We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel worth a stay”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #170 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We choose this hotel as It was opposite the Florence train station convenient for our journey from Pisa and onward to Venice. could not find the hotel at first even walk passed it, it's sign was hidden by other hotel signs. The staff were very good we were given the Leonardo room on the ground floor told it was a quite room the bedroom was large leading to a galley kitchen then wardrobes and dressing table then bathroom with multi jet shower and changing lights even the bedroom ceiling changing color lights, everything was clean, only disadvantage was the windows looked onto a shaft used as storage of the 4 storey building, there was no natural light or view so had to have the lights on in daylight. We called it a futurist dungeon.

There are other theme rooms that look over the garden that you could sit in the evening as we did with a drink watching the swifts darting into the holes in the wall feeding their young. Breakfast could also be taken in the garden this offered a very good choice and plenty of it even pancakes.

Convenient place to stay, 10 mins walk to the Duoma 15 to the Uffizi. If in Florence again we will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible choose another themed room then the Leoardo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 901ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is very close to the station and a short stroll to the Duomo. There are many restaurants very close by. The hotel although in the bustle of a busy part of Florence is quiet once inside. There is a most charming and tranquil garden courtyard for breakfast, (which is included in the tariff) and there is free wifi. However, it is the people at the hotel who have made this a truly memorable visit, their kindness, charm and grace have had a great effect on our stay in Florence. I highly recommend this hotel to any visitor to Florence.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Patsy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spent for your review.
We are happy to know that we are going in the right direction.
We look forward to seeing you, your friends and relatives at Hotel Aurora again.

Best regards,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We missed the last train to Lucca and had to book a hotel last minute in Florence at 11:00 pm. The Wifi in the McDonalds at Santa Maria Novella train station worked very well and we found Aurora Hotel. It is right across the street from the train station, around the corner from the cathedral Santa Maria Novella and five minutes from the Duomo. I was pleasantly surprised with the modern decor and uncharacteristicly large bathroom. The breakfast was great and they have a place to leave bags after check out so you can explore the city.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spent for your review.
We are happy to know that we are going in the right direction.
We look forward to seeing you, your friends and relatives at Hotel Aurora again.

Best regards,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our second time staying and I have to do an updated post. We still liked the hotel, the staff was fabulous, breakfast wonderful and the number of outlets in the room is fantastic! But what I really needed to update was the gluten free breakfast option. My niece is very allergic and the hotel has an arrangement with a fantastic place right around the corner. My niece absolutely LOVED the food. It was the best she'd eaten in months! She felt like heaven. I can't thank the hotel enough for this wonderful option!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFroehlich70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spent for your review.
We are happy to know that we are going in the right direction.
We look forward to seeing you, your friends and relatives at Hotel Aurora again.

Best regards,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is just opposite Firenze Santa Maria Train station. it's old school looking but rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the garden experience. Hotel staffs are friendly. The shuttle bus to the Mall outlet is nearby with 10 euro return trip.

For muslim travellers, there is halal restaurant nearby. less than 10 mins walk. can't remember the name but is always crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EzanSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this.
We look forward to seeing you your friend and relative at hotel Aurora again, so you can have the possibility to test the other kind of room we have.

My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I ve booked 2 DELUXE rooms for 2 nights for 5 persons & have already prepaid, emailed & confirmed with the hotel manager 'G' for the surcharge of €30 each night for the extra bed. Unfortunately, when I arrived the rooms, the rooms were different from the pictures at hotel.com. I checked with the front desk staff, he said that the rooms were the economy one. I explained to him about my situation. He was v helpful & called his manager. However, the manager refused to change the rooms or refund for us in bad manner.The reason was no more deluxe rooms available. After some argument & said that we will complain about their dishonest to customers. Then he changed his manner & agreed to refund. Just want to remind for those who want to stay in deluxe room of this hotel, please make sure you are provided a right room, otherwise, you will not be told by anyone even you ve already paid & confirmed by the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the misunderstanding; we want to underline the fact that we are not dishonest.
What happened was, we were a bit confused by the many requests you had; we do not have a deluxe room next to a triple room, nor a deluxe room at the third floor. The room we had given you, anyway, was a renovated room. If you remember, we had proposed you to stay in a deluxe room at the ground floor.

Best regards,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel because it was located close to the Santa Maria Novella train station and we were going to be using the train to arrive from Milan as well as to go to Siena and back to Milan. This was so convenient for this kind of travel. The hotel is very quaint but our triple room was large and had a very nice modern bathroom with tub/shower. The room faced the street but there was no street noise or noise from the trains which I thought there might be. The AC was very good and useful as the temp was 86 when we were there in May. The breakfast was nice with a selection of pastries, cereals, breads, juices, fruits, etc. The price was moderate for Florence and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spent for your review.
We are happy to know that we are going in the right direction.
We look forward to seeing you, your friends and relatives at Hotel Aurora again.

Best regards,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#120 of 409 in Florence
258 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Ambasciatori
c-hotels Ambasciatori
#310 of 409 in Florence
102 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#188 of 409 in Florence
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#123 of 409 in Florence
130 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#74 of 409 in Florence
1,500 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#84 of 409 in Florence
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £55 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Aurora is situated in an ideal position in Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella railway station, close to Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso and only 5 minutes by walk from the Dome. Internet is free, and all rooms offer air conditioning and a private bathroom.The hotel is situated in a neoclassical building from the beginning of the 20th century, completely renew WITH LIFT, and is overlooking with wide windows the historical centre and the romantic hills of Florence. Some room, superior level, are available with views of garden.The hotel is elegantly furnished and offers all the modern comforts, rooms include a minibar and an LCD TV, and buffet breakfast is available from 07:00 until 10:00. The hotel has a pleasant garden, a small oasis of relaxation in the city center.Hotel Aurora features a paid private parking and a large garage in agreement with the hotel. An experienced and professional staff will provide guests a personalised service and all kinds of tourist and travel info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing