We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #11 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

When we arrived to the hotel it was really confusing where was the front desk as it is at the end of the corridor to the right, but when finally we found it, the front desk lady was really really nice and friendly. She took us to our room and gave us a tour of the hotel where she showed us the incredible terraces that the hotel have. The room was really nice, big and comfortable and we have a view of the Piazza della Trinita and the Tower where Salvatore Ferragamo main offices are (by the way we love the brand and the museum is really nice).
Also as I have mention the roof top terraces are really nice as you have an incredible view of Florence and the Arno River. In the afternoon, as there is a honor bar where the tea and coffee are free or charge, we sat and have a wonderful view of the sunset and how Florence lights start to become alive.
Breakfast was really really good, I loved the bruschettas, the prosciutto, fresh fruit, arancia rossa juice and cafe latte (by the way the coffee was really good).
I would gladly stay again at this hotel, it was really good our stay at it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lugasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear lugasalo,
thank you for sharing your experience with us in Tripadvisor.
It's a great pleasure to read the words you spend about the rooms, the terraces and much more about the staff!
I look forward to welcome you soon in Florence and please, feel free to contact me direclty.
Yours Faithfully,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    137
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
199
624
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was a perfect boutique hotel with the staff being so welcoming at every opportunity. The room was compact but immaculate and so very appealing with a gorgeous view of the River and surrounding areas of Florence. The staff were wonderfully trained and delightful. God is in the details and this is something that Antica Torre did very well. The delicious breakfast and entrhalling rooftop terraces are worthy of the room price alone. Two very inviting terraces with the most spectacular of vistas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulV019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear PaulV019,
thank you for the kind comment posted on Tripadvisor.
I should admit that details it's something that you also do very well, in fact, your comment is really useful!
Please, feel free to contact me anytime and please, in case you are planning to come back in Florence, contact me directly.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our second trip to Florence. This hotel is very nice. Our room was huge and tastefully decorated. All the modern amenities you need. Very clean too.
Here are some points which can be improved:
Internet was terrible, but Dan at the front desk modified our bill at check out.
Breakfast is only available from 8 - 10 am.
Parking and tours have to be paid in cash ; you can't add it to your room. This is an inconvenience when you have a limited amount of cash on you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear canuck64,
thank you for the kind comment regarding your recent stay with us.
I'm glad you decided to stay again at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni for your second visit of Florence and I wish we can welcome you in a next future.
I apologize for the connection problems you had but I'm happy to inform that we change our internet provider and our connection is now faster. I would like to remember that even if breakfast is from 8.00 to 10.00am we always offer breakfast before that time and in case our guests do not come for breakfast after 10.30am or 11.00am, we use to call them in the room asking if they would like room service or if we should keep something ready for them. Regarding the garage and the tours, the service provider require the payment in cash so it's not really our rules but we will try to improve this service as well.
I look forward to welcome you again in Florence,
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We had the most wonderful stay here. Our room was huge and comfortable. Breakfast, served on the 7th floor was amazing. The rooftop bar with the view of the Arno River is incredible. We took a bottle of wine up there each night after dinner.
The breakfast staff are very friendly. The front desk staff was very helpful and cheerfully greeted us each time we returned to the hotel.
Since there are only 2 floors open of this cool building, the vibe of the hotel is warm and small. I highly recommend a visit here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalamaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear MalamaKaren,
thank you for the kind words regarding your visit at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm happy you feel comfortable and we really are a "Boutique Historical Residence" so the atmosphere as you describe is really warm and small....
I wish to welcome again in Florence and please contact me directly in case of reservation.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've been to Florence several times, and stayed at various hotels, but, after my stay here, I will never go anywhere else. The experience was top notch, from check-in to our departure. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and helped us with some reservations, all of which were excellent recommendations. Our room was truly special for Europe, and impeccably decorated. The highlight for sure was the terrace on the rooftop - some of the best views of the city are right there. The location is also extremely convenient - very close to all of the sights. Without even prompting from my husband, the staff realized from my passport that it was my birthday and made me a special birthday cake at breakfast. It's the small things that make a difference, and this place does them all right. I can't say enough about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Kristen P,
thank you for the wonderful words about your recent stay with us.
We all make this job with passion and we adore to offer the best warm hospitality to all our guests, so, we know that small things can make the difference!
We are happy to know that you appreciate the birthday cake we offer you for breakfast!
Please, call me anytime and contact me directly if you decide to celebrate again your birthday in Florence.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here in February for my 50th birthday and before booking wanted a hotel that was within 10 minutes walk from all the sights and had a view of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio from the room, this hotel ticks all the boxes and then some.

We flew from London City to Florence and a taxi from the airport costs 20 euros which is a set fee and drops you right outside the door, check in was excellent with the staff being very helpful and they speak excellent English too. We had booked the Romantic Suite and it was enormous with a gorgeous bathroom and separate jacuzzi bath in the room. There are 3 windows in the room with two giving you a view of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio as expected.

However, the real plus point and USP of this hotel is the roof terrace which is spectacular with amazing views of the Duomo, River Arno, Ponte Vecchio, in fact the whole city, it was breathtaking and although it was cold in February it was still possible to make use of it as the days were bright and sunny.

Breakfast was excellent with a great choice and great coffee and enough to set you on your way for exploring this amazing city. The waitress at breakfast was very sweet and nothing was too much trouble. We went to the roof terrace for a night cap each evening and took in the floodlight view of the Duomo and the hotel operate an honesty bar system after a certain time.

Florence is gorgeous and everything we thought it would be, I am not an art buff but the David statue and the Ulfezi are amazing, we bought a Firenze card which was great and worked well, we walked everywhere and I think its the best way to explore the city, February was in my opinion a great time to go it was cold and crisp but none of the attractions had any queues to speak of, I have spoken to people who have been in the summer months when its 35 degrees and the queues are measured in hours not minutes.

We loved Florence and will be back and would stay at the Antica.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Traveljunkie2801,
thank you for the kind comment you posted in Tripadvisor.
I'm glad you appreciate every single point of your stay with us and I completely agree that February is a wonderful month for Florence, obviously it's cold but the access to museums and galleries is extremely easy; you could taste different local menu with fresh and winter's season vegetables; prices are reasonable and much more you could really feel a Florentine!
Everything you may need, please contact me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel was wonderful in every way. The staff were hospitable, helpful and incredibly polite. The breakfast was delicious and only made better by the amazing view over the city from our balcony. Our room was spacious and was well maintained and very quiet. The location could not be better: all the attractions of Florence were a short walk away, many restaurants were within a few minutes of the hotel. Overall a great experience in an elegant, relaxed hotel that is professional with high standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Rob575,
I thank you for the kind message you posted regarding your recent stay with us.
I'm pleased you appreciate all our services, the location, breakfast and the staff and I wish you could come back in Florence for a longer "romantic break".
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Yours Faithfully,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing