We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect, exactly what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #17 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Antica Torre is a wonderful small hotel. Its right in the heart of Florence, close to everything, but still quiet at night. You can walk to the best shopping, restaurants and all the sights. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are large and spacious. The highlight of this hotel is the roof top terrace with its panoramic views of the city. They serve breakfast and dinner on the terrace, and its an honor bar later in the evening. My only small complaint would be that they need to replace the worn carpet in the hallways, as everything else was so well kept.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

We found the hotel staff to be friendly and very helpful. Their recommendations on restaurants were spot on. We found the room to be very nice, with a great view of the Arno and a spacious bathroom. The rooftop deck affords beautiful views of Florence in all directions and the breakfasts that are served there were well prepared. The location was excellent in that it was quiet, yet within easy walking distance of most of the City's artistic treasures. The hotel did not have a full service restaurant, but with so many great restaurants in Florence that is not really a drawback. We will definitely return to this hotel, which is housed in a historic residence, when we next visit Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPuglisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed there in April 2010 during my birthday trip and it was a very decent choice. Excellent location, spacious, clean and quiet rooms, nice views both from the room and from the rooftop terraces.

What is more rare in Italy and therefore more appreciated - professional staff ready to fulfill their duties not only with warm attitude to the client but also with accuracy and sence of responsibility. They assisted us with all our special confirmations we needed for visas - everything was done in time and in due form. We ordered flowers for my birthday and they were chosen with big taste. They were quick and friendly both during the check-in and cheqk-out. As for the maids - just as it should be - you never see or hear them but everything is spotlessly cleaned and tidied every day.

What is even more rare in Itay - bathrooms are equipped with duly working and noiseless sanitaries kept in perfect condition!

The hotel is very guest friendly - you are invited to visit the rooftop terrace every hour of the late evening and use the bar even though there is no barman there. All you need is just to write what you took in the bill. You also have your own key to open the massive antique door from the street (reception stuff is not there 24 hours) which makes you feel as if you were home.

We enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is not your classical luxury hotel. One of my clients actually had a room at this hotel which I casually found, but we had breakfast in the morning and drinks in the afternoon. As this is an historical residence and not a hotel in the classical sense, the facilities and bars are accessible for guests only. The terrace floor has a 360 degree breathtaking view even for those who lived in Florence for many years, as you seldom have a chance to see it from this angle. Located direcly to the Arno river you can see the whole city up to Michelangelo square. The rooms are OK - most junior suites - and the price is real value for money, compared to other luxury hotels. Surely highly recommendable for those visiting Florence either for vacation, romance and even business.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi_Fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here in August of 2010 and fell completely in love with this hotel. To be honest, I am really surprised that it is not higher on the trip advisor's top b&b's for Florence. My sister and I shared a room on the 3rd floor that looked out over Florence and was absolutely stunning in every way. The room was very classic Italian, very clean and impeccably decorated. I have traveled to Italy about 20 times and all over the world and this hotel is definitely the top of the pack.

The breakfast was delicious and the women who cook it delightful. The view from the terrace where breakfast is served is extraordinary as well. The location of the hotel is about a 5min or less walk to the duomo and is in the heart of Florence.

Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We booked through an Italian tour guide who I think got us a better room. Make sure to get a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni for 5 nights. We had what I think was called a family suite. It was fantastic-- just enormous. I honestly couldn't believe how spacious it was. We had a huge living room with dining area, a kitchen, a lovely bathroom, and a large bedroom. The hotel is situated in a very old, beautiful building in central Florence. Our view was specatacular. Our room had big windows and we overlooked the Arno river. The hotel has a lovely rooftop terrace where you could enjoy evening drinks and where they served breakfast each morning. Amazing views from the rooftop terrace! The reception personnel were always very nice and more than helpful. The hotel reception staff made reservations for us at the Uffizi and the Academia (this was very helpful). The room was extremely clean and overall, the hotel was just a really neat place to stay. Lots of beautiful stores on the same street, and the hotel is right at a corner with a bridge that you can take to the Oltrarno--the other side of the river, basically. We loved this area across the river! Very colorful. Some great restaurants. It was very lively. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeBeeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, first time in Florence. The hotel is situated at the end of the "designer" shopping street in Florence and we had a great view of the river from our room. The hotel is just the top floors of a medieval building, but there is a reception area on the ground floor. The reception closes at 10pm and the guests have a security key to let themselves into the building after this time - we didn't have a problem with this. The garden terrace, where breakfast is served has an amazing view over Florence. The front of the hotel was covered with scaffolding and there was some noise one morning, but we weren't particularly bothered by it. The rooms were large and comfortable and beautifully decorated.
The breakfast was good and plentiful, with cooked food, fruits and pastries.
I would advise not using the evening meal option that we did on the first night as we were tired. It was expensive at 35 euro each, and did not live up to the description on the menu. A starter of "proscuitto with pineapple" consisted of a plate of ham and a plate of sliced pineapple. The main course was lasagna which had almost all gone, only enough for a small taste each, which we didn't consider good enough. We complained but were told they "had been busy". The food is probably brought in from ouside and just kept in a warmer.
Apart from that, we would recommend the hotel, it is perfectly situated for all the sights and walking distance from the train & bus station.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niddy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Responsabile reception at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are grateful for your compliments regarding your room, our breakfast service, the rooftop terrace and the situation of the Antica Torre di via de Tornabuoni.

Our panoramic rooftop dinner service offers a seasonal menu of traditional Tuscan specialities: light salads, antipasti, favourite pasta dishes, fresh fruit and dessert. We offer as much selection as possible while maintaining a reasonable cost for our guests who require this service.

The service is a buffet and there is no distinction between starter and main course. We go to great lengths to ensure that sufficient quantity is available for guests who have made reservations in advance. Our staff have specific instructions to replenish the buffet regularly and to offer alternatives on the rare occasion that our client’s first choice is no longer available.

Whenever misunderstandings occur with our guests our priority is to clarify the issue directly. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Antica Torre di via de Tornabuoni. On that occasion, we request an opportunity to change your opinion regarding our incomparable rooftop dinner service.

Daniel Fortmann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
545 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#6 of 410 in Florence
618 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 410 in Florence
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £178 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing