We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #15 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni. It is located in a very convenient spot in Florence, and the rooftop bar/restaurant is not to be missed any time of day. The staff was very accomodating, the rooms were clean and convenient, and we greatly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear rjbirder,
thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm pleased you appreciate location and staff and the bar in the panoramic terrace and I look forward to welcome you again in a next future,
Kind Reagrds,

Maria RIta Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    140
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
208
635
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights of our 19 night honeymoon and this was our favorite hotel. The hotel is enchanting. It's in the perfect location of the city of Florence. I think it is only 11 rooms of so. The staff was very accommodating and spoke perfect English which made us comfortable. Also upon check in there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us ---very cute!!
The breakfasts were delicious, the honor bar was really awesome and the best art of it all was the terrace!!! We had a picnic up there every night even had pizza and wine we brought in from a store. I will never forget our time here. It was an awesome experience I highly suggest this hotel for couples!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Michelle S,
thank you for choosing the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 for your honeymoon.
I'm glad you felt comfortable with our multilingual staff and that you appreciate the bottle of prosecco we offered you!
I hope to welcome you for all anniversary to come!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale, az
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our 5th floor room was lovely. We were here on San Giovanni (the celebration of Florence's patron saint) and enjoyed the spectacular fireworks from the rooftop patio. My only wish is that our stay was longer. This hotel is beautiful, super service (an honor system in the bar upstairs during off hours), wonderful breakfast and delightful happy hour. You can't get a better view also. Our room (501) had a small patio that faced the clock tower for which the hotel is named. Superb!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear andysmom,
grazie for the wonderful words you spend about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
It's a pleasure you have the opportunity to be in Florence during the St. John's celebration, in fact, we always offer a gala dinner for our guests and the night will end with the fireworks, that this year were amazing!
I wish you could stay longer on your next visit of Florence and please, feel free to call me anytime.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

From the six months leading up to the trip and throughout our stay the entire staff was fantastic. Everyone was attentive, from the various email requests to making dinner reservations or just answering general questions. Grazie Mille!

We stayed in rooms 502 and 503, both of which had nice views of the city. The balcony on 503 also had a view of the Duomo. The rooftop views however are unmatched. One afternoon we went to Amici Di' Ponte vecchio Da Stefano for sandwiches and had lunch on the roof admiring the Duomo. Also a great view at night with a glass of wine or hot chocolate.

We had a minor issue with one of our rooms and at checkout the manager offered a reduced room rate to compensate for any inconvenience. Just a final nice touch to an already wonderful stay.

Room Tip: 502 & 503 have balconies with a small table and chairs. You can see the Duomo from 503 and the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bollwage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear NJWillieB,
grazie for the kind comment posted on Tripadvisor.
I'm glad yo uhave the opportunity to stay in the only 2 Grand Deluxe rooms with balcony we have, even if the view from the terrace is ineffable.
I'm sorry for any inconvenient incurred you but, as you can understand, your satisfaction is our unique goal, so I'm very glad you appreciate the compensation I offered you at check out.
SInecrely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

When travelling with a family, it's always nice to have a bit more space, and an extra bathroom! We stayed in the Renaissance Suite, which was beautiful. Breakfast is served on the terrace which has gorgeous views over Florence. The staff are incredibly helpful and extremely knowledgeable. Although a suite sounds expensive, it was still less than the cost of two hotel rooms. This hotel is ideally located, within a few steps of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. It is also only an easy ten - minute walk from the railway station. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Cazwinkie,
Thanks for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
I'm glad you feel comfortable and that the room was suitable for your family, especially, our Renaissance Suite has 2 huge bathrooms, one with bathtub and the other with shower; so it's the perfect sulotion for families.
I wish to welcome you back a next future and I'll take the opportunity to offer the best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We were a short walk from all of the main sites in Florence. Wonderful views from the rooftop terrace and from the terrace off of our room. Breakfast was a treat. Staff very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Roni S,
I would like to thank you for the kind words regarding the recent stay at the ANtica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome again in Florence and please, feel free to contact me directly in case of reservation.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Florence is of course a magical place, but where you decide to sleep, hang out or relax away from the bustling culture it is important (to me anyway) to return to a place where you can relax and reflect. I looked at quite a few hotels and they seemed dated and over priced. Then I logged back on to tripadvisor and found Antica Torre. Right in the city’s heart, this hotel oozes class. My room was huge, stunningly decorated and wonderfully equipped. You feel like you’re in an historical building and you feel looked after and respected. Antica Torre is utterly wonderful and heavenly.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Solsbury81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Solsbury81,
thank you for the kind comment posted on Tripadvisor.
Your experience is the perfect example of how your reviews will be useful to all travelers who decide to visit Florence.
I'm sure that your review will be invaluable to many other readers, and we hope to be able to sleep again at the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
513 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,489 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,253 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 411 in Florence
285 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#5 Green Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing