We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Florence experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #15 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 November 2010

From the moment we arrived at the imposing entrance on one of Florence's most fashionable streets, we knew we had made the right decision. Desk staff was warm and welcoming. Our room had a wonderful triple-sheeted bed with crisp linens. The marble bath was sumptuous and scrupulously clean, and the towels huge. Everything we wanted to see was just a short stroll away.

The breakfast buffet included several kinds of juice, fresh fruit, yogurts, eggs, bacon,pastries...all of superb quality--and served in a setting that could not be improved--every table has a spectacular view of the Duomo and city.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni helped to make our short stay in Florence special. From this location, we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. The rooftop garden was a wonderful treat, we enjoyed cocktails, a delicious breakfast and the stunning views. The staff made us feel very welcome and had our reservations to the Uffizi and The Accademia perfectly arranged. They helped us with directions and personally showed us to our rooms. Unfortunately the restaurant recommendation was not to our liking, but we told a manager at the hotel and I think that they were truly sorry. This would be our favorite location to stay when we return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukla2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This was the first stop for my wife and I on our honeymoon and they treated us like royalty. They gave us a tour around the hotel and we were amazed at the rooftop patios they had. The rooms were very beautiful and unique and close to everything in central Florence. The staff went out of their way to help us out, making reservations for us, storing luggage for weeks (at no charge) and even buying some fragrances for my wife while we were traveling around other parts of Italy. I can't say enough good things about our experience there...we'll certainly stay with them the next time we are in Florence!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inquisitivemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and LOVED it. The staff could not be any friendlier, the location is perfect and the roof.....Oh My God!!! What a view. If you're looking for huge lobby and amenities then this is not your place...but...If you love service, great rooms and a nice place to stay with incredible value then this is the place. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Florence and we WILL be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Florence and were very happy we choose the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and welcoming. The hotel was clean, well appointed and in a perfect location! Florence is wonderful and this hotel made our stay even better. The terrace was amazing and we enjoyed the view of Florence while we shared a bottle of their wonderful wine! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren3RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

After reading all the great reviews I was disappointed in my room and the hotel in general. I booked a deluxe and it looked nothing like the web site pictures. When I questioned it I got nowhere. The best thing here is breakfast and service. I had a tiny table in my room smaller then a laptop with two tiny chairs. That's it. It did have a terrace overlooking the street. I just expected a larger room that looked more like the pictures otherwise I would have booked a classic.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csordas95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I just don't have the words to express how thoroughly happy I was with the three days we spent at the Antica Torre - we actually considered canceling two subsequent days in Rome to stay here longer.

We had the 'Panoramic Suite' - a bit pricey, but a great, great value and absolutely worth it. Honestly, the best hotel room I have ever stayed in in my life.

From: the private terrace with beautiful view of the Arno river, to the huge size of the suite, the huge comfortable bed, the LARGE screen (maybe 50"+) flat screen TV with SKY channels, to the marbled bathroom (with large tub!) with 2nd terrace, and to my favorite aspect - the wonderfully comfortable day bed with small window - I actually slept here one night, it was so delightful!

All of the staff were kind, friendly, and extremely helpful. Easily the best staff of any hotel we stayed at during our Venice/Florence/Rome vacation.

The hotel's common rooftop terrace truly does have the most spectacular views over Florence. Sitting in the morning with breakfast viewing the the dome of the Duomo is simply breathtaking.

Note: if you are sensitive to noise and have a room that overlooks the river, you will hear street traffic. However, it dies down after about 11pm. You can either close window(s) until then or use ear plugs for a quiet night's sleep.

Again, the Antica Torre is an absolutely fabulous hotel and if you can afford it, book the Panoramic Suite - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimMA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#6 of 409 in Florence
634 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 409 in Florence
1,017 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £169 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing