We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #18 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Antica Torre for 8 nights in mid-November and loved our time there. The location and the hotel itself are top-notch.

We were a bit skeptical when we checked in due to the tiny reception area, but once we saw our floor and room (104--Grand Deluxe Romantic), we were sold. Everything about this hotel (except maybe the reception area) is beautiful. Our room was huge--with a separate (large) dressing area which also contained on one end a jetted tub. We had a sofa in the room, a desk, a small table with 4 chairs, and the room was still spacious. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but was nicely appointed and scrupulously clean. It did have ample storage space beneath the vanity. There were also 3 large windows in the room, which overlooked the Arno. How wonderful it was each morning to open the shutters and casement windows to the beautiful view!

The bed was comfortable and the bed linens crisp and lovely. We had requested down pillows, which we had, but there were only two. We requested two more, and they were delivered within a very few minutes. The toweling in the bathroom was also high quality--large and thick.

The breakfast buffet was something to look forward to each morning. It was quite elaborate; in fact, I never got around to sampling everything even though we were there for so many mornings. The breakfast room overlooked the river and had an adjoining terrace. The servers were friendly and accommodating.

The terraces are mentioned everywhere in the TA reviews. All I have to add about them is that all the raving about how beautiful they and the views are have not been exaggerated! It's all true. The bar adjoins one of the terraces. It was fun to sit in the bar for a late-night glass of wine and look through the wall of windows at the lovely view.

Though the reception area was small, the people working there were all gracious and most helpful.

The location of the hotel is ideal--close enough to everything to walk, yet in an area that is not totally overrun with tourists.

We had an early flight out on our last morning--before the people in reception came on duty and before breakfast was served. We were quite worried about our cab and what we would do for breakfast. When we came in from our last night's dinner, we found two beautifully appointed trays for our breakfast the next morning--with a big bowl of fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries, several kinds of tea and an electric kettle. Beautifully done! Reception arranged a cab for us the day before, and it arrived at 6 A.M.--exactly the time we requested. Our worries were all for naught!

Only two things were missing: a clock and robes. Other than that, this small boutique hotel on this end of the wide, lovely, relatively uncongested Via Tornabuoni is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear r0ckhill,
what can I add? I just can thank you for the detailed descrition of our property and I'm so proud to read your experience on Tripadvisor.
We always do our best to satisfy the guest' needs and I should inform that bathrobes are available on request so, I'm very sorry if we didn't provide you but, at the same time, we will do our best to organize clocks in every room.
Please, feel free to contact me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were lucky enough to spend three days in Florence during our honeymoon. We were even luckier to stay at this hotel. The rooms were very nice, especially considering the hotel used to be a medieval tower. The staff was amazing; they were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable about where to eat and great at providing directions. What truly sets this hotel apart from most is the view. The roof top terrace has spectacular views of the Duomo. Simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Florence is a beautiful art filled renaissance city with excellent dining and shopping. Its public art in museums and buildings on squares and streets are world class. Florence stores offer an amazing selection of high quality leather goods from books to bags to shoes. At night the huge cathedral dome and tall towers are beautifully lit. The people are courteous and helpful. Florence is a perfect place to spend time with a special person on a special occasion. It is also a wonderful place for an individual to study beautiful renaissance art.

There are many good hotel choices in Florence but it would be hard to match Antica Torre for its location and atmosphere. Our room was super! The hotel breakfast buffet overlooking the River Arno and renaissance churches was excellent. The hotel is on the River Arno and within a 15 minute walk from most popular tourist locations. Excellent restaurants are 10 to 15 minutes walking time away.

Hotel staff is friendly, professional and want to assist guests. Prior to our arrival they helped me set up a very enjoyable day long tour of Chianti Classico wineries and towns. Their knowledge of local restaurants was bullet proof.

However, the outstanding feature of the hotel are the two large roof top terraces that offer beverage, light food service and stunning rooftop scenery. Terrace night views of the beautiful lit up cathedral dome and city towers are accompanied with soft Italian music. I gambled that my wife would like this part of the hotel and she was mesmerized by the nighttime terrace experience. During our 4 nights on the terrace almost every new couple who came onto the terraces remarked to each other how beautiful the view was. Guys, this is the perfect place to take your wife or special person on a honeymoon or anniversary or to propose.

My advice is to book your Florence room at Antica Torre even if you have to stretch your budget. You can always make more money but this hotel presents the opportunity to make lifetime memories.

Room Tip: There are two towers. We stayed in the "new tower" that was built 400 years ago. Everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunValley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel, and our visit to Florence, was at the end of a lengthy stay in Europe, and were so delighted.

The location is absolutely perfect, right on the Arno river and within close walking distance to the Uffizi and many other points of interest. There was wonderful shopping very close to us.

The lobby was spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, advising us on what to visit and providing maps and other information. The rooms were not yet ready, so they cared for our luggage and directed us to a nearby trattoria (which we loved). They were ready as promised, and they even gave us a bottle of Prosecco since we told them we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary! The room was spacious, with a living area (couch, coffee table and TV), a separate bedroom area (spacious for Europe) with a comfortable bed and lovely desk. We had a few steps up to our windows that overlooked the Arno, and the bridges Ponte Sante Trinita and (to the left) Ponte Vecchio! It was fabulous!

The bathroom was spacious and clean, with nice tile and with a shower/bath combo and a bidet. There were nice shampoo and conditioner etc amenities.

The complimentary breakfast was unbelievable! Very generous and with a lot of variety. They open from 8 - 10, but I was there a bit before 10, and they kept restocking the buffet even after 10 because there were still guests there! Latifah was very helpful. They offer you coffee (American, cappuccino, espresso, decaf, etc) and have a couple kinds of juices, plus milk. They have fruits, meats, cheeses, grilled vegetables, scrambled eggs, breads and sweets!

The rooftop terraces are gorgeous with beautiful music always playing from invisible speakers. The views of the city are fantastic and so peaceful. There is bar service during specified hours, and an 'honor bar' after hours, plus a (free) coffee and tea makings at the bar as well.

When we checked out, they kept our bags for us until we had to leave for the train. They were ALWAYS warm and helpful to us.

We loved this hotel and would love to return and spend more time here!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, if possible, though there is some nighttime nice from people on the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy_SKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Just walk across the bridge and you are close to everything. The rooms were beautiful with nice beds and bathrooms. We had a terrace and I requested a bathtub.

They have a roof top terrace with amazing city views of Florence and then another terrace where you can have breakfast looking out at the Arno river. The breakfast buffet and service was fantastic too.

Another great thing about the location it was just a walk over the bridge and you got away from the noisy crowds.
I would highly recommend this place.. It's was wonderful!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon44r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here as a family group and all were delighted by the helpful, friendly staff and the attention to detail in order to give guests a good experience. Central location, good breakfast buffet and breathtaking views from the rooftop terrace make this a hotel I am very pleased to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 following 4 days in Siena. We had a Grand Deluxe Double with a river view. Perfect hotel for seeing Florence, everything to see and do is a matter of minutes away on foot.

The room was modern and tastefully decorated, view fantastic, bathroom ideal for us with a walk in shower. A really splendid breakfast was on offer and the waiting staff very friendly. The rooftop terrace (where there is an honesty box bar for some parts of the day) and a snack/lunch service has the most stunning views over Florence. Front desk/concierge service really helpful.

The hotel is quite quirky in its layout but it's worth it to maintain the charm and beauty of the building it is located in. It is also literally a stone's throw from the Ponte Vecchio. If we are ever back in Florence we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,953 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#3 of 410 in Florence
656 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#2 of 410 in Florence
1,541 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#5 Green Hotel in Florence
#8 Spa Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £178 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing