We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kevin & Jane do Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Ranked #196 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel is situated about 3 mins from the river and a maximum of 15 min slow walk (it was 28%+ most of the time) from most major landmarks. It was good value, clean and the staff were fantastic, polite, helpful and knowledgeable about the city, attractions and restaurants. Not sure that the general hotel facilities warranted the 4th* but the location and people made it so for us and plan to return hopefully in October when it's a bit cooler!

Room Tip: Rooms are quite basic, none have baths, just showers and are would seem to be pretty much the same...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo_Ognissanti, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Kevin S,

I think in a few words you have made a perfect summary of Palazzo Ognissanti!

Actually, our structure is located in a superb position a few metres far from the station, near to the main monuments and Congress center, has an impeccable cleanliness and most of all a wonderful staff made up of persons always ready to help and give maximum assistance to our clients.

Thank you so much for your nice comment: we look forward to having you amongst our guests in Ocotber!

Warm regards.

Gianni Andreucci
Resident Manager
Best Western Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location, which, coupled with an amazing staff and very clean rooms makes the stay there very enjoyable. What amazed me the most was the kind way that the crew treated you and wanted to help you in the best way. The breakfast is well served and the food is replaced until the last minute. The rooms are comfortable in size and are also very clean. Totally worth the cost, which isn't very high. If I go back to Florence I already know where to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaelaZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo_Ognissanti, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear RafaelaZM,

it has been so nice to receive such a kind comment about our hotel!

Yes, you're completely right: I agree with you when you say that our charming staff is our main point of strength: actually every day our clerks strive to forward a great experience to all our guests, possibly with a smile on their faces....

Thank you also for the praises to our abundant and varied breakfast, which presents a rich sort of fresh products, and to the room cleanliness.

I wish you can reccommend Palazzo Ognissanti to everyone within your friends and relatives willing to take a trip to our faboulous city and hope to see you again soon in our hotel : it will be a pleasure for us to serve you again.

Warm regards.

Gianni Andreucci
Resident Manager
Best Western Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location; good breakfast but that's about it!!! We did 8 hôtels in our recent trip to Tuscany and that was on the bottom of the list. Rooms need a refresh, hotel need a refresh. The staff was very ordinary. Sorry

Room Tip: Chose a garden side room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCGM-Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo_Ognissanti, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Esteemed SCGM-Martin ,

I would like to thank you for the review left about our structure, especially for the kind praises to our great points of strenght like the location ( close by the central station and the main city monuments like Duomo and Ponte Vecchio) and our high quality, rich Breakfast.

The Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti has its seat in a beautiful XVIIII century palace which has been completely renovated in 2004: ever since that time the maintaining of the building ( rooms and common areas ) has been our great daily commitment , also because we are part of the chain Best Western and therefore we are subject to periodic quality assesments which we have always successfully passed.

Every day we are used to receive dozens of congratulations to our clerks for their cordiality and professionalism : I'm really sorry if you didn't have the same impression.

Best regards

Gianni Andreucci
Resident Manager
Best Western Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff at this hotel could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. The hotel was chosen based on its locality & initially the room booked for us was considered the best in the hotel. Whilst it was certainly a large room with sofas, large bathroom etc, the lack of a view or a window of any substance other than a couple of small skylights was off putting. Especially as there was a possibility Mum may have to spend some time in the hotel as she had recently fractured her foot. The hotel apologised & offered to move us to another room the next day. The alternative room was significantly smaller but a large window more than made up for it.
Mum had ordered a mobility scooter through www.accesibleitaly.com which was to be delivered some time during our first afternoon. The hotel staff let us know they would ensure safe delivery giving us the opportunity to go off sightseeing. When it arrived, they helped Mum get accustomed to the scooter & assured her they would look after it, ensuring it was fully charged ready for our next day.
During our stay, we had a few issues with the scooter & the staff were very helpful, calling the office, talking through the problems & establishing resolutions with the scooter company.
All the staff were very pleasant & spent time helping Mum & I plan routes to our various sightseeing points of interest which would be best navigated safely with the scooter as well making other suggestions. They assisted us with purchasing tickets for the hop on hop off bus, recommending restaurants, suggesting markets to visit etc.

The hotel was clean, with typical European continental breakfast of various cold meats, cheeses, pastries as well as toasting bread, cereals & fresh fruit. It had a small bar area which we did not make use of so cannot comment on the facilities. As the trip was a prize, I am unsure of value for money but would happily choose to stay there again. The location was very good just a few metres from the edge of the river & approx 3 bridges down river from Ponte Vecchio. There are a number of reasonably priced restaurants within close walking proximity.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the view from the room as the biggest room does not have windows at all!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntyWops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo_Ognissanti, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Auntywops,

your review was an authentic pleasure for us all: I have to tell you that receiving your compliments regarding the location (in the city centre near to the station, Duomo and Uffizi), the rich and varied Breakfast and most of all about our welcoming and helpful front desk ladies has been really good. And this is even more satisfactory for us considered that you are a top contributor on this social network!

I'm glad that you and your mother have enjoyed your stay in our wonderful city and in our hotel: I wish that you will return in the near future and choose Palazzo Ognissanti again to stay, giving us the opportunity of serving you again.

Best wishes to your mum for a speedy recovery ...... warm regards!

Gianni Andreucci
Resident Manager
Best Western Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

While conveniently located, the hotel floor plan makes little sense. Several hotel rooms are on the ground floor with guest rooms on the street side. The first night my husband and I as well as the couple we were traveling with occupied these rooms and we could literally here the conversations of people on the street outside our room window. The second night we had rooms overlooking the garden, but both had problems with the air conditioning. The couple we were traveling with discovered the failure of the air conditioning as soon as they changed rooms and it was corrected before we returned from dinner. My husband and I were not so lucky. Our problem began after midnight when we were awakened by a sound very similar to a fire alarm. After several minutes the screeching quit, and we tried to call the front desk to report it. We were unaware that 0 was extension of the bar and due to the hour of the night we got no response. We tried a second time when we were awakened about an hour later, but again no response since 0 was not the hotel operator. There was nothing on the phone or in the room that instructed patrons to dial another number for the front desk. SInce we had been told the night before that there were no open rooms my husband was skeptical that there was anything to be done. During the hours between midnight and 8 am when we fled the room with our luggage we were awakened at least 4 times by a screeching that most probably was a bearing going out on the air conditioner. When we reported our experience at the front desk the staff seemed uninterested or skeptical and certainly not sympathetic. I have posted numerous reviews of hotels and restaurants on trip advisor and never before posted a negative review. We paid $250 per night for the most dismal hotel experience I have had in my 35+ years of traveling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tscollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo_Ognissanti, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Good morning tscollett,

thank you for the comment posted on Tripadvisor, and for the praises to our location, a few metres far from Santa Maria Novella station and very close to the main city monuments like Uffizi and Duomo.

I apologize to you for the inconvenience reported; most of all I'm extremely sorry that during the night you weren't able to call the reception to obtain instant help: this was due to the fact that the number you were dialing ( 0 ) is not the one that connects with the front desk.
Every hotel room is normally provided with an instruciotn sheet with the useful numbers; I'm afraid that for some reason you couldn't find this form in your room.

Our reception clerks are generally recognized to be smiling people working with a cordial attitude: I regret if you had a different impression about them.

I assure you that I 'm taking your observations in great consideration since each review contains elements that can help us to improve our job.

I renovate my apologies and wish you a good day.

Best regards,

Gianni Andreucci
Resident Manager
Best Western Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is about 10 minutes leisurely walk to the main piazzas of Florence. It has a parking garage within a few hundred metres and is really convenient to find.

The reception staff are truly excellent, always helpful and friendly, as well as having great English for us non Italian speakers.

The room I was in was on the street side, so a little noisy but its good to know that the street cleaners are very active! Oh and the street serenaders were great too! The room was reasonably sized although the air-conditioner remained a mystery to me. Internet worked well.

The breakfast was excellent with good fresh hams, cheeses and selection of breads as well as fruit, cereals and some hot items such as scrambled eggs and sausages.

In summary its a good hotel for a few days stay whilst exploring the wonderful city of Florence.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can get noisy, especially as the city wakes up.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubaibob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo_Ognissanti, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Dubaibob2,

it's nice to know that a top contributor as you are appreciated our hotel, most of all our location ( in the city centre near to the train station and main monuments), the WI -FI connection ( offered for free to all our guests) and the rich American Buffet Breakfast.

Special thanks for the praises reserved to our Front Desk ladies: I'm completely aware that they are a real "plus" for our hotel but it's always a great pleasure to receive such positive comments about them.

We look forward to having you again in our splendid city, hopefully at Palazzo Ognissanti.

Warm regards.

Gianni Andreucci
Resident Manager
Best Western Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights here in May and had a very pleasant experience. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful; quite gracious. Our room and bathroom were spacious. My only complaint is the shower was so small you could barely move around. Breakfast was good...the breakfast staff not so friendly. The location was great for us.....we walked to all sights from here.....and to be able to walk to the train station was a plus for us. Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TexasMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo_Ognissanti, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello TexasMB,

it was nice to receive your kind comment: thank you so much for the positive comments about our rooms and location (in the city centre, 300 metres far from the train station and at walking distance from the main monuments) about the breakfast and most of all for the praises to our clerks.

Every day we strive to give to our guests a nice experience in our wonderful city here at Palazzo Ognissanti and it's pleasant when someone appreciates our efforts.

Best regards,

Gianni Andreucci
Resident Manager
Best Western Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#257 of 411 in Florence
704 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#107 of 411 in Florence
1,592 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#90 of 411 in Florence
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
De Rose Palace Hotel
De Rose Palace Hotel
#225 of 411 in Florence
323 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#143 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 411 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 12R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £65 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Ognissanti Hotel is located in an important 19th century building in the historical city center of Florence, on the corner of Borgo Ognissanti and Via Maso Finiguerra. Just minutes away from the Santa Maria Novella train station, from the main city monuments and the Exposition and Conference Center. Nearby there are some of the cities' finest restaurants and typical florentine "trattorias", all within walking distance. The rooms are furnished simply and functionally. WiFi internet connection is free of charge. The Hotel has special agreements with various garages in its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing