We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old hotel with great location & a bargain price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Giovanni
Ranked #245 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An old hotel with great location & a bargain price”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is an old hotel; but nicely situated in the main attraction, The Duomo. The first I did when I arrive (11.30PM) was to open the window and I could see the magnificent Duomo with all the bustle hustle around. Remember that this is an old hotel so the lift is small, and narrow stairs.The room itself is clean & spacious. Old interior, no aircon, but hey, price is also a bargain comapred to other hotel so I couldnt ask for more. The staffs of Sav Giovanni is also very helpfull & informative, who's very proud of their city and would kile to see their guess to see all the top higlight in Florence. This is a bargain place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    92
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
112
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I am a firm believer that you get what you pay for. Many reviews that I read about Hotel San Giovanni complained about the stairs and the smallest lift in the universe without mentioning that this as a budget Hotel.

It was clean, the room we stayed in was huge and you couldn't get closer to the Duomo and the vibey square even if you tried at this price. The bathroom was in the corridor down the hall but you have exclusive use of it, there is not aircon in the room but you would in any case want to open the windows to look at the view. There was free WiFi and the owner Umberto Zanobetti was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

As you can see, location of this hotel couldn't be better really.

After reading reviews and looking at photos I had hoped that we would get lucky and get a room with a view. Silly of me really. Our room faced inwards away from the street and the only view was of walls and windows of the building behind us. Our room was also very small, just enough room to get around the queensize bed, a wardrobe in the corner and a small table and chair. We also had a very small ensuite bathroom which was clean enough. The small room and bathroom without a view was fine though, the location makes up for this. A minor annoyance was that the bed was a 'split' and would separate, resulting in me slowly slipping away down the middle of the bed if I was to venture from my side - amusing for my boyfriend at first, but a pain after a few nights sans cuddles.

Do note - reception here is closed between 1pm and 5pm! I failed massively by not reading our reservation detailed properly before arrival and neglecting to call ahead. We arrived at 1.15pm, with luggage and couldn't check in - stupid of me I know, but then I wouldn't ever expect a hotel reception to close during those hours. We survived by parking ourselves (and our luggage) at an outside table of a restaurant around the corner and proceeded to spend our first afternoon in Florence relaxing in the sun, eating copious amounts and drinking expensive red wine for three hours until we could check-in, could have been worse!

Stay here for the price and location only.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Hotel San Giovanni for three nights. Our room was spacious and clean and all our needs were catered for.We had room 8, with bathroom facilities, and rooms were available with shared bathrooms as well. The location was very central, directly on the corner of the Duomo Square, we had views of the dome from our window. We could walk to most of Florence's attractions as well as the train station.
A lift was available to transport our luggage upstairs and the central lounge was available at all times for free Wi Fi access.
Umberto and the staff were very helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay in Florence at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose room 8 even as a couple as there is plenty of space as well as a double and single bed. The v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 655BeateM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

can't beat this one for location but it is the tiniest place you'll ever stay -even the lift is tiny (and scarey!!) You are hard pushed to get into the lift with your suitcase too! It's difficult to find floor space to put your suitcase and the tiny window overlooks plumbing of neighbouring dwellings. (So many adds say 'some rooms have view of... -none of ours did!!) Bathroom is tiny and not too clean with hardly space to sit on toilet facing right way. Drainage was poor. The entrance was difficult to find -all a bit obscure BUT the welcome was lovely and staff were helpful. This is cheap, but breakfast is not provided. Location is a winner but you sacrifice a bit for it.

Room Tip: Ask if your room will have a view of the Duomo. If they say no, move on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

With the Baptistry right outside our window, the location can't be beat. Every morning and evening you see the Duomo, so you feel like you are really in the heart of Florence, which you are! The wifi did not reach to our room, just outside of it, so hanging out with other iPhone/laptop users in the lobby is a plus/minus depending on the situation. Umberto was very friendly and helpful, meeting us late at night. Punching in door codes at the gate also helps you feel like a city resident. The baths were cleaned every morning, but I still felt the need to wear shower slippers as the drains were not very good. Being able to get out into the Duomo before tourists and hawkers arrived in the morning, however, was simply priceless. You really felt like you had the whole piazza to yourself for a precious hour or two. Being able to attend the 7:30 am Mass was simply awesome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flash4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel is definitely no frills, but it was perfect for what we were after: it is located right on the main piazza, our room had a view of the duomo and it was very cheap to stay here.
Our bedroom was very clean, but the shared bathrooms weren't great. The drainage system was poor and the shower water would always flood all over the floor.
We were given free maps on arrival and the foyer contained lots of brochures about things to do and see.
Our room didn't have air-conditioning, but it did have a fan and really big windows to let the air in, so the heat wasn't too uncomfortable (despite being August).
I would recommend this place for people on a tight budget who want to stay in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the duomo!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 421 in Florence
481 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#152 of 421 in Florence
449 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#130 of 421 in Florence
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#129 of 421 in Florence
290 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#263 of 421 in Florence
436 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#114 of 421 in Florence
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Property: Hotel San Giovanni
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#144 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Giovanni 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giovanni is a characteristic old worldly Florentine pensione. It is located in the heart of Florence's historical center right on the corner of Piazza San Giovanni (the cathedral square). This superb location means all of city museums, galleries and other tourist attractions are within a short walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is located in two medieval tower buildings that in the 16th century became the bishops private residence. Today it is still possible to see in some of the rooms the original frescos. You will enjoy the amazing view from your window of one the world's most beautiful piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing