We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Giovanni
Ranked #249 of 421 Hotels in Florence
usa
1 review
“Terrible, don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Our camera was stolen from our room or the desk when we checked out, we are not sure, but the hotel owner is not helpful and very rude about the whole thing. It's not clean. The bathrooms are disgusting and about the equivalent of a subway. I felt dirty the whole time I was there. The beds are uncomfortable and if you turn the air conditioner on it makes the room smell like a dead animal. Would never wish this hotel on my worst enemy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    92
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
112
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend at the beginning of May 2009 with 2 friends. We are all in our early 20s.
We loved the hotel. Absolutely ideal location, right next to the Duomo, with amazing views from the huge bedroom window.
The bedroom was very large and had two singles and a double bed, although we were only paying for 3 guests.
We had a shared bathroom but our room had a sink which was useful and their were many shower rooms/toilets on the corridor outside our room so never had to wait to use them.
Our room was cleaned/tidied every day. We were also supplied with towels.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Excellent location just next to Florence's famous cathedral!!! Beautiful rooms, nicely decorated, very clean and spacious. We didn't have our own bathroom but there were 5 in the corridor so there was always one unoccupied. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this accommodation and come back any time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeledgrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

My boyfriend and I booked a double room with private bathroom at Hotel San Giovanni for 4 nights. Good points first, location location location. Practically step out the door and you're at the Florence Dome plus just 5 minutes walk from the central train station. Everything is easily accessible by foot from here. I booked this hotel even after reading reviews as it was reasonably cheap and so close to the dome. We arrived to discover VERY dated decor, almost antique and perhaps a slightly musty smell in the room. At first glance the bathroom seemed ok but after closer inspection we were slightly mortified to find 2 disgusting used soaps on the floor of the shower (in plain view, the cleaner could not have missed them) along with numerous hairs and gross scum and mould all over the shower and curtain. We were rather amazed to discover that the rooms are 'cleaned' every day...perhaps our definition of cleaning is different to theirs? We defintately were not expecting 5 star however we were really disappointed with the state of the bathroom. The shared bathooms appeared to be in better condition. This hotel is more like hostel quality and therefore in my opinion overpriced.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — gross shower
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyM_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. While we were staying at the dependance, the main hotel building is right next to the duomo.
Our room was a cheerful pink and although the loo was a bit small, it was very clean. The breakfast was lovely and is served in your room, if you want. The staff is charming and lovely. I would stay there everytime.

  • Liked — location, breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

The San Giovanni was a great find in Florence. It was right in the center of everything, yet very reasonably priced. As mentioned in other reviews, this is a no frills hotel. No tv, no bathroom in the rooms. There was a small lift...for 2 people or for 1 person with luggage. The hotel was very secure. During the day, you needed a key for the main gate / door outside and another key for your room. In the evening, you needed the main gate / door, the key to the door to the actual hotel, and then to your room.

Our room was huge, we had room #3, 1 double bed and 2 singles. There was a small table, fan, and a sink in the room. There were four bathrooms on the floor, for about eight or nine rooms total. We never had any issues with having to wait for bathrooms. Also, surprisingly, we never ran out of hot water. The bathrooms were also very clean...however, like much else in the hotel, they are also not brand new. Please expect this.

The hotel provided you with a large but thin bath towel and a smaller hand towel that was more like a cloth napkin that you would get at a restaurant. You are provided with soap and shampoo. Some of the bathrooms did not have soap in them, so it was nice that they provided that.

We had to ask the front desk several different questions and they were always extremely helpful. We checked in early and checked out late and had no problems with this.

  • Liked — The proximity to everything in the city
  • Disliked — The bell tower that rang promptly @ 7 am. But, we never had to set an alarm...
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClumsyIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

Hotel San Giovanni was a great location at a great price. As other hotels said, this is a no-frills place. Breakfast is not included, but that is not a big deal because there are plenty of shops around. And of course, since you are in Florence, you aren't staying in your room much anyway!

The view from our room was fabulous - you could see the Duomo! The ceiling was high which made the room feel large and airy. Our bathroom was across the hall but we had a sink in our room. Three of us (twenty-something girls) stayed in one room and there was plenty of room for our stuff and even a small table. The sheets were clean - our only complaint would be the quality of the towels provided. I'd bring my own in the future.

Everything in Florence is in walking distance from the hotel, including lots of restaurants. There is no internet access here, but there are many internet cafes close to the hotel as well.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lallamarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#135 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#139 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#262 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Property: Hotel San Giovanni
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#144 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Giovanni 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giovanni is a characteristic old worldly Florentine pensione. It is located in the heart of Florence's historical center right on the corner of Piazza San Giovanni (the cathedral square). This superb location means all of city museums, galleries and other tourist attractions are within a short walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is located in two medieval tower buildings that in the 16th century became the bishops private residence. Today it is still possible to see in some of the rooms the original frescos. You will enjoy the amazing view from your window of one the world's most beautiful piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing