We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break to Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #14 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 November 2012

great hotel, within walking distance of the Quizzing, Cathedral and all the other wonderful things to see in Florence
Restaurants abound of good quality
The hotel is well maintained and furnished with excellent large rooms.
Strongly recommend this hotel for a City Break

Room Tip: Room 103 is on the 5th floor, quiet with internal shutters and within short walk to the restaurant f...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardcalhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear richardcalhoun,
Grazie for your comment.
The Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 is the perfect destination for short break, but it's even better in case of longer stay, caused thanks our perfect location, guests could discover Florence in every hidden corner.
Grazie,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location is great. The staff is very pleasant, professional and accomodating. Their English is above average. The room was beautiful and spacious. The view from the room was interesting but the view from the roof top was spectacular. Wish we had more time to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Sandra219,
grazie for sharing your opinion about us.
I'll thank all my staff for taking such a good care of you and all our clients, your words will offer a wonderful smile to everybody at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
Your Faithfully,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel is so wonderful. To start, the hotel location is perfect. Easy to walk to from the train station (even with luggage in rain), and in the perfect spot to visit all the tourist locations. The hotel itself is just beautiful, and the rooms are gorgeous-clean, big, and incredible views. Our room was 502 and it was a great room with a small balcony. Breakfast is good (not great, but certainly better than most anything in the States), service at the front desk was very good. This ctiy is very walkable, and this spot is the perfect one to walk from!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the best room available.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Mexico04,
thanks for your words and for the suggestion about walking in the city.
The Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 is on the city center of Florence and exactly we are in the pedestrian area so we really recommend to walk everywhere!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We will be checking out on 11/1 after a 3 night stay. Pros: Incredibly views, large room and bathroom. The staff was incredibly accomodating, and the location couldn't be beat. Con: The breakfast buffet! I haven't had such bad coffee in years- it alternated between sludge and brown water. I ended up ordering an espresso just to get some caffeine. The breakfast pasteries were stale and appeared to be supermarket quality. The cakes were better. My husband thought the eggs were insipid. The buffet did have some interesting crostinis. But what a waste to have a 2-star buffet at a 4-star establishment. We will be missing breakfast tomorrow due to the timing of our flight, and the coffeeshop at the Airport will have better coffee- that I am sure of. I would rated this hotel Very good...however...

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank capitalgirlAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear capitalgirlAlbany,
grazie for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I should confess that I was really surprised about your words regarding breakfast, in fact, even reading the guests' comments on Tripadvisor, our breakfast is one of the highlight and our selection of products is really attentive to the quality: fruits is organic and we use coffee and tea produced in Florence respecting the global environment.
I wish you could come back Florence, and I'll be happy to offer you the best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

From the moment we saw the unostentatious hotel sign at the foot of of this former Palazzo, we knew this would be the hotel for us. Our room, more like an appartment really, overlooking the Ponte Santa Trinita and the (at least when we were there) milky-coffee-coloured Arno was everything one could wish for: comfortable beds, refreshingly unpretentious decor, spacious and spotless; and the terrace breakfast room/bar, with the Duomo and Campanile rising like a Himalayan peaks from a sea of terracotta rooftops, had one seriously wondering whether to stay there all day and just read the guidebook. Best of all, though, was the sensitive and friendly service, meeting, indeed anticipating, all our needs. I will be writing a separate review for the restaurant (The 'Cinghiale Bianco' in the Borgo San Jacopo just across the bridge). All I can say is, go with the hotel's recommendation. They will take one look at you, and decide exactly the sort of place you will like.They had it bang on for us. I cannot imagine ever wanting to stay anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Richard H,
Thank you for the kind letter about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I should inform you that we are just offering a new service with a light dinner exclusive for our guests because, we have guests that are not moving from the terrace the whole day and at the end, they even do not want to go our for dinner.
I hope you could come back Florence for letting experience the new gastronomic excellence at the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Perfect location, comfortable rooms and service beyond compare. Everyone speaks great English and they even help you with your Italian.

The roof top terrace is to die for, with magnificent views of the Duomo and surrounding hills. The free breakfast is very good and the espresso is very good.

If you are looking for a non-cookie cutter hotel in an historic building then this is the one! Very close to Duomo, Uffizi and Academia.

Ciao!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear MJ J,
thanks for the kind words about our "non-cookie cutter" property!
I'm proud to offer a different service respect the normal hotel and I should admit that the views from the terrace are really ineffable.
We look forward to having you again as our guests and everything you may need, please feel free to contact me directly.
Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My stay at Antica Torre was one of the better hotel experiences I've ever had. The hotel is charming and centrally located, and the people are very nice and accommodating. The front desk staff actually showed us around the property when checking in. The rooftop terrace where they serve breakfast and cocktails in the evening provides truly scenic views.

Room Tip: The view from the riverside rooms is pretty spectacular
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear FScorch,
grazie for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 in Florence.
I should admit that we love introduce the property at check in in order to let guests feel more confident with their new home!
I wish to welcome you again and please, feel free to contact me anytime in case of reservation.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
530 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 411 in Florence
333 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £176 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing