability to move freely between the floors. I encountered one irate man at reception who on recounting to the desk clerk his having nearly broken his neck on the unlit stairwell was told the annex does not belong to the hotel and the unlit stairwell was something they have no control over. The clerk could only say he would tell the manager in the morning - no help whatsoever to people in the annex that evening. Our taxi picked up my friend in the morning. It took her a very long time to get down the stairs with her suitcase because the elevator was not working again.... She said she would never stay at this hotel again. I would stay here again. There is a charming courtyard with real grass underfoot and the breakfast was good as was the service at reception. However I would not recommend staying in the annex.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Thanks a lot for clear explanation about the annex, we try to be more clear as possible but sometime the information, on the website, by e-mail get lost, probably we are all too in a hurry and we don’t keep attention to the information that instead you keep.
I am very sorry for the bad experience of your friend.

We look forward to seeing you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

the hotel is located bang outside SMN station and within walking distance from all attractions... there is supermarket exactly opposite the hotel which makes it really convinient.

the rooms are decently spaced in a deluxe double room but the bathrooms are really small ...the fridge in the room were not working and we found small insects in the room - hence the cleanliness could be better...

breakfast could be better definitely for the price they charge....

there are 3-4 steps to get into the hotel and the hotel should think of putting in a roller so that we can roll the luggage upwards instead of lifting it...

excellent staff - good hospitality from all of them...

Room Tip: choose the renovated deluxe double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KVARAVIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Thanks a lot for your suggestion, we will think about.
Sorry for the inconvenient, next please notify this kind of problem as soon as possible, this is an old building, it was built on 1870 and think the main drain under the building was built from the roman on the 50 b.c., so this kind of problem can happen but we always check and control.
We value your comments.
We hope to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Aurora Hotel is really just a few steps away from Santa Maria Novella. We stayed in a room in the annex with a wonderful rooftop terrace that looks out over the entire city! The room was simple but very clean. The staff was really friendly and helpful, I will definitely book my next overnight stay in Florence at Aurora Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the Annex which meant going around the corner and up an elevator, but it was quiet, clean, and roomy as well as a great value! The staff were excellent and the breakfast was generous and delicious. The hotel is right across from the train station where you can also get many buses, and an easy walk to important sights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Thank again for the clear explanation about our annex.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Ambasciatori
c-hotels Ambasciatori
#275 of 410 in Florence
134 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#119 of 410 in Florence
266 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#182 of 410 in Florence
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#121 of 410 in Florence
135 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 410 in Florence
1,244 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £51 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Aurora is situated in an ideal position in Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella railway station, close to Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso and only 5 minutes by walk from the Dome. Internet is free, and all rooms offer air conditioning and a private bathroom.The hotel is situated in a neoclassical building from the beginning of the 20th century, completely renew WITH LIFT, and is overlooking with wide windows the historical centre and the romantic hills of Florence. Some room, superior level, are available with views of garden.The hotel is elegantly furnished and offers all the modern comforts, rooms include a minibar and an LCD TV, and buffet breakfast is available from 07:00 until 10:00. The hotel has a pleasant garden, a small oasis of relaxation in the city center.Hotel Aurora features a paid private parking and a large garage in agreement with the hotel. An experienced and professional staff will provide guests a personalised service and all kinds of tourist and travel info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing