We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended ”
Review of Hotel Spagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spagna
Ranked #353 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Small rooms we could only open the door just enough to get our luggage in. No lift and it was 4 flights of stairs. Reception not helpful, not friendly. The air conditioning in the room didn't work and it was unbearable to be in the room. Finally got it working and wasn't much better. Location good but that's it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank May9514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We paid about £40 a night so we weren't expecting much. We knew that there was no lift and we were glad we were only on the first floor. I think there are three floors.
Reception staff were nice enough but there was no offer to help with our bags. We were fit enough so no big deal.
Room was a bit dark and the bathroom was small but fir v what we paid it was fine.
Breakfast was in a hotel a few doors down the road. Can't comment on it as we didn't bother. We had a fridge in the room and we had brought our travel kettle so we didn't bother.
Nice restaurant right next door. .. Great pasta.
Hotel is easy to find in a good location but the absence of a lift would put me off going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerIndependent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sisi599
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very small rooms, old furniture, problems with the light. Narrow halls and a lot of stairs up and down make it difficult to come there with luggage. To spend a night it is ok, but we would not recommend to stay there for a longer period. If you have time and money, try to find something else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna_Radyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a close location then it is ok.. Not ideal for older people or those whom can't walk stairs. We were on the third floor and there is no lift.
The room is a good size and beds a clean but it had a musty smell and the shower had mould growing in it! Had to ask for toilet paper 2 days in a row...
Reception staff aren't that friendly apart from one that checked us in.
There is no breakfast facilities but if you do want breakfast it is in another hotel down the street...? That is what I found strange...
Although it is on the Main Street it is every quiet which was great!
Overall it is ok if your just using the hotel to sleep...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oanh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Although very close to centre, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The staff were not very helpful or friendly. The rooms were basic and not overly comfortable. There is no lift and its quite a trek getting your luggage to your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sars15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location and really easy to find! Two minutes from train station and five minutes from the Duomo! Good choice for breakfast in a nearby hotel! Rooms were very clean, and had everything we needed. We had a balcony, with not much of a view! Wifi was excellent and staff were friendly. Downsides - the stairs are quite steep and there's no lift.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heldamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#269 of 410 in Florence
256 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#278 of 410 in Florence
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#318 of 410 in Florence
328 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#330 of 410 in Florence
243 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#284 of 410 in Florence
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spagna

Address: Via Panzani 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £39 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Spagna 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Via Panzani, next to the train station, and just around the corner from the Duomo, rises a new way to stay the night in the city: Hotel Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing