We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in best possible location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #11 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chapel Hill NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in best possible location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at the Antica Torre de Via Tornabuoni in June 2012 and had a wonderful experience. I chose it based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and agree completely with the rave reviews it's received. I booked two "classic" rooms because higher-grade rooms weren't available at the time I booked, but was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to full suites when we arrived, at no extra charge. My sister and I stayed in room 303, which had a large bedroom and bath with full shower and bidet, a large sitting room, and a full kitchen with a stocked minibar. The only downside was that it didn't have a view, but our sister and mother next door in room 302 had a gorgeous view of the Arno river that we 'borrowed.'

The hotel has a beautiful rooftop terrace with 24-hour complimentary tea and coffee and honor bar, and a delicious full complimentary breakfast with all kinds of fruit, pastries, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausages, caprese, bruschetta--something for everyone. I could have spent hours on that terrace and been perfectly happy.

The staff was fabulous, everyone spoke multiple languages and was extremely helpful and friendly--especially Dan at the front desk and Latifa at the terrace bar--and they provided excellent restaurant recommendations. (don't miss Parione or Osteria Cinghuale Bianco).

You absolutely can't beat the location of this hotel--it is situated directly on the Arno, one bridge down from the Ponte Vecchio. It's a short walk to everywhere--the train station, the Duomo, the Pitti Palace, the San Lorenzo shopping area, and excellent restaurants. Everything really is very walkable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
First, I'm very happy to read you choose the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 motivated from the experience of many other travellers that shared it in Tripadvisor, second your words are like music for my ears!
I hope to have the possibility to thank you personally if you are coming again in Florence, and me and the entire staff will be happy to offer you our warmest welcome.
Grazie tante.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    137
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
199
624
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My three daughters and I were in Florence for four nights, three full days in mid-June. The Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni made a perfect place to be and to venture out from! Everyone, all the time, was pleasant and helpful, warm and welcoming. The location is ideal; an easy walk to everywhere, including the best gelato in town! The views were worth the price of admission. We loved the hotel's sense of history, a real part of the Renaissance period of Florence (the infamous elevator probably dates from then too! :-)) Our rooms were on the modest end of the price range but were really suites, with table and chairs, kitchenette with fridge, one had a sofa, and the other had a marvelous view! As everyone remarks, the terraces were perfect; a bountiful, peaceful, delicious breakfast each day up there with the wonderful coffee served with beautiful smiles set the atmosphere for the happy days. All our dinners were at their recommendation, were an easy walk away, and were marvelous. We felt enfolded in all things good about Florence. Would recommend this hotel most highly and feel fortunate to have been there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwhuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,
it was a great pleasure to have you and your daughters in Florence in June.
I thank you for the gentle comment you left regarding the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, mentioning the history of the Tower-house and the magic athmosphere!
We really look forward to welcome you in the next future and I assure we will serve our best luxury service.
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel could not have been nicer....excellent location, beautiful room, spectacular roof gardens (2), helpful staff. We would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for the kind words.
We look forward to offer our best treatment to all your friends coming to Florence and if you are coming back, feel free to contact me direclty.
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Nice room, friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast, fantastic roof top with the view, excellent bar service, great location.

Super slow elevator (the slowest I've even been on) to the point that I thought we were trapped there. Awful plumbing and drainage in the bathroom, shampoo was so old and gelled up so it didn't come out easily, slow internet (free though), no room service, no restaurant, no swimming pool. The limited amenities that makes me wonder why this hotel is classified as a four star.

Je ne sais quoi, the hotel just made me happy :) I will still recommend this place for honeymooners, a couple, but not for a family with kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnocolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank your for your comment on Tripavidsor. I'm very happy to take the opportunity to inform all the travellers that we are not a four star hotel but we are an historical residence located in a medieval tower dated XIII century and the building is part of the historical heritage of Florence, protected by the Fine Art of Florence: this is the main reason we cannot build swimming pool on the roof. We will do our best to improve our services in the wish to offer always a warm welcome in Florence especially at the family with kids, in fact we offer special amenities for kids as cribs, changing tables, baby chairs, baby bathtub, game box, and electrical plug cover for their safety.
Looking forward to welcoming you in a next future,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Located near the Arno, a short walk from everything, the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni is a beautiful place to stay. Our room was lovely, larger than we expected. The roof terrace is a beautiful way to start the day with a delicious buffet breakfast. The views are unbelievable of the entire city! As one reviewer has said, the WiFi was spotty, but we managed just fine. On the day we checked in, they were short staffed (only one person at the desk), so when that person was showing people around, there was no one else to help. Again, not a major issue. I'm only sorry we had such a short time in Florence. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abcMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1.
I suggest you not to be sorry for your short stay in Florence, in fact, we will be happy to welcome you again for a longer period!!!
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I just returned from a trip that included 4 nights at this terrific hotel. We booked a suite, and got an enormous apartment (Room 301 which we highly recommend) with two huge windows looking directly on the Arno. This hotel is not near the Arno, it is on the Arno. Looking out the huge windows to the left is the Ponte Vecchio - which is quite a sight as it is reflected by the Arno; directly below is the and viewed another way is the Ponte alla Santa Trinita, and to the right is the Ponte alla Carraia. In addition to a huge living room with a large dining table, we had a separate small dining room with full size fridge and freezer, and a small full kitchen which even had a washine machine as well as a dishwasher. This was a lot more than we expected, and for all this the price was reasonable. The hotel staff was consistently helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. The roof terraces were a special treat with view of the rooftops of Florence and a nice place both for breakfast and to watch the long summer sunset with a cocktail. Despite its very central location, the hotel is extremely quiet. Easy walks to all the best of the sights and shopping in Florence. In summary, we could not have had a better hotel in Florence for great value and service. We relied on the hotel to recommend every restaurant we visited on this trip, and all the recommendations were outstanding and within easy walking distance. We have traveled very extensively, we like great boutique hotels and great service, and we certainly got it all from Antica Torre. Highest recommendations!!!

Room Tip: Room 301 was huge and right over the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your comment that it's very important and precious for me, especially because you traveled very extensively in many other boutique hotel.
I'm proud to read your words and I'ld love to share it with all the staff because nothing can be more challenging then offer always a better service.
Everybody here is a great "eater" so all the restaurnat' suggestions are experienced our first hands!!!
Grazie for your sharing your stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 with many other travellers.
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I stayed five nights at this wonderful hotel in Florence! From the time we were greeted to the time we had to say goodbye, we were treated exceptationally well. Everyone of the staff went above and beyond the call of duty. Their suggestions for dinning experiences in the area were sensational all five nights we were in Florence. The property is located in an ideal location and the views from their sixth floor decks were breath taking! The breakfasts, which were included in our package, were also wonderful. We highly recommend this site.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main part of the facility where the main lift takes you to the roof top de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your experience with many other travellers on Tripadvisor.
I'm sure all my staff will be happy to read your comment and I tahnk you for giving them smiles and motivation to do better every day!
we look forward to welcome you and your friends in Florence,
Best Regards.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing