We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and affordable stay steps away from the Duomo”
Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Giovanni
Ranked #249 of 421 Hotels in Florence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple, clean and affordable stay steps away from the Duomo”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel provided great value at the time of our stay (Easter weekend). For 75 Euros a night, it provided simple, clean accomodations within walking distance of the train station, and just steps from the Duomo. The bathrooms are located outside the bedrooms, and can be either shared or private depending on how much you pay, but were kept clean. Our room's window opened up to a view to the left of the Duomo, and one night there were even performers playing music right below our window (in front of a large crowd in the street below). Although the furniture (all wood) was a bit dated compared to other hotels we stayed at in Venice and Rome, my significant other felt it gave the place character and charm. The only downside was that the free Wifi is only accessible from the lobby, not the room, but that wasn't too inconvenient since we spent most of our stay outside seeing the sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dichou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    92
    35
    9
    11
See reviews for
28
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

stayed here for 2 nights... great location.... 10 minute walk from train station.... simple basic hotel with great view of the Duomo....
hotel itself is quiet hotel with basic room.... our room had 2 beds.... with a private bathroom across from our room..
no service and no receptionist (the guy that manages it is in the hotel for few hours in morning and afternoon)

the only bad part is the wifi... wifi reception is only good in the main front hall of the hotel... does not reach to the rooms....

other than that, the hotel is a simple place to stay with a good price

would defintely stay here again for basic hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

On a trip with three girlfriends, we got a two-bedroom at this hotel and we were more than pleased. Arriving by train, we easily walked to the hotel (very close). The owner is very kind and helped us move our luggage into the room. Best thing about the place is the location! The windows opened out into the main square and it is literally in the middle of all the action. My only complaint (if any) would be that the wifi did not reach our hotel room but it was easily accessible form the main living-room area. Overall, exceptional rating! loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The hotel was just in the middle of Florence, just 10 meters away of Piazza del Duomo. It was not a luxury hotel, it was very simple, but clean and comfortable for a short visit in this city. As in my travels is very important to invest more money on visiting museums, galleries or other attractions, I think it is unnecessary to spend a lot on money on the hotel. This hotel was low cost, and you could enjoy the fact that every place was near.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fjorela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

A group of 4 of us stayed here for 4 nights. We were pleasantly surprised by the setup and absolutely stunned by the gorgeous view overlooking the Duomo and Duomo square. The shared bathrooms were no big deal - 4 full baths made it easy to do what you needed to do when you needed to do it. The only issue was that there were no toiletries in the bathrooms - only some have a soap dispenser for hand washing, and no hand towels or anything to dry your hands...remembering to bring a towel along was not my strong suit :) The staff is very kind, very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and we enjoyed the authenticity of the room and building. It is a short walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station, easily doable while dragging luggage along the sidewalks.

Room Tip: We had a quadruple room which was on the corner so had two sets of windows- one looked directly onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Unless i money suddenly became no object, i would definitely say here again if i returned to Florence. The location is amazing. Right by the Duomo (our room had a view of the Duomo and on the piazza) and a 5 minute walk from the train station, which is great for taking day trips out of Florence. Also, the price was very affordable - generally speaking and in comparison to other places in Florence. We splurged for one of the rooms with the private bathroom, but the common/shared bathrooms were multiple and looked clean. In fact the whole place seemed clean.

Our room was large with high ceilings and a bathroom with a shower. The bed was firm, but i like that. There was an air conditioning unit, but we did not need it. There is free wifi, although the access in our room was spotty; the best access was in the common area. We had limited contact with the owners/managers, but they seemed friendly.
No breakfast or coffee here, but there is an excellent cafe across the street.

If you like to sleep with the window open, there is noise from the street, but it wasn't traffic noise, just the sounds of people and we found that delightful.

I don't really have any complaints. It isn't fancy, but it was affordable, clean, comfortable, and in an amazing location. That's all i need.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our first visit to Florence. The hosteria is located in an old building just off Duomo square, and whilst place seems to be falling apart a bit, it is right smack bang in the centre of town. The gentleman who showed us our room was very friendly and gave us a very long list of things to do. The room was very basic, but had a view of the Duomo! It did not score great in terms of comfort, though, as I sensed the presence of bed bugs halfway through the first night. It was also very noise, and hot, even in September. Nothing that a sleeping pill can't fix, fortunately. If you're on a budget and looking for a great location, San Giovanni is a very good find. Just don't expect the Ritz!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#171 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#265 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#120 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Property: Hotel San Giovanni
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#144 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Giovanni 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giovanni is a characteristic old worldly Florentine pensione. It is located in the heart of Florence's historical center right on the corner of Piazza San Giovanni (the cathedral square). This superb location means all of city museums, galleries and other tourist attractions are within a short walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is located in two medieval tower buildings that in the 16th century became the bishops private residence. Today it is still possible to see in some of the rooms the original frescos. You will enjoy the amazing view from your window of one the world's most beautiful piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing