We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #15 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“stunning comfort”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Brilliant rooftop terrace, with a stunning view. The rooms are conformably elegant, and the staff is exceptional. Rather you need a recommendation to one of the areas great restaurants, advice on a tour, or a movie recommendation from the hotel's library (you'll find both modern and classics), you'll feel like part of the family at this amazing hotel.

This hotel is situated on the river with amazing views of the city. Out our 2 main windows, on the 5th floor, was an unimpeded view of Il Duomo's magnificent dome and bell tower. A third window in our room looked out over the red tile roof tops and across the River Arno. If your room's view isn't enough, the hotel has two rooftop terrace's, one on the north (Il Duomo View) and one on the south (River Arno) that offer you a fantastic look into the hear of this amazing city.

The breakfast was amazing, and the service is first rate. Be patient with the hotel's elevator, and be sure to read the plaque by it's doors for instructions (I felt like an idiot after pushing the button each time I saw it blinking), but watch out for the door! Let me just say... when you decide which floor your going to, and you push that button... your committed!

We were in Florence for only two nights (three days). The hotel is conveniently located to most of the city's attractions (Rail Station, Academia, Il Duomo, Palazzo Pitti, etc.), which made it an ideal home base for us as we dashed between tours, Gelato, shopping, and dinner reservations.

My only complaint is the internet speed (the only reason it didn't get 5 stars). If being in Firenze has't made you feel as though you've gone back in time, the internet speed will. I felt as though I had just connected to my old dial up modem (minus the screechy noises) each time I got back into my room. I'm sure it's difficult to create a high speed wireless network inside a structure built 700 years ago (I'm told it's one of the oldest hotels in Florence) but it made it almost impossible to book reservations, rail tickets, or write this review.

Room Tip: Our corner room had both north and south views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImHereLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    141
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
210
637
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location, right on the bank of the River Arno and only minutes from all major places of interest in Florence. It was also only a 15 minute walk from the railway station where most of the day tours depart. During our visit the temperature in the city was horrendously hot (35C + high humidity) but the air conditioning in the room was adequate to cope. The room was clean and reasonably spacious for a boutique hotel and the building had character. The only complaint was that the shampoo was not replaced on the second day but after a request to the front desk more was delivered within 10 minutes. The front desk staff was also accommodating when we asked if it was possible to access a computer on our last night so we could obtain our Boarding Passes for our flight the next day. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of delicious offerings at the buffet table and eaten on a balcony patio overlooking the city. It was also delightful to have an after dinner drink on the rooftop terrace. Overall I would say it is an excellent hotel and we would choose it again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband organised a five day stay in Florence for my birthday. Three nights in the Panoramic Suite at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni which includes a private terrace overlooking the Arno and with great views of the PonteVecchio.

The service was excellent with all staff speaking english fluently. The two roof terraces are great to watch the sun set over Florence and breakfast in the morning on the terrace was a thoroughly civilised way to start the day.

The hotel is situated close to all the usual attractions. Despite this, there was very little noise and we slept soundly in a very large and comfortable bed.

Our only small gripe was the lack of tea-making facilities - an essential to start the day.

We would fully recommend this hotel and look forward to returning

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MabelUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Florence with a terrace with a view on the Arno, where you can have breakfast and a drink before diner.
Rooms are ok, good if you can have a view on the Arno.
The building is great

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinzopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Alas only one night this time on this our third visit to Florence. We loved this hotel - the service at reception and on the fantastic roof terrace for pre dinner drinks or breakfast was excellent. We had a lovely spacious room with traditional and cool modern touches, very light and airy. Modern bathroom. Location - couldn't get better right on the North Bank of the Arno by one of the main bridges.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very helpful and professional staff and a decent breakfast. The room we had was great overlooking the river Arno. The roof terrace is excellent providing guests with complementary tea and coffee as well as some fantastic views. Very central too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank deliasmithrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife & I spent 3 nights at this luxury hotel with a lovely view of the Arno River. The lady at reception, Mika, was outstanding. Had arranged transport from & to the hotel for us, tickets to Academia Galleria, driver/guide for a tour in the Tuscany area etc - all arranged via email prior to us arriving in Florence. The other staff were also friendly, helpful and attentive.The location of the hotel is GREAT - short walk to the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza di Santa Maria Novella etc. Breakfast on the terrace with a view of the river & Florence - amazing. We could not really ask for more. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnanasagren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 412 in Florence
1,298 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 412 in Florence
981 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 412 in Florence
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing