We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The roof top terraces are spectacular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #11 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The roof top terraces are spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The roof top terraces (there are two!) are breathtaking. At night you can have a glass of wine, grab your sweetheart, and look out over the Duomo and city feeling like a Medici. In the morning you will have your breakfast, one of the best, overlooking the river Arno. The reception staff could not be better, especially if you are not Italian and are looking for genuine care, and interest in having the best the city can offer! Their guidance and recommendations were great. If you leave the city for a few days to venture to Tuscany they will keep your bags for you for free. the bathrooms are modern and spacious, which we really appreciated. I hope to return many times with family and friends to Florence, and will always be staying here.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are big, I don't think you will go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    135
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
193
613
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed hear during our honeymoon. It was my first time to Italy and we visited several cities. We stayed here for our time in Florence. The hotel was absolutely fabulous in every way. Our room had a great view and the breakfast at the top floor was a nice start to each day. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were fantastic. The real star of this hotel is the location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwreedii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent 3 nights. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Got the feeling that they will do almost anything to make your stay a pleasant one. Our room had a wonderful view. Great breakfast on the roof top. "Honor" bar on roof top. Next visit to Florence will definitely stay here. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. Some of the rooms have private terrace. Even without private terrace, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
231 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This must be one of the most romantic palaces in the world. But when booking be sure to request a room with a view...! Everything is perfect, service, location, wonderful breakfasts on the rooftop terrace. Although our stay coincided with the world cycling championships, which disrupted the city somewhat, the Management went overboard to overcome all sorts of problems, such as taxis, garage, etc. Really commendable

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I LOVE this establishment. Located in the posh area of Florence on a corner overlooking the Arno, Antica Torre's rooms are placed in two towers, one of which is medieval. You wouldn't know the age from the inside which is very nicely decorated in a subtle, modern style that manages to keep an air of old grace.

The hotel offers extraordinarily helpful desk staff, a really wonderful full breakfast each morning, bar service, and gratis coffees, teas, and other beverages at all hours.

Really though, the highlight is the stunning view from just about every angle. I was in room 402 with a insane view of the Duomo and rooftops, and all the towers in the distance, right out of E.M. Forster. Two rooftop terraces allow 365 degree views of Florence, with one terrace riverside and the other Duomo-side.

Access to attractions is very convenient by foot, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience in Florence.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a lovely view of the Duomo and towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

An excellent hotel with a fabulous rooftop bar.
The rooms are excellent - 5 star quality. Excellent bed with wonderful linnens, Nice size bathroom with a good shower and large soft towels.
Excellent service from the front desk. Excellent breakfast with a roof top terrace and great views. best location we found in Florence for breakfast. The rooftop bar with 2 outdoor terraces is absolutely fantastic. Large with confortable seating. Views of the river and of the Duomo. Reasonably priced wine and bruchetta. Great quiet spot for reading, soaking up the sun or having a coctail or glass of wine with friends.
The hotel is in a great location an easy walk to the Duomo and other tourist sites. On the same street as the high end stores like Salvatore Ferragamo. Close to the sites but quiet so easy to get sleep.
Most of the staff could not have been nicer. One rude guy at the front desk but the woman who was there most of the time was delightful and very helpful so more than made up for the rude guy.
The one negative other than the high price of the room is the very small elevators. If you are claustrophobic - plan to take the stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Location, location, location...right in the center of everything, view of the river from the Panoramic Suite was breathtaking, even scaffolding didn't spoiled it (we were informed in advance). View from both terraces is spectacular, opera music was playing at night....
Breakfast was delicious, and hotel staff very accommodating, I have gluten allergy and wanted to eat pizza, so, they made it happened!!!!
Thank you all for making it special.

Room Tip: go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing