We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the Atmosphere of Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Giovanni
Ranked #245 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Right in the Atmosphere of Florence”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a very great place to stay for our first time to Italy. Our room had a wonderful view of the Duomo! The location was perfect for all of our needs. We could easily drop off purchases we made during the day so we didn't have to carry them around to all the sites. Umberto is very nice and polite. He worked great with us on our arrival time and had our bags taken up to our room for us. He also gave WONDERFUL suggestions on where to eat and they were all fantastic. He was a great resource. This place was a great location and great place to crash for a few nights. Right in the middle of all the action.
The only downside to staying right in the hustle and bustle of Florence is the noise. Florence doesn't shut down until around 3 AM right around the main piazzas. We didn't sleep too well due to the fact of the busy street. Our neighbors were pretty loud when they would come in for the night too.
Bedrooms were great. All that you really need. Nothing fancy, but who cares when you're out sightseeing all day. Bathrooms were great. There were four to choose from so there wasn't ever a wait.
Over all it was a wonderful stay and we would recommend it to anyone who wants to be involved with the city life.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatSinging10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    92
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
112
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

my friend and i arrived very late into florence by train. we thought the streets won't be safe and the hotel would be quite far plus we had luggage so we took a cab...for less than 10mins we were there! (so when we left the hotel we just walked to the station & saved heaps of $ from another can ride!!)

entrance not obvious even though the hotel is right diagonally across from The Duomo! there wasn't a hotel sign so be sure to note the building no...and that the entrance is a black gate. Just press the buzzer and someone unlocks the gate...note it's a really old building & the elevator is manually operated...& tiny!!! My friend and I had to go up the elevator separately with our luggage

we were exhausted being close to midnight by the time we checked in...so glad the gentleman at the reception waited especially for us to check in and with a very warm (charming) smile. he ensure we know where things are in the room, to lock our doors & whenever we need someone not to hesitate to pop over to reception.

our room was of decent size with a single king size bed..the bathroom was tiny though and you can only turn left or right in the shower! the floors were rather squeaky...we had no view (faced the inner court of the hotel) but we did get some decent breeze which we were really thankful for since there's no a/c! nevertheless, the place was clean even though it was old

there's only wifi in the 'lounge' room (just a place to sit on sofas)..our room was closest to the lounge room which is on the opp end of the reception so we got free wifi in our room!

being close to The Duomo means hearing church bells ring in the morning. . . but my friend and i didn't mind it so much since the fact we were pretty much walking distance to most attractions! florence is not big and spread out like rome & we were fine to walk from one attraction to another with stops in between for food/ drinks...we loved the fact The Duomo is at our doorstep- you don't usually get to admire a great attraction everyday on a holiday!

we were concerned we would have trouble checking in at our Venice hotel as we would be arriving late again...we asked to borrow the reception phone to call Venice and we understand we had to pay to call outside florence...but we couldn't get through and when we did the receptionist at our Venice hotel didn't speak good english and cut us off! thank goodness another gentleman at this hotel understood our trouble and helped us call the Venice hotel and spoke to them on our behalf...without charging us again!

so even though the hotel was old, bit bland, with a tiny lift and nothing more...the service and cosy italian vibe that came through really made up for it...was def good enough for a budget stay in florence!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizYing2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is an old hotel; but nicely situated in the main attraction, The Duomo. The first I did when I arrive (11.30PM) was to open the window and I could see the magnificent Duomo with all the bustle hustle around. Remember that this is an old hotel so the lift is small, and narrow stairs.The room itself is clean & spacious. Old interior, no aircon, but hey, price is also a bargain comapred to other hotel so I couldnt ask for more. The staffs of Sav Giovanni is also very helpfull & informative, who's very proud of their city and would kile to see their guess to see all the top higlight in Florence. This is a bargain place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I am a firm believer that you get what you pay for. Many reviews that I read about Hotel San Giovanni complained about the stairs and the smallest lift in the universe without mentioning that this as a budget Hotel.

It was clean, the room we stayed in was huge and you couldn't get closer to the Duomo and the vibey square even if you tried at this price. The bathroom was in the corridor down the hall but you have exclusive use of it, there is not aircon in the room but you would in any case want to open the windows to look at the view. There was free WiFi and the owner Umberto Zanobetti was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

As you can see, location of this hotel couldn't be better really.

After reading reviews and looking at photos I had hoped that we would get lucky and get a room with a view. Silly of me really. Our room faced inwards away from the street and the only view was of walls and windows of the building behind us. Our room was also very small, just enough room to get around the queensize bed, a wardrobe in the corner and a small table and chair. We also had a very small ensuite bathroom which was clean enough. The small room and bathroom without a view was fine though, the location makes up for this. A minor annoyance was that the bed was a 'split' and would separate, resulting in me slowly slipping away down the middle of the bed if I was to venture from my side - amusing for my boyfriend at first, but a pain after a few nights sans cuddles.

Do note - reception here is closed between 1pm and 5pm! I failed massively by not reading our reservation detailed properly before arrival and neglecting to call ahead. We arrived at 1.15pm, with luggage and couldn't check in - stupid of me I know, but then I wouldn't ever expect a hotel reception to close during those hours. We survived by parking ourselves (and our luggage) at an outside table of a restaurant around the corner and proceeded to spend our first afternoon in Florence relaxing in the sun, eating copious amounts and drinking expensive red wine for three hours until we could check-in, could have been worse!

Stay here for the price and location only.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Hotel San Giovanni for three nights. Our room was spacious and clean and all our needs were catered for.We had room 8, with bathroom facilities, and rooms were available with shared bathrooms as well. The location was very central, directly on the corner of the Duomo Square, we had views of the dome from our window. We could walk to most of Florence's attractions as well as the train station.
A lift was available to transport our luggage upstairs and the central lounge was available at all times for free Wi Fi access.
Umberto and the staff were very helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay in Florence at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose room 8 even as a couple as there is plenty of space as well as a double and single bed. The v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 655BeateM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

can't beat this one for location but it is the tiniest place you'll ever stay -even the lift is tiny (and scarey!!) You are hard pushed to get into the lift with your suitcase too! It's difficult to find floor space to put your suitcase and the tiny window overlooks plumbing of neighbouring dwellings. (So many adds say 'some rooms have view of... -none of ours did!!) Bathroom is tiny and not too clean with hardly space to sit on toilet facing right way. Drainage was poor. The entrance was difficult to find -all a bit obscure BUT the welcome was lovely and staff were helpful. This is cheap, but breakfast is not provided. Location is a winner but you sacrifice a bit for it.

Room Tip: Ask if your room will have a view of the Duomo. If they say no, move on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 421 in Florence
481 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#152 of 421 in Florence
449 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#130 of 421 in Florence
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#129 of 421 in Florence
290 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#263 of 421 in Florence
436 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#114 of 421 in Florence
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Property: Hotel San Giovanni
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#144 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Giovanni 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giovanni is a characteristic old worldly Florentine pensione. It is located in the heart of Florence's historical center right on the corner of Piazza San Giovanni (the cathedral square). This superb location means all of city museums, galleries and other tourist attractions are within a short walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is located in two medieval tower buildings that in the 16th century became the bishops private residence. Today it is still possible to see in some of the rooms the original frescos. You will enjoy the amazing view from your window of one the world's most beautiful piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing