We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sole
Ranked #153 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very friendly reception”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a change from sole to diva hotel (partner hotel) the receptionist was very friendly!!! The room was clean but not as pretty as on the pictures from sole (not equal).. Breakfast included till 10am (they started to clean up and close breakfast area at 09:40..) pitty! Thank you anyway for the stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank LFeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    127
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
129
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location is a couple blocks away from central Florence - right by the cathedral and close to ponte vecchio bridge. only downside really is the noise since it is so close to the heart of the city. great restaurants around, free wifi, the workers are so friendly and accommodating. they also have a laundry service which is awesome if you plan on staying there for a while - or there is a laundry mat right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

When we booked in Florence we found it hard to find a decent hotel with good prices. I found this hotel on booking.com and the prices were decent so we booked this hotel.

The hotel is very close to SM Novella station and it is in a very good location. Close to duomo and very nice shops. When we got to the hotel it seemed a bit dodgy, because you have to climb up to the 3rd floor to reach the hotel. We were surprised when we got to our room. Small but clean room, newly renovated bathroom and a comfortable bed. There is a tv and A/C that is very helpful in summer. The staff is friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

This hotel isn't a super fancy hotel, but it has all the basics and it's clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CarliJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff is very helpfull. Good location in the shopping streets. (Even though we would prefer to stay closer to all the great restaurants rather than close to (exclusive) shopping.)
The room is clean.
We are surprised that hotel Sole only have one star!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeleinek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pros: has a lift, relatively inexpensive, clean and cleaned each day, great wi-fi, good location, receptionists are very friendly.
Cons (and quite a lot): budget type hotel, very poor noise cancelation in our room (7), slightly dingy- could use some renovation, mattresses are quite poor, air condition does not function (the story was that the weather in Florence is bipolar so they haven't turned it on yet, yet it was quite humid in the rooms! The customer should always be right).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skierpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Up three flights of stairs in an older building on Via del Sole, this recently renovated hotel has an elevator(!), a very helpful and friendly staff, spotless rooms, excellently functioning bathrooms, and air conditioning that worked perfectly throughout the five days we were in Florence during a heatwave in August 2013. So what the elevator's tiny, there's no parking or breakfast --- you've got a comfortable place to rest in the center of one of the world's great cities --- and at 58.90 euro per night for a double room (from the hotel's website)!

The Sole is in a great location between Santa Maria Novella train station and the major attractions around the Piazza della Signoria. We had coffee and pastries every morning at Caffe Megara a few steps away on the next corner and gelato each evening at Gelateria Lorenzo right there too. We had dinner twice at Birreria, downstairs from the Sole, which serves great beer along with Italian and quasi-Mexican style dishes --- not bad at all. Also, lots of other excellent dinner places right in the neighborhood.

We will definitely stay at the Sole when we next return to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Sole for your stay in Florence and thank you also for your good review about us. Me and all my staff are very glad to know that you appreciated your stay here and we hope that you will consider again our hotel if you want to come back in our gorgeus city!

Best regards,
Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was very happy staying here and to prove it I decided to stay there again next year.
It was central, clean, quiet, good value and with friendly helpful staff.
What more can I say; this hotel suited me down to the ground and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very glad to know that you liked our hotel during your stay in Florence and I'm also very happy that you will come back here next year. Don't hesitate to suggest Hotel Sole to all friends or family members who want to come in Florence in the future.

Thank you very much and see you soon!

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#114 of 421 in Florence
442 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
717 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#263 of 421 in Florence
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#159 of 421 in Florence
678 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#130 of 421 in Florence
644 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 421 in Florence
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Property: Hotel Sole
Address: Via del Sole 8, 3rd floor, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sole 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sole, recently re-opened under a new management, is a one-star hotel located in the heart of the historical center of Florence. The hotel is in fact situated on Via del Sole, inside the district of Piazza Santa Maria Novella, in a strategic point to visit on foot all the attractions and cultural and artistic treasures which have made Florence one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. The location of Hotel Sole is simply perfect: it’s at only 300 m from the railway station of Firenze Santa Maria Novella and it allows you to reach by walk the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Pitti, Piazza Santa Croce, Via Tornabuoni, the Accademia Gallery and Boboli Gardens, as well as the new Parco della Musica in Parco delle Cascine. The hotel is also close to the Fortezza da Basso, the major trade fair center of the city, and the Palace of Congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing