We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In Florence!”
Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sole
Ranked #176 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April - great location, friendly staff especially Marco and Caroline! Room was clean and bathroom was spacious. Only some noise from the tavern below at night. Walking distance to everywhere!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornToTravel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for using a little of your free time to write an hotel's review. I'm glad that you liked your stay here in Florence, and Marco and Carolina too. We will be very happy to host you again in the future, because Florence is too nice to see it just one time.

Best regards,
Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had a great week in Florence and our stay at this hotel (6 nights) made the experience all the more enjoyable. Perfect location - just a few steps from Piazza Santa Maria Novella, and a lazy 5-minute walk from the Duomo and Piazza della Signoria. The hotel was extremely clean, the room was delicately scented which gave it a luxurious feel and created a cozy atmosphere. The bathroom was amazing, compact space but far from cramped, fantastic shower, daily bio refills of shampoo/ shower gel/ soap. Very good Wi-Fi connectivity in the room.
I would like to compliment the hotel personnel for the exceptional attitude and service provided, we printed last-minute museum reservations at the reception desk, left our luggage in the hotel after check-out and collected it late in the afternoon on our way to the train station.
There is a small bakery shop and a cafe right at the corner of the street which provided freshly baked croissants and pastries and great coffee, a beer & pizza house right next to the hotel was available until late in the evening. A 3-minute walk towards the city center to Via dei Calzaiuoli provides an even greater early morning choice of cafes even as early as 8am.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I just happened to stay at this hotel while back in Florence. There is a laundromat, bar, coffee shop, hardware store, etc all on the same street! The hotel is on the 5th floor but there is a teeny elevator (2 people or 1 with bags) that is new and safe.The hotel room was clean and smelled really fresh (many places you walk into smell like the sewer in Florence). I stayed three nights and on the day of my check out, they allowed my to keep my bags at the hotel until I left for my night train. The rooms can be cold in Italy as heating is very expensive. However, in the larger room, it heated up quickly. The smaller room I stayed in on my last night was cooler, until the wall unit heated up, then it was very warm.
One con- the beds are not very comfortable. BUT in all rooms there were extra pillows and blankets, so I put one on the bed as an added cushion and slept great.
Give it a shot!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Ms. Kayla,
Thank you very much for your good review about our hotel. We’re very glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay here. I understand that not everybody can find our beds comfortable at all, some people prefer them harder and other people softer, we try to compensate it providing additional pillows and blankets. Reading what you’ve written, I think that the problem was solved immediately.

In the future we will be very happy to host you again for your stay in Florence.

Best regards,
Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel reception is on the 3rd floor. It is a long way up without an elevator. The room was perfectly clean and the shower was nice. I had a view of the street below and the bed was comfortable. The reception staff was friendly. credit cards accepted. For the price this cant be beat. Florence is beautiful a must visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelseasly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for the fantastic location and friendly service. Really great value, especially considering the size of the rooms, private bathrooms and cleanliness. Florence is a fairly compact city but this hotel makes getting around very easy; staff are helpful and able to answer all questions. Whilst the hotel does not have a restaurant service there are plenty of great eateries a few steps away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We chose this hotel because it's about a 10 minute walk from Florence's main train station. Florence is fairly compact so the rest of the sights were an easy walk from Hotel Sole as well. Check in was easy and the host was nice, helpful and not overly chatty. The hotel turned out to be clean and a fair size.
Although not a problem for me, the hotel is about 3-4 flights up stairs with an elevator built for one. Wi-fi was included but breakfast is not served. The area is safe and you will have no problem looking and exploring around for great food and meal opportunities.

Room Tip: Get one closer to the front desk for a stronger wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Had a great stay in Florence at this hotel, very close to city center and train station. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were warm and clean. Good value for what you pay. Would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#127 of 410 in Florence
642 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#97 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#198 of 410 in Florence
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 410 in Florence
674 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#222 of 410 in Florence
173 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#120 of 410 in Florence
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Via del Sole 8, 3rd floor, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £33 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sole 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sole, recently re-opened under a new management, is a one-star hotel located in the heart of the historical center of Florence. The hotel is in fact situated on Via del Sole, inside the district of Piazza Santa Maria Novella, in a strategic point to visit on foot all the attractions and cultural and artistic treasures which have made Florence one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. The location of Hotel Sole is simply perfect: it’s at only 300 m from the railway station of Firenze Santa Maria Novella and it allows you to reach by walk the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Pitti, Piazza Santa Croce, Via Tornabuoni, the Accademia Gallery and Boboli Gardens, as well as the new Parco della Musica in Parco delle Cascine. The hotel is also close to the Fortezza da Basso, the major trade fair center of the city, and the Palace of Congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing