We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dignified hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #12 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dignified hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Antica Torre turned out to be an excellent choice for our recent stay in Florence. Since Florence is fairly small, relatively speaking, it was easy to walk to most locations from the hotel's location on the river, only one bridge removed from the Ponte Vecchio. It certainly gave easy access to restaurants and activities on both sides of the river (though most tourist locations are located on one side). Our room was spacious, with a great view. It had a full kitchen, not really needed for our purposes, but it did provide extra (and usefull!) space, and a table to work on with the computer, maps, and so on. Property was very clean throughout. The breakfast, served on the rooftop terrace complete with an amazing view, was a treat each morning, with extensive selections (though the August heat forced us to eat inside most days - view was still great!). Service at breakfast was excellent, and friendly. Front desk personnel were also outstanding. Another great feature, though very under utilized, was the use of the rooftop area for "happy hours" (but certainly not at happy hour prices!) each evening, with a very skillful and friendly bartender. Perhaps some public advertisement would help, but advertising did not seem to be a hallmark in Florence in terms of any concerts, nightlife, etc. Needless to say, this is a pricey property, but I would think anyone staying here knows what they are getting into. Would not hesitate to stay here again should we ever again find ourselves on the way to Florence!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    138
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
200
627
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was our 3rd stay here and this was the first time we found out about the beautiful terrace that overlooks the bridges. Just beautiful. Overlooking the Duomo at breakfast is divine. Drank many cocktails over the long weekend on both terraces. The location is fantastic, you are in walking distance from the hot spots. The room we stayed in (the library) was spacious, comfortable and had airconditioning! The bathroom was perfect- my only complaint was that the shampoo is almost impossible to get out of the bottle

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my children for a weekend holiday, and was amazed - the hotel is even more spectacular than the photos. It is an old monastery with very large rooms and luxurious, spotless, bright marble bathrooms. We had a large terrace overlooking the river and the Ponte Vecchio. The staff was incredible helpful and child-friendly, which made the stay even more pleasant. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked and fresh, and was such a pleasure on the rooftop terrace, where we also spent the late evenings, overlooking the city under the stars. The hotel was within easy walking distance of all of the museums, shopping, and major sites.
Florence was one of our favourite stops (although, surprisingly, leather shopping was LEAGUES better in Venice!), and it was all because of our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumsytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Antica Torre is a wonderful small hotel. Its right in the heart of Florence, close to everything, but still quiet at night. You can walk to the best shopping, restaurants and all the sights. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are large and spacious. The highlight of this hotel is the roof top terrace with its panoramic views of the city. They serve breakfast and dinner on the terrace, and its an honor bar later in the evening. My only small complaint would be that they need to replace the worn carpet in the hallways, as everything else was so well kept.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We found the hotel staff to be friendly and very helpful. Their recommendations on restaurants were spot on. We found the room to be very nice, with a great view of the Arno and a spacious bathroom. The rooftop deck affords beautiful views of Florence in all directions and the breakfasts that are served there were well prepared. The location was excellent in that it was quiet, yet within easy walking distance of most of the City's artistic treasures. The hotel did not have a full service restaurant, but with so many great restaurants in Florence that is not really a drawback. We will definitely return to this hotel, which is housed in a historic residence, when we next visit Florence.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPuglisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed there in April 2010 during my birthday trip and it was a very decent choice. Excellent location, spacious, clean and quiet rooms, nice views both from the room and from the rooftop terraces.

What is more rare in Italy and therefore more appreciated - professional staff ready to fulfill their duties not only with warm attitude to the client but also with accuracy and sence of responsibility. They assisted us with all our special confirmations we needed for visas - everything was done in time and in due form. We ordered flowers for my birthday and they were chosen with big taste. They were quick and friendly both during the check-in and cheqk-out. As for the maids - just as it should be - you never see or hear them but everything is spotlessly cleaned and tidied every day.

What is even more rare in Itay - bathrooms are equipped with duly working and noiseless sanitaries kept in perfect condition!

The hotel is very guest friendly - you are invited to visit the rooftop terrace every hour of the late evening and use the bar even though there is no barman there. All you need is just to write what you took in the bill. You also have your own key to open the massive antique door from the street (reception stuff is not there 24 hours) which makes you feel as if you were home.

We enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
256 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is not your classical luxury hotel. One of my clients actually had a room at this hotel which I casually found, but we had breakfast in the morning and drinks in the afternoon. As this is an historical residence and not a hotel in the classical sense, the facilities and bars are accessible for guests only. The terrace floor has a 360 degree breathtaking view even for those who lived in Florence for many years, as you seldom have a chance to see it from this angle. Located direcly to the Arno river you can see the whole city up to Michelangelo square. The rooms are OK - most junior suites - and the price is real value for money, compared to other luxury hotels. Surely highly recommendable for those visiting Florence either for vacation, romance and even business.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigi_Fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing