We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but not so quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #15 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I am way over due on this review, but still think i should comment. As previous reviews have said, it is a lovely hotel/B&B. We were in Florence for the third time and opted to spluge on this trip for a special anniversary so we paid extra to upgrade to the library room. The room itself is beautiful, the bathroom terrific, shower stall and separate large tub. The views from the terraces upstairs are spectacular. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the honor bar convenient.
However, the room is on the corner of the street next to the Santa Trinita bridge and the traffic noise and street noise from the bars on that street was very loud. We were there on the May 1st holiday week-end and I know that is a problem, but we stayed until May 5th and it was still not very quiet. Then the street cleaners and delivery trucks started up very early in the mornings. So if you need quiet to sleep, be aware, and maybe ask for a room away from that corner.
Lastly, and this is a little petty, but I had mentioned in my correspondense with the hotel that we were celebrating a special anniversary when I upgraded to the library room and no mention was made of it by any of the staff. That little extra would have been very nice, even just a "Happy Anniversary" greeting.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank descantsopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August. The hotel is perfectly located for all the sights (all walkable) and is also an easy 10-15 min walk from the train station.

We booked a basic room and were more than happy with it, it was clean, a good size and with a view.

The two terraces are absolutely breathtaking. One side with views over the river and the other the city. Both with plenty of seating for a drink during the day or during the evening (an honesty bar system operates during the day which is great) and staffed during the evening.

I had when booking mentioned it was my husbands birthday while we were there and they remembered and presented him with a lovely fruit cake that morning and gave us some sparkling wine which was a lovely touch. They also booked a couple of restaurants for us, with great tables. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definiately go back and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallybond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed here with our seven year old daughter. Our room was very tastefully decorated and well-maintained. Our daughter had her own little niche bed with a television and her own bathroom. The views from the rooftop terrace were fabulous, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We could walk to virtually everything, and the hotel itself is on the most chic shopping street in the city. This is really a nice hotel, and a good value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

What a find!! Your previous reviews of this marvelous hotel are the reason we booked our five night stay in June of 2009. It is everything and more! Our lovely room, Room 503, had a small terrace with views of the Duomo and central Florence. It was clean, beautifully appointed, and had an inlaid marble floor in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. They booked our dinner reservations, and even gave us directions to the nearest laundry.
The most magnificent things about this hotel, besides being next to the beautiful Arno River, and being an historic 13th century building, were the magnificent views from the two terraces on the fifth and sixth floors. They give you a magnificent panoramic view of Florence. A wonderful buffet breakfast was served each morning on their spacious fifth floor terrace with views of the Duomo and central Florence. The upper sixth floor terrace view allowed us spectacular views of the Arno River in both directions, including the Ponte Vecchio. Both terraces were beautiful tranquil settings with plenty of seating and lovely fragrant jasmine plants, which added to the ambiance. Breakfast on their terrace was truly the most thrilling way to begin a morning, and sitting there in the evening with all of Florence below you, was a perfect way to end the day. Their honor bar on the fifth floor terrace was also a nice touch for those who were interested. This was truly a spectacular hotel, which we will book again the next time we're in Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melpatrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Our family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights in Late July/Early August. This was a fantastic hotel, I would not bother looking for another hotel if I ever return to Florence. The roof-top terraces are amazing, the service is great, the rooms were fantastic, the location of the hotel is perfect and the breakfast was awesome. We stayed in room 107 [5th. floor] which has it's own private balcony over-lookng the Santa Trinita bridge and the River Arno, no better view in Florence. This Hotel Rocks!
MontDaddy

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to Florence. It was a great find - the location is right in the center of things, but you can close the door, turn on the a/c, and completely forget you're in the middle of a big city! We stayed in room 503 - it has a huge terrace, with an amazing view of the Duomo. The room was a nice size, and there is free wireless internet access. The bathroom was small, but not uncomfortably so. We were so comfortable here - after schlepping around Florence all day, in the heat of August, it was wonderful to come home, lay down on the cool sheets, and shut out the hustle and bustle of the city.

As mentioned in many other reviews, the terrace is amazing. The views were gorgeous. Breakfast is served on the terrace, and is a typical continental type breakfast, with a few hot items.

Overall, a great place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CStoneTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Fantastic hotel, very attentive staff, exceptional views from both the rooms balcony, and the hotels roof top bar. Luxurious room, exceptionally comfortable beds.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank DavidCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,916 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#4 of 411 in Florence
647 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,339 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 411 in Florence
3,575 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#9 of 411 in Florence
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £169 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing