We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historical,beautiful,ideal location”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #32 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“historical,beautiful,ideal location”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

fantastic city hotel alongside river idealy located for museums,restaurants etc. friendly competent staff,beautiful breakfast room steeped in history. loved everything, especially cocktails and canapes on the roof top terrace

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    330
    62
    18
    10
See reviews for
302
818
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Our nice, 4th floor room in this hotel next door to the Uffizi gallery looked out on the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. There was an air-conditioning problem with that room and management moved us and delivered a bottle of bubbly to make up for it. The desk was very helpful in making restaurant recommendations and reservations. The included breakfast buffet was wonderful. The only negative was the riciculous charges for wireless internet service; 3 euoros for 1/2 hour; 5 for an hour and 10 for 3 hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmegumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My wife and I stayed Degli Orafi in Florence in June 2009. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary by traveling Europe for 25 days. The Degli Orafi in Florence was our first stop. Friendly staff and a bottle of champagne welcomed us upon arrival. The room was very clean, spacious, and we had a great view of the Arno River from our window. The marble bathroom was a great touch also. Breakfast was excellent, and the staff was always friendly and helpful.

The hotel’s location was a stone's throw away from the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Museum. The Orafi is ideally situated for exploring the city on foot. We would highly recommend the Degli Orafi to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We had a great time at the Hotel Degli Orafi! It's such a perfect location! We had booked two standard double rooms but they upgraded our daughters to an apartment of their own. Our traditional standard room was very nice, had a pretty view, vaulted beamed ceiling, and a great bathroom with excellent amenities. Their apartment had two bedrooms with single twin beds in each, two full bathrooms, living room and well equipped kitchen all decorated in a modern IKEA type style. They were very happy to have their own bathrooms. We especially enjoyed the roof top bar as an escape from the crowded streets of Florence. It was great to be able to sit out there with wine and hors d'oeuvres and enjoy the fantastic view of the River Arno and the Duomo. We happened to be celebrating a birthday and the staff sent up a tray with a bottle of champagne to our room. The breakfast room is gorgeous with a large selection of food. The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants, answering questions, etc. We especially enjoyed the Ristorante Buca Mario. We drove to the hotel and they had a service that came to pick up the car at the hotel, stored it, and then returned it when we were ready to leave. Loved the Hotel Degli Orafi and would recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go Travel Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penhook, VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

The Hotel degli Orafi is very clean, has a friendly and helpful staff, an excellent breakfast and is very conviently located to all the attractions of Florence. Our room was very nice, although the shower stall was small and cramped. The one problem is that if you are arriving by car, the hotel is rather tricky to find. We crossed and recrossed the Arno three times in our efforts to find the place, even after asking directions in another hotel. It's on a small side street off the Lungarno and easy to miss. The many one-way streets compound the problem. Once there, however, it's a great place to be.
There is no restaurant (except for breakfast) but there are many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a very nice roof-top terrace and bar. If we return to Florence, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VATraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

As a business traveler for over 15 years I've stayed in my share of hotels around the world. But I have to say that Hotel degli Orafi in Florence gives even the Ritz Paris a run for its money!

To say the location is perfect is an understatement. It is located in what feels like the center of the city- literally steps from Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio, and just around the corner from Piazza della Signoria. This makes it an absolute joy to walk home to every night.

The bathroom was spacious and had unparalleled water pressure as well as a full bath, double sinks and gorgeous modern fixtures. Trust me, this matters; especially when you're doing six-hour walking excursions through the city and surrounding countryside.

Breakfast was excellent and included caviar, meats and cheeses, granola, several flavors of yogurt, full pastry and bread selections as well as fresh juice and fruits. It really seems like they deliberately try to cater to all cultures, diets and tastes. Coffee and teas are all made to order by very efficient and courteous waitstaff.

Every night they left little gifts for us at turndown service as well as information on the weather for the following day. Each afternoon the staff at the front desk would offer suggestions for dinner and make reservations for us- and each time was a real treat. (We definitely felt as though we had the "inside scoop" on restaurants -- and did I mention the food was just wonderful?!)

Oh, and be sure to have a pre-dinner drink with Mossimo on the fifth floor terrace and lounge! He's a riot and we had so much fun drinking wine and taking in the breathtaking views of Il Duomo on one side and Santo Spirito on the other side!

We also stayed at the Grand Hotel Florence during this trip. At almost three times the price, the Grand Hotel represents nowhere NEAR the value that Hotel degli Orafi does. In fact I would rate them equal in service and amenities, though they're very different in terms of "style".

If you're looking for a magic getaway to Italy and Florence is in your plans, don't waste your time looking any further! Book this hotel now and consider paying extra for a river view. You will not be disappointed with this little boutique gem located in the heart of old town Florence.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyer_02111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Degli Orafi for four nights in May. The hotel is perfectly situated between the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio and is in easy walking distance to/from all the main sights. They have a very good breakfast, with both cold and hot foods, and make excellent coffee to order. The staff is exceptionally friendly and took care of all our needs, including reserving advance tickets to museums and arranging for private tours in the surrounding Tuscan country side. A wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DcDCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,521 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,489 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,753 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 411 in Florence
864 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing