We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hotel, not worth the stay!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martelli Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Martelli Hotel
Ranked #304 of 421 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor hotel, not worth the stay!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is definitely not worth staying in. If you are after a short stay in Florence, you can definitely find better value for your money.
The only plus of this hotel is its location, a short stroll from Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station, and right in the centre of the city.
Now for the negatives:
You might be seduced by the vintage look & feel of the pictures from their website, but the rooms are in no way in the condition you would imagine or as advertised. The decor is really dated, the hotel is old and in need of serious renovation (some builders where repairing a hole in the ceiling with plaster in one of the hallways when we checked in).
Our room was allocated on the 3rd floor, and was really noisy (due to the constant traffic). The bathroom had no window, was poorly ventilated and not even a metre wide (see attached picture), and overall very poor. It took at least 15 mins to have some hot water running, with very poor pressure from the shower head. Probably one of the poorest bathrooms I had to use in my life of travels.
The fridge didn't work properly and only had 3 legs(!), and some leftovers of cheese and butter were left inside the fridge, melting. Ten minutes after arriving a maintenance guy came to replace/hang the half net curtain that was on the dressing table and the hairdryer in my partner's parents' room also required repair.
Now to the piece de resistance: the bed!!! The mattress was absolutely a total disgrace, completely curved/sunken in the middle (see the attached picture), and so was the whole bed and frame...resulting in possibly one of the worst night's sleep ever!!!
The next morning I managed to get an "upgrade" after complaining about the poor quality of the bed. I have deliberately used the " as this wasn't really an upgrade, but we were given a top floor (4th floor) room, meaning a bit quieter in terms of traffic. The room was absolutely bland, the bathroom was really poor and not properly cleaned... and to top it off, there were a colony of ants wandering on the bedroom walls. Ashtrays on the terraces were never emptied during our 3 night stay and a half empty coke can remained on the terrace leading to our room throughout our stay.
The wifi is absolutely hopeless in terms of existence (is not free as advertised on their site), slower than a 512K modem, and restricted to one device per account, and only in certain located zones in the hotel.
The breakfast followed the same theme of disappointment, very basic in its quality and variety...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerome L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    150
    180
    82
    91
See reviews for
79
269
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is well located near the train station & centrally to most attractions in Florence. We booked a standard double room-this room was quite old & could do with updating. The included breakfast was quite good. A nice stay but wouldn't rave about it. Laundry facilities would be good in all hotels but few have them. A kettle in the room would have been good too, but this seems standard in Italian hotels not to provide them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lucky we (my son and i) only stayed one night. The traffic noise through the windows was terrible and the hotel was like I was still living in 1950, so old and very unloved. They charged us for the FREE wi-fi but it didn't work, when we mentioned it on the day we left, the lady at the front desk new it didn't work and told us we wouldn't have to pay, how many other people do they rip off. Breakfast was ok, but the man and lady in the breakfast room did nothing but talk loud all the time and couldn't smile to save their lives. Why are hotel staff so miserable!

Room Tip: Don't bother, plenty of other hotels to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Jihlava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Never again. Anywhere else then in the middle of Florence the hotel will get closed. Pictures are great but the reality is different. We have got for three nights dark room, the corridors and entrance hall was smelling like used closet. There is something wrong with the outlet canal tubes. The lady at the breakfast is quite annoying and don´t expect vegetables, even fruits were available only for one morning. We have reserved via easytobook.com.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I couldn't agree more with the previous reviewer.
We booked through Travelrepublic.co.uk and got the smallest room with the most horrible bed I ever stayed in. It was nothing like any of the pictures on the website. The bed was so short, I spent 3 nights with half my legs in the air. The mattress was laid on a shabby metal base and it was slipping all over the place. On the website they advertised free wi-fi but they wanted to charge us €16 for it.
The breakfast is very simple.
Out of the 3 receptionist we met, 2 were grumpy and unhelpful, 1 was very nice.
The location is absolutely perfect, 5 minutes walk from the train station, the cathedral, the central market.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank szatyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Do not book this hotel thru Hotels.com.We booked/paid for 5 nights and were given a room that was like a closet and when asked for more comfortable accommodations were told that's what we get since they have to pay a commission and that we should have booked thru their web site directly. Also they wanted 16 euros per day for wifi which is free thru their web site. Viewing other rooms in the morning while they were being cleaned we were amazed at the difference, most were easily twice the size if not more. They should be ashamed for subjecting us to 5 miserable nights, one night maybe but 5... Couldn't get a refund or we would have gone elsewhere. The front desk and breakfast room staff was not a happy, agreeable bunch either. I lost my wallet while on a day trip to Cinque Terre and actually got assistance at the Hotel Pendini( where I had stayed on a previous visit to Florence and would have again only they were booked up). Their staff could not have been more helpful and compassionate and assisted me even thought I was not currently one of their guests. They are top notch and I highly recommend the Pendini for your stay in Florence.They truely understand the meaning of hospitality. The Martelli wouldn't let me use the computor and wanted several euros to make a collect call to the credit card company.Again shame on them. Sure the location is good, being very close to the train station but so are many others hotels. I could comment on more but you get the picture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Quite good hotel!

1. very close to the train station and to the heart of the city
2. very good breakfast (the best during my stay in Italy)
3. very interesting interior! feels like your in the 17-18th centuries ))

Recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#239 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#221 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#338 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#128 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#283 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martelli Hotel

Property: Martelli Hotel
Address: Via Panzani 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely hotel with great character and warm welcome in the heart of Florence only a few steps away from Duomo and the railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Hotel Martelli is one of the few hotels that retains the typical Renaissance atmosphere of the past. Previously owned by the legendary Medici dynasty, the hotel offers refined ornaments such as frescoes, antique furnishings and accessories that complete the high ceilings, a characteristic of the years of Florence’s splendor. The hotel offers a warm and friendly service, privacy, security as well as a helpful staff that could advise you on the best way to visit this beautiful city. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, heating, desk, telephone, TV sat, minibar and private bathroom with toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Martelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martelli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing