We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HATE IT”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #32 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
LOS ANGELES
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HATE IT”
Reviewed 11 July 2008

A really sucky hotel. staffs are not helpfull at all, breakfast sucks. really hard beds. no internet access in your room. only one computer available on their so called business center. this is not a 4 star at all. No 24 hour maid service. lots of mosquitoes. Bad room service.LAZY AND RUDE STAFFS.
good location though

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ASIAN_HONEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    329
    62
    18
    10
See reviews for
302
813
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LuxuryOnABudgetNY
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We stayed at Degli Orafi for three days in June.

I have not had a chance to check the hotel rating system in Italy, but the hotel shows 4-stars in front of the building and on its web site. I usually select 5-star hotels since we usually travel only once or twice a year, but I decided to try Degli Orafi because of the location and I could not find 5-star hotels in top 50 at TripAdvisor for the dates I was looking for while Degli Orafi had great reviews.

The hotel is at Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi was just a minute walk. It is a little bit of a walk to the Duomo especially when it is 85F-90F in June in Florence. As a first time traveller, I was looking at hotels like Grand Hotel and Excelsior, but you have to be ready to walk a lot if you decide to stay there and visit the Duomo, Galleria dell'Accademia, etc.

For a family of three including a teenager, we reserved a triple room, but the room was smallish compared with other rooms at 5-star hotels we stayed in Siena and Venice and had little space left after with the extra bed in place. We switched to an apartment room in the new tower for 100 euro more. The apartment was on a high floor, duplex and was clean and very spacious. However, they must have made some mistake when they built this apartment tower. As some other reviewers mentioned, you can hear the voice and the television from the adjascent apartment so clearly and loudly (you can hear what they are saying though every word) that if your neighbors are talking or watching TV, there is NO WAY you can sleep. The first night we could not sleep until our neighbors stopped talking around 1:30am. I was ready to switch rooms again or check out, but luckily for us, there was no one staying in the next apartment on the second night and the neighbors went to bed early on third night. It looks like apartments numbers like 41 & 51 may not have adjacent apartments, and may not have this problem. You should be very careful if you are interested in reserving an apartment at this hotel. The main bathroom in the apartment also lacked any space to put things on. Finally, the room had ample closets but no chest/drawers.

Water bottles are free, which is nice. Internet is only available at the lobby, which is very inconvenient when you are accustomed to be able to check travel schedule, etc. in your room.

In general, the staff were professional and helpful. However, the concierge could not help with Uffizi reservation saying making a reservation was impossible for the next two days. We decided to stand in line at 8am, and after 45 minutes, we were in. I recommend making a reservation before you come to Florence.

We only went to the bar during the day time, but the view was nice. The libary was also quiet and cozy.

The concierge recommended and booked us restaurants for all three nights. Every restaurant was decent, but Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo was more sophisticated among the three and we really enjoyed the meal there. Ristorante Buca Mario was another one, which was very good but was much bigger, crowded and service was a little slow at times due to big groups. I definitely recommend trying both of them, but especiallay Osvaldo. You cannot easily find the type of Italian food served at these restaurants in NY. Osteria dei Baroncelli was close by, and served basic but decent meal, and the price was much cheaper. The breakfast at the hotel was pretty basic, but the dining room was gorgeous.

Overall, Degli Orafi was a very decent hotel and I think it deserves its 4-star rating, but frankly I would advise against staying in an apartment despite the space.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — noise in the apartment
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryOnABudgetNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

We chose this hotel after spending (too) many hours looking for options. The reason for the stay was a surprise break for my mother's 70th birthday. The whole experience was excellent. Our room was a standard double on the side of the hotel but we asked for, and were given, a complimentary upgrade, for the old lady who got a junior suite overlooking the Arno. There was also complimentary 'champagne' in her room on the day of her birthday.

The reception staff could not have done more to be helpful, although we arranged tours etc. via the booking website. The restaurants they recommended were all very good (but don't bother with the trattoria just up the road - which they did not recommend).

The rooms were clean and comfortable with linen/towels changed daily with similarly regular re-stocking of the minibar. Breakfast was extensive and the breakfast room very impressive.

I travel regularly for business and, while not in the super-luxury bracket, this hotel more than served its purpose and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting comfort and convenience.

Pros: location, location, location.
Cons: lift broke down for a day (but there are two) and the beds are a little firm. The bar has a great view but is quite expensive. Lack of a restaurant can be irritating but the bar does snacks.

But for the price and location, it takes some beating. Do yourself a favour and stay there. You are unlikely to be disappointed unless you are unreasonably demanding, in which case you should pay (a lot) more and stay somewhere else. Any reasonable person will love this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — What's not to like?
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

I stayed here as the third of five hotels in a trip to Italy on honeymoon. It was by far the best hotel experience I have had and it was all in the small things, from the way the staff fussed over us without managing to intrude, to the quality of the rooms the breakfasts, roof bar, the price of drinks, helpfulness of everyone. The room, including its size, was just amazing and was serviced twice a day, once to clean it and second to get it ready fro you at night. The bathroom was four times the size of my previous hotel. The hotel is 75m from the Ponte Vecchio and is on the middle of everything you need to wander and see, literally 100m from everything. The main Piazzas have all manner and prices and the there is street entertainment that gathers huge crowds and is terrific. I loved Florence and the hotel did nothing but enhance every aspect of my stay.

  • Liked — The attention to detail within the hotel.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Had two rooms (familiy of 4) which were across hall from each other. We were on second floor, never heard much noise from other rooms. I'd say this is a 4 star hotel...staff very helpful in getting us cabs to train station (when it was time to leave), tickets to Uffizzi (we were off season, so we weren't worried about availability), dinner reservations. Staff's english very good. The included breakfast in the morning was delicious...cappuccino was suberb, but then again, rarely do you get a bad meal in Italy. There was tons of food and we could linger as long as we wanted at breakfast. Rooms were of normal size, warm (we could regulate the heat), quiet (we did not overlook the Arno which was fine with us) and the place was very clean. Heated towel rack in bathroom, soaps, shampoo, plenty of towels. No bathtub, but we didn't need one. Shower stall small but fine for us. If you are large, the shower will not fit. Size of bathrooms quite different between two rooms, but even smaller one adequate (had just sink, no counter space for toiletries.) Hairdryer in rooms. Carpet in rooms (which was important to me.) Hallways bright and cheery. Doorbells on rooms I think but not sure. Privacy light exists on rooms, so that when you ask to not be disturbed, a red light illuminates outside door. High tech locks with computer card that must be put in slot in room to keep lights on. TV had a few english stations (we were there during Primary season and were eager for election results.) Location perfect...could walk everywhere quickly and easily and not feel overwhelmed by noise (but then again, it was February and compared to summer, city was VERY VERY quiet.) Loved being next door to Uffizzi. I would stay here again absolutely.

  • Liked — Location, and quietness of rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing really was bothersome
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbtmtfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We stayed at degli Orafi for 3 nights. This was our first trip to Florence and thought the location was perfect, between the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizzi. You always knew your way back to the hotel!

We had a spacious two-story room, with a very large and modern bathroom. We didn't like being located on the first floor close to the breakfast room due to the traffic noise, so if possible request a different floor. The breakfast was great though, one of the best we had in Italy, with a very large selection. Also, the breakfast room is beautiful and at one end the tables by the window have a view of the Arno.

The rooftop bar is very nice and the bartenders are extremely friendly, especially Massimo. The concierge staff was helpful with restaurant reservations too. Internet service is limited to the second floor library and you must purchase access time.

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again any time we came back to Florence. We loved Florence in general.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shorerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque NM
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in the middle of April. What can I say? In short "Class Act". We were given a huge room with a view, Room 312. The bed was huge and a matress was just right for us. The bathroom has a twin sink, a large and deep bath tub and a separate room for toilet and bidet. Ammenities were lovely and they gave us new ones every day. The room was just under a private terrace so it was nice and quiet. We were so surprised to find a bottle of champagne waiting in the room. It was a special treat from the management to congratulate us for our 25th anniversary. Also, bottls of water were free and they replenish them every day. When we came back from sight seeing in the evening, we found two sleeping shirts waiting on the bed and the bed was turned in for the night with little cndies and a next day's forecast. This happened every evening. They have comfortable robes and slippers which we enjoyed.
The breakfast room is just beautiful and food is very good.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We highly recommend this hotel to anybody who plans a trip to Florence. We want to go back there just to stay at Degli Orafi.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,485 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,751 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 411 in Florence
859 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing