We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #32 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location immediately adjacent to Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery. It is within a short walking distance of most of the major sites of Firenze. We walked everywhere without needing a taxi or bus. We stayed in room 309 for two nights, which did not have a view but was a good size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fairly large and also spotless. The bed was very comfortable. Considering the hotel is located near the river in the heart of Firenze our room was very quiet- we did not hear any street noise at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in a very beautiful room with frescos on the ceiling and chandeliers. The breakfast offerings are vast- cold cuts, eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, cakes, croissants, etc- all displayed beautifully each morning and the waitstaff very friendly ! The rooftop bar has a beautiful view- we spent an hour there one late evening before we left Florence and it was very relaxing. The bartender was very nice as well. There are a few nice unexpected touches as well- such as two free bottles of water each day (very handy during the hot summer days), two complimentary soft drinks or water bottles at the bar, and on our first night we received t-shirts at turn-down service- a nice souvenir of our stay and a nice surprise. The only drawback was the wifi- we did have trouble connecting and keeping the connection during our stay. Perhaps it related to the location of the room? However, we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curlytop39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this magnificent review of our hotel!
Your beautiful and detailed description will strongly encourage us to uphold and improve our excellence.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable stay at Hotel degli Orafi!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beautiful hotel. Staff is great and excellent location everything you need is close and within walking distance. There is a reading room with a computer and printer on the second floor. Breakfast was good. While the bed was a little hard my stay so far at the hotel has been excellent

Room Tip: My room and traveling companion rooms are all spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Hotel degli Orafi. We're happy to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our perfect location, in the very heart of the historical centre of Florence.
Come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights with my wife and and kids, we had breakfast included. We would highly recommend the hotel, it is very close to all of the major attractions and shopping. It is located on the river.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback. Your wonderful comments regarding the hotel’s location and service is highly appreciated . I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back again, very soon.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a 5 night break at the hotel at the end of June. Location of the hotel is fabulous, right next to the Uffizzi. My husband is in a wheelchair, so we had the 'accessible' room, which worked well. Generally hotel is accessible - there is a stair lift up to the breakfast room, which could be a little slow to get going, but got there in the end! The view from the roof terrace is gorgeous - especially so during a rather spectacular thunder storm, but service could be a little slow. Would recommend for other wheelchair users for both accessibility and location within Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sjs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. It makes us happy knowing that you appreciated our beautiful hotel and that you got som time to admire our beautiful view!
We are also glad to hear that you found our hotel convenient and accessible for your husband
Me and my team hope to be able to welcome you back to us, in a very nearby future

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed from June 27,2014 thru July 1. The hotel exceeded my expectations. We stayed in the Spell Suite located on a quite street.The hotel is like a small museum within itself.The staff were very friendly.Housekeeping rescued me several times with laundering or ironing clothes for me. If one is travelling to Florence I recommend this four star hotel. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colette x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us.
We’re so pleased to hear that you and your daughter had a wonderful stay. We hope you will choose us again for your next family vacation.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We LOVED this hotel, but the only and only one downside was the location of the room . We were on floor one on the river front side, and the road noise and people all night was not acceptable. First night I could not sleep, Then we used earplugs and it was fine. Bed was comfortable, Extremely clean. Beautiful rooftop bar. Breakfast room was gorgeous with a ceiling like the Sistine chapel. Everything excellent, just ask for a room on floor 4 or in the back, so you don't have to hear the street noise. And this is the only reason I give it a 4 star. Otherwise 5!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowayellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you overall loved your stay with us even if you found the street noise too loud. Usually due to our Double glass windows this matter is pretty much solved but you might have encountered a very busy week, due to special events in summertime. As you can read by many other comments a lot of guests appreciate the fact that the hotel is in the very city centre spot but feels very quiet and warm. Hopefully you will give us another chance, we will be waiting for you in Florence!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The one thing you can't fault Degli Orafi is on the location. Located on the Arno, within a walk to the Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi, Duomo, Piazza del Signora while still being removed from the hustle of Firenze. We were however charged an exorbitant amount for a very average room and service. The service was begrudging and the facilities for the price were a bit underwhelming. If you're looking for a basic room - b&b- sure but I could have got that for a fraction of the price but for a four star hotel, this didn't meet my reasonable expectations.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lisel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

It is quite unusual for us to read such a negative and offending review, we are not used to it, normally we get very good ones and high scores, that is the reason why I do not know how to handle it.
I feel very sorry if we did not meet your “reasonable expectations” but I can ensure you that we did try to do it. Maybe, while you were here you did not realize that, you had an upgrading from a standard room to a large Junior suite that has a big bathroom with bathtub, free water in your minibar every day, a sitting area with two windows facing the river Arno and the Ponte Vecchio, all this for free, plus you had a welcome drink that you had in our rooftop bar, free Wifi, maid service until 10 pm, porterage service until 2 am, American breakfast served in a breathtaking room with frescos on the ceiling from 7 am till 11 am and…. do not forget the staff at the front desk that booked the tickets for the museums you requested by mail and you found ready at your arrival, this is not all about location but services .

The only regret I have is that you did not complain while here because we could definitely have done better.
With kind regards

Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,953 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,582 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 410 in Florence
1,723 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £103 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing