We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good apt,clean but bad views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #33 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a good apt,clean but bad views”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

we got a room facing the back of the hotel so the views werent the best. the room was excellent and we had a large dining area and kitchenette. they welcomed us with some great champagne and snacks on our arrival which we thought was a very nice gesture.location is very convenient. I walked around to what was a tower hotel and thought that was more fascinating if one wants to stay in a place with old world charm.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverhodeisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    322
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
288
793
71
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at the Degli Orfai during a trip to Tuscany with my extended family (myself, wife, 6-year old son, my sister, and both my parents). Great location. It sits right on the Arno and is just a few quick steps to the Ponte Vecchio. Also very close to the Uffizi and the Galileo Museum. We used the hotel as our central base in Florence and we were easily able to walk everywhere we wanted to go – including the Pitti Palace, the Duomo, the Accademia, and Santa Croce.

We took a shuttle to and from the airport (arranged by the hotel’s front desk staff). I would not advise trying to drive to the hotel on your own. If you plan on renting a car for your trip, I recommend the following plan: pick-up the car on the morning you leave Florence (you probably won’t need a car while in Florence). Take a taxi from the hotel to the car rental office and leave Florence directly from the car rental location. It involves an extra luggage transfer, but we found that it was worth the effort.

We found the breakfast buffet more than adequate. The food was tasty, warm, and in plentiful quantities – a good variety of options, as well. We also never had a problem finding seats, even with a relatively large group.

The ladies in our group particularly enjoyed the rooftop terrace. It’s not large, but it is very relaxing with nice views of the Duomo and the Arno. We generally finished-off a busy day of sightseeing with a few drinks and appetizers on the terrace. Good way to regroup and recharge before dinner.

Our rooms were actually larger than most of the hotel rooms we generally see in Europe. But maybe that was just the luck of the draw. They do offer the option of upgrading to one of their apartments if you want to insure more square footage. The staff was pleasant, helpful and informative. We would definitely stay at the Degli Orafi if we ever visit Florence again. In fact, my mother would probably make it a requirement.

Room Tip: Look into an upgrade to one of their apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Old_Trail_Boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I chose this hotel for its location. Literally steps from the Uffizi and the Ponte Vechio. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The buffet breakfast again is standard European fare, juices,scrambled eggs, rolls, etc., that is served in a beautiful room. Now for the not so good. We booked a riverfront room, but the view was partially blocked by a front collonade. Additionally the scooter noise from the front goes on late into the night. But I cannot stay at this hotel again because the mattress was like sleeping on a block on granite. Simply terrible. If they changed their mattresses I would come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HalVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Great hotel - nice location, friendly staff, great b/fast

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankenstein1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This was the first leg of our Italian honeymoon and coming off an eleven hour overnight flight, as soon as we arrived we were ready to immerse ourselves into Florence and we went hard all day, the location is the best-walk to everything....uffizi gallery, ponte vecchio, and all the piazzas etc.
The hotel is clean and small.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2011

It was my second visit of this Orafi hotel. Great location and frendly stafff. Many thing for reservation manager for best room fwith river view or my friends. High-grade breakfast. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Only one thing there is no restorante for dinner. But there is a lot of restorants not soo far from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludmila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is a charming hotel and highly recommended for anyone new to the delights of Florence. Its position is excellent, 100 yards from the Ponte Vecchio and right on the river Arno - although you don't get a clear view of the river.
It is a 10 Euro taxi ride from the main station.
The hotel is 'olde world' in some respects and in others almost boutique-like!
The olde world refers to the quaint air-conditioning system that in summer is - but you have to call down to the reception desk to ask them to turn it on and off, a bit tiresome if you need to do this a few times a day or during the night!
The decor is excellent and the murals on the walls could easily have come from any of the nearby museums. The building is in fact an old convent but you wouldn't know this if you hadn't been told - they have updated the building but without losing very much of its charm.
The buffet breakfast is excellent - but try to avoid the 8/9am rush if you can as seating can be limited.
This was a very useful base for walking to the popular sights of Florence and I would stay there again without doubt - the top floor bar/restaurant offers intriguing views over the rooftops of Florence as you sip a post-art cocktail but these do not come cheap - but where do they in Florence?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCB3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
1,452 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#45 of 421 in Florence
810 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing