We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #12 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in great location”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at Antica Torre for three nights in September. We had two "deluxe" rooms and we could not have been more pleased with our accomodations. Both rooms were quite large, had king beds, quaility linens and an outdoor terrace. The bathrooms, were very nice, but smallish and the shower was lacking in water pressure (our only gripe). Both rooms had a view of the Duomo from their terraces. Service was excellent, and the hotel location was great - just minutes away from the Ponte Vecchio, and right in the mioddle of the fashionable shopping district. It is within easy walking distance to all the major sights in Florence. Nice breakfast included and free wifi, and an English speaking staff,a nd teh best part was the roof top terrace wher breakfast and evening cocktails were served.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Guests,
your words are perfect to allocate the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1 , in fact, we are situated in the most important fashion street of Florence and obviosly the most prestigious area!
I look forward to welcome you soon and again.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    138
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
200
627
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This hotel is relatively small, but the rooms are large and it is located right near all of the attraction in Florence. The rooftop is an open air pleasure where you can have breakfast and drinks. It has a view that is incredible.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Distingued Guest,
thank you for expressing your opinion regarding the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
Our terraces are really the biggest open air pleasure!
I look forward to welcome you in the future,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Slightly quirky city hotel located in a multiuse building with offices, built around an old church tower. Staff are sparse and sometimes hard-to-find, but always helpful and cheerful. Rooms are delightful, larger than most in Europe, and clean, well appointed and well lit. Good value for the money and excellent location. Others have described it well – this is a small, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Guest,
I thank you for the kind comment and I'll take the opportunity to introduce the history of our property, in fact the Tower House known as "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1" was built during the first half of the 13th century by the Guelf Family, the Ruggerinis. The Tower House is located at the corner of via de Tornabuoni, directly adjacent to the Bridge of Santa Trinita, beside the church of the same name.
I'm sure that the Staff sometimes it's hard to find because in order to satisfy all the guest's need, they personally check and verify every information in rooms and in all the common areas!
I look forrward to welcome you soon in Florence,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here early September. The hotel is in an ideal location.

We booked a "superior queen" room and it was spacious and well appointed. The two terraces provided amazing views of the city including
sunset over the Arno.

The staff was excellent and looked after all of our requests on a timely professional manner.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomethridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind comment left on Tripadvisor.
Your words are precious and I wish you could help many other travellers to choose Florence as perfect location!
I look forward to welcome you in a next future,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Everything about this hotel was fantastic - i) the staff was very friendly, patient and extremely helpful, ii) rooms were clean, bright and well cooled, iii) rooftop setup had a great view and was perfect for breakfast and evening drinks (food/ drinks were delish), iv) hotel location was amazing, and v) everything was very reasonably priced.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence. It was the best hotel we stayed at in Italy (we went to Rome, Florence and Venice). Truly - the fantastic customer service made our experience at this hotel just perfect. The concierge was more than willing to assist with travel planning (in our case, this means helping us figure out which museum passes were best, find out more about the outlet bus, and offering THE BEST restaurant recommendations). I really felt like the staff genuinely cared about whether their guests were comfortable and enjoying themselves. Great experience all around.

Room Tip: We had a room with a small private balcony - didn't realize this would be the case. If this a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalFoodie426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Guest at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1,
I want to thank you personally for the kind words and I'll take the opportunity to express the gratitude of all our staff. Your comment offer enthusiasm to everybody and it encourages us to improve always.
We really look forward to welcome you back in a next future and we assure the best service in Italy ever!
Grazie.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Wow this hotel is magnificent! We absolutely loved our 2 night stay in this gorgeous hotel situated in a medieval ancient tower. From the warm reception by Ginevra to the wonderful helpful staff, the gorgeous rooms ( and we could only book a classic room as all others were full ), the perfect location 5 steps away from the Arno River, one bridge away from the Ponte Vecchio and on one of the main shopping streets... to the comfort and elegance of the whole hotel.....we were so thrilled with our choice. Our room was beautiful, an extremely comfortable bed with good linen and a good compact bathroom with a large shower and all amenities. An elevator connects all floors, although a little slow at times.
A truly excellent buffet breakfast including Tuscan specialities, a real treat, was served on the rooftop terrace which has views that are out of this world.....360 deg panoramic vistas of exquisite Florence. At the end of a magnificent day sightseeing an honesty bar ( with a barman at times ) completes the fabulous experience on the terrace as one is mesmerised watching the sun set over the Arno River.
Within very easy walking distance to all the major sites this hotel comes highly recommended and we cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: A room with a view over the river would be a bonus but even a view over the rooftops is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,
what a pleasure to see your message!
I wish, for the next time, you could experience a Deluxe or Grand Deluxe category in order to let you feel more comfortable; so, in case of reservation, feel free to contact us directly in order to propose you more room' categories!
Looking forward to welcoming you back in a next future,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Took my mum and aunt (both in their 50s, im in my 20s) to this beautiful hotel in May and we all loved it. It took us a while to find; its hidden at the end of a road full of designer stores (opp the ferragamo store) and ended up being only a 10min walk from most of the main sites. Rooms were well kept and comfortable. The rooftop terrace is their only communal area but was lovely both in the mornings for breakfast and in the evening for a drink whilst watching the sun set. Staff were very friendly and always tried to help with any questions we had. Only downsides were: no option of food in the hotel, no computer for internet access and a very slow lift! Would def recommend this hotel to friends and would chose to stay here on every visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistrydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,
grazie for choosing the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 for the special trip you made with your mom and your aunt.
We will do our best to improve our services, in fact, we are still working in new project and something you mentioned is already on the way to be realized soon.
Looking forward to welcoming you in a next future,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing