We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next time i´ll choose it again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lombardi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lombardi Hotel
Ranked #202 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Portimao, Portugal
1 review
“Next time i´ll choose it again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

A nice hotel,well located(near train station and in the center of Firenze).The price was acceptable, and the staff very helpfull. the breakfast was very good.Much more variety and quality than a 4 star we stayed in Venice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    110
    61
    6
    6
See reviews for
45
109
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Lombardi Hotel is located in the heart of the city and is just 5-10 minutes walk from the train station. Hotel staff is friendly and nice but the facilities are just basic. Breakfast is basic as well. I think 100 euro per night is a little bit pricy with this basic facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiuJiuAmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel was booked due to its easy location from the main train station Santa Maria Novella. Its also an easy walking distance to the main shopping areas and churches, museums, etc. The cost was very good, via Agoda, at 90 euros a night, inc breakfast. We were there in Jan.

Staff were always friendly and helpful. Thats a real plus for Italy! Certainly very happy there.

The hotel itself is deceptive. It only occupies one floor of the building you see in the photos, not the whole building. After staying in modernist type hotels, I thought that old and rustic would make a change. The Lombardi does not disappoint. It IS old and rustic but in a nice way. Takes a while to get used to the room and odours of age but it does grow on you and just put it down to the overall experience....starting from the old metal and wood elevator to the narrow hallways and then the bedroom.

Fear not, all facilities worked fine in the room and the bathroom is modernly equipped although on the squeezy side for my 183cm frame. On a slightly disappointing note, the TV, with numerous channels did not have a single English channel.

The wifi for the room is not free and requires a docket from the Front Desk for access. However, my laptop found another hotel's free wifi and I was able to connect to that instead, hence, internet access obtained.

The complimentary breakfast was fine and is the usual continental style setup, but with espresso coffee freshly made by the staff stationed at the breakfast bar.

The main gripe is that the road outside is used as a bus terminal and it gets busy from about 6.15am. You may need earplugs to sleep beyond that time. Still,it made sure that we never missed breakfast!

Apart from that, as already mentioned, the place does grow on you and we had a reasonably pleasant 3 nights there. For the money paid, it was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook Via Fiume, the street that the hotel is on. Buses use the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawrenceGuanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed mid November for 3 nights. We booked on the reviews from trip advisor. Totally great location, could walk to all the attractions and a 2 minute walk from the station in a safe area. Great restaurants located nearby. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were exceptional! Nothing was too much trouble and offered before being asked ie when we arrived we were asked f we needed any help with suggested itineraries, and more than happy to print my train reservation ticket. Would absolutely stay there again. Ps loved Florence!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennytme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I want to say thank you for people wrote review here. I based your review to book this hotel.
The hotel is just as you said, very nice, great location.
location is about 5 minutes to Florence S.M.N train station.
This location is walk distance to Uffizi gallery and other tourist spots.

The room is tasteful, clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and responsive. The bath room is very elegant.

The breakfast is very good (crossant, yougurt), staff made cappucino for you in the breakfast room.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acmecai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel is perfectly placed close to the center of Firenze. You can do everything by walk from this place, and in addition you can easily plan to go to Sienna or Pisa, thanks to the close distance of the train and bus station (200 meters, but still far enough to avoid any noise disturbance).

The room is Ok, not super luxury but the comfort is good enough.

But the best thing is the staff, easily of the the kindest and ready to help I ever met in several years of traveling. Just a few examples about this. 1) I had to share the room and receive a separate invoice, which involved some complicate calculation that usually annoys any hotel staff. Here, no problem at all, not even the slightest sign of annoyance for this request, which was easily handled in 2 minutes. 2) I received hand-made Italian expresso every morning, and was proposed each I finished it another one (without being asked for any extra, of course). Similarly, while working at the hotel, I have been proposed some fresh expresso, never being asked anything in return. 3) I have ever seen some friends being proposed to print their boarding pass on the Hotel computer. 4) Finally, we have received wise advises for sight-seeing, and some as well for transportation. The staff also called us a taxi.
These are maybe details, but this is just to report the staff was doing it being it is the way they tread their customers, without begging for tip (like I sometimes fell in the US).

To conclude, this hotel has contributed to the very positive impression I got from Firenze. I will definitely not go to another hotel if I once have to get back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had such a positive experience in beautiful Firenze partly because this hotel is so well located to both the train station (for numerous trips into the Tuscan countryside) and the glorious streets that unfold in all directions to reveal the living breathing historic hub of activity that Florence offers its visitors. Clean and cool with high ceilings and a comfortable bed. Excellent value, friendly staff :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#185 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#277 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#176 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#288 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombardi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombardi Hotel

Property: Lombardi Hotel
Address: Via Fiume 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#139 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lombardi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lombardi is located into an ancient and elegant palace of Florence, in one quiet road, one block away from Central Station of Santa Maria Novella, Fortezza Da Basso and only 10 minutes walking from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lombardi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing