We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Great Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #11 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Great Central Location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni n. 1 hotel is a great location in Florence Italy if you are looking to be in the heart of it all. It is a beautiful historic palace located right on the canal which is only a couple of blocks from the Ponte Vecchio where you may do some shopping. This was my second time staying here in a two year period and I really recommend this hotel highly. It is very clean, offers an amazing breakfast buffet in a luxurious room at the top of the hotel daily. The view from the breakfast room and the rooftop outdoor sitting area located outside off the bar area has some of the most amazing views of the canal and city of Florence. You will see the Duomo and canal from the two rooftop outdoor areas allowing you to take in sites while relaxing. This hotel is very close to many great restaurants, shops, and museums. You will be able to walk to most of the places you will want to see while in the beautiful city of Florence and if you need to go somewhere that requires a driver it is easy to get a taxi or have the hotel set up a car service for you. The staff was very helpful and friendly for both of my stays at this hotel. The very large beautiful doors that great you upon arrival let you know you are in Italy and about to spend time in a historic and beautiful palace. This great hotel has daily cleaning service and a nightly turndown service. We had a refrigerator in our room with some pre-stocked drinks which was nice. They offered free WiFi which was good so we could stay connected. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We will return to this great hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Canal side of the hotel which you could see right down into the canal. It was beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Brian W,
I want to thank you for sharing your experience with all the travellers.
We do all our best to satisfy the guest's need and obviosly, one of our major satisfaction is to welcome loyalty guests for 2 or 3 times... that makes us feel happy.
I hope you could come back soon with your family and we always offer our best welcome.
Thank you so much,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    135
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
197
620
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Suites are great. Will return here. Roof top bar has unbelievable views. 3 nights and need more time. Upon arrival, staff toured us around hotel. Our room overlooks water and great weather allowed us to open windows

Room Tip: 301. Very large suite w kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear David N,
thank you for sharing your opinion regarding the Antica Torre Tornabuoni.
We are pleased you loved our Panoramic Bar located on the higher floor and I agree with you, 3 nights are never enough for Florence, and I'll telling it as a Florentine!
I wish you could come back and I'll be glad to suggest tips and hidden places in town.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Yours Faithfully.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed 3 days in this excellent hotel. Well located, within a short walk to the main sights, it proved a perfect base for exploring Florence. Of course, as everyone else has commented, the main attraction of the hotel is its stunning roof terrace with spectacular views over the city. It was absolute bliss to return there every night for drinks and a rest. The rooms are good, although not exceptional but the breakfast is fantastic and the staff wonderful. The Reception arranged some great restaurants for us, which we would never have found alone. 5* - highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963biffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear 1963biffo,
"grazie" for the kind words regarding our hospitality.
I'm extremely pleased you appreciated the location, as well the bar, breakfast and much more, the staff which always make the best to satisfy our guests, especially in term of food... they can always suggest the best restaurants and trattorias of Florence.
I hope you could come back again in Florence and I'll be happy to offer our best possible treatment.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel. It is beautifully maintained. Location is so central, you can walk too most attractions, as well as the train station.The room is lovely and very comfortable. The terrace is fantastic, with a great view. The breakfast buffet is very good. Service is excellent. The receptionist very helpful. Really a great place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimlk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear kimlk13,
thank you for the kind opinion regarding the Antica Torre Tornabuoni.
I'm proud to read your words especially because you mentioned all points: location, room, terrace, breakfast, service with positive appreciation.
Please, feel free to contact me directly if you are planning to come back Florence and I'll be happy to offer the best possible service.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from spenting 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Arrived before check in time but was not a problem. Got seen to our rooms and then given a tour of the terrace and breakfast areas. Terrace area is brilliant for views across the city and is a great place to relax with a drink before going out in the evening. The location was perfect for walking throughout the city which we did for 3 days. Breakfast was a typical buffet but more than adequate. Our room was large and the shower room nearly as large! If in Florence again would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h1tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear h1tee,
thank you for posting your recent experience on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely glad you appreciate your stay at the Antica Torre Tornabuoni and as you wrote, we are always happy, if available to accomodate our guests in room even in case of early check in.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in a future,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay. We loved antica torre. A great small and simple hotel in a perfect location. Had a fabulous room with a large terrace. Roof deck is a unique feature or this hotel. Spectacular views of florence. Breakfast room very cheerful. Breakfast staff very kind and caring and helpful. Concierge (Dan and others) go above and beyond to help out. Highly recommend this simple yet lovely hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear NYCGal2010,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with Antica Torre Tornabuoni.
We are glad to read that you enjoyedour tower and that you appreciated the attitude of our team members that you found helpful.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in Florence in the near future.
Warm regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Florence for 4 nights on our honeymoon. This hotel was amazing. It's a converted old tower (thus the name) with only 12 rooms, so it feels small and personal as well as luxurious. There's a concierge on duty until 10pm who will help you out with most things (mail letters, dinner recommendations, directions, you name it). The rooms are huge by European standards and have views of either a little piazza on via tornaburoni or the Arno river. The included breakfast is delicious and cooked on site with a huge amount of authentic Italian options. There is free coffee and tea all day and evening, made for you and served to you (no Keurig here) on their 6th floor terrace with a great view of the city and the duomo. The hotel is a short walk to most main Florence sights (5min from the duomo, 5 from the Ponta Vecchio, 10 from pitti palace, 10-15 from Uffizzi). The only downside if you can even call it one is that you pay for what you get. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence willing to pay what they're asking :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Beth W,
grazie grazie grazie for the wonderful words regarding your recent stay at the Antica Torre Tornabuoni.
I'll take the chance to inform you that we are working at 5 new rooms so at the end of this year we will have 24 rooms total, in fact actually we have 12 rooms in the Tower and 7 rooms in Palazzo Gianfigliazzi, so I hope you'll experience soon our new rooms and suites.
Looking forward to welcoming back in a next future,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,028 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
480 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
2,661 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing