We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #32 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights, and loved it. They had a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in our room on ice for us when we arrived with a nice note (it was our anniversary.) The rooftop bar was nice with views of the Arno on one side and the Duomo, other sites on the other. The breakfast buffet was in a beautiful room, and had a very wide selection of breads, cheeses, yogurts, nuts, eggs, meats.... As other reviews have mentioned the location is awesome (next to the Uffizi and Ponte Veccio a couple minute walk the other way.)
A couple reviews mentioned the staff in a negative way. We had a very different experience. We found the staff to be very efficient and helpful. Prior to the trip we asked for a couple suggestions, and they responded within a day. Once there the front desk staff were gracious when we arrived, they setup a day trip for us, they made reservations at a restaurant for us, they gave us directions, they gave us some basic help and advice with some airline issues, called us a cab when needed.... We had fairly straight forward requests, but we always felt they were very willing to assist us, and were friendly and empathetic while helping. The two men at the rooftop bar were also efficient and friendly when engaged (but would remain removed when we wanted to talk to each other.) If we were returning we would absolutely stay here again, and if any friends were traveling we would recommend this hotel with full confidence.

Room Tip: We stumbled into room 208 which has a balcony looking out the back of the hotel. it was fantastic t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank derekm525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us,they are very much appreciated! It is wonderful to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and that you liked our services. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for all of us.
The entire team is looking forward to your next visit to Florence!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Bad service. Great location but not worth the rude people here. Bathroom was awful and front desk personnel are rude. I have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the worst. If you only want location, however, this is the place. But it's not worth it to me and I am a lawyer who has stayed in some pretty nice hotels all over the world. This place is not at all tourist-friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Sir,
I may seem a little bit unapologetic but I honestly find your review unfair and offensive since you do not mention any single reason why our staff has been so rude to you. I would have appreciated if you had given us some explanations instead of assuming they have been rude without giving any idea of what has happened. Our staff is open to any kind of criticism from our clients unless it is fair and honest.
You have only mentioned something about the bathroom and the freezing air conditioning upon check-out to our receptionist threatening a bad review but .....YOU DID NOT SAY OR ASK ANYTHING AT ALL during your stay with us and I feel very sorry for that since we could have done something to avoid your disappointment.
Yours Sincerely,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights recently, and we truly enjoyed its wonderful location, right next to Uffizi Gallery and 5 minutes walk to Piazza della Signoria and Vecchio Palace! When we come out the hotel lobby, you can see the beautiful Vecchio bridge crossing the Arno River and also the view of the river flowing slowly.

The rooms were spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. The buffet breakfast was excellent with most of the food one can expect in a breakfast served at a luxury hotel.

We woudl definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and peers who will visit Florence in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kkamwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review!
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was fantastic and we are more than thrilled that you will come and stay with us again!
We will be waiting for you in Florence

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Though this hotel is located right near the Ponte Vecchio, it's entrance is tucked away so it feels very removed. Rooms are traditional but very clean and quiet. Nice, simple european breakfast, good front desk hotel staff. Easy to navigate Florence to and from this location. There is a rooftop bar that is ok for a quick drink before sunset. Pr

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sbeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel.
We all look forward to seeing you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We're nearing the end of our stay at the Orafi and have enjoyed the visit. The location is hard to beat; steps from the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi. Our room has a soaring maybe 20' high ceiling, a view of the Medici Tower at the nearby Palazzo Vecchio and really good air conditioning. Rooms on the other side of the building can have views of the Arno. The frescoed breakfast room is quite nice and the staff are pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor!
It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Great rooms. Excellent breakfast and unbeatable location just next to Uffizi Gallery.
The service was fantastic. Couldn't ask for more including a bottle of Prosecco on my birthday. A place to recommand if you are in Florence!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ztyszk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay!
It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us on future occasions,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here 2 times now, it is by far the best hotel (we think) in the town. With its great position an chic interior. The desk staff are great with super local knowledge on restaurants, which they directed one to. Top drawer.
Loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tristan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review!
Me and my staff are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again.
We appreciate your warm words about the staff and our hotel and I ensure you that your words are very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for everyone. Thank you!

We all look forward meeting you again, on your next stay!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,925 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,469 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 411 in Florence
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#44 of 411 in Florence
1,594 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,715 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#68 of 411 in Florence
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £113 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing