We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great artifacts let down”

Museo Archeologico Nazionale
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.04*
and up
Florence's Hidden Past: Archaeological National Museum Tour
Ranked #95 of 442 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great artifacts let down”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This museum holds some precious pieces of a interesting era and are worth seeing, however staff are unpleasant and dull the experience

Helpful?
2 Thank Nclsrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    25
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see. A breath of fresh air in Florence”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I joined TripAdvisor just to write a review for this place. Cannot recommend it enough. One of the finest and most relaxing collections in Florence. Where the rest of the city's galleries are a rush of Renaissance grandeur -- this museum surprises you. Pleasant staff, no crowds, and most importantly, seriously great art. Worth it just to see the Chimera of Arezzo, a masterpiece of Etruscan sculpture. Can see everything leisurely in an hour or two.

I left feeling refreshed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank InthePines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating treasures, poorly organized, uninterested staff”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The exhibit on the ground floor about the Etruscans is done well-enough, with decent lighting, labels, and sight lines, but the treasures upstairs, including some astonishing Egyptian ones, are another story. The lighting is bad, there are no labels for individual works or even groups of works, not even in Italian, and with the exception of a bit of Egyptian-style decoration in those rooms, the effect is more like walking into a museum's storage warehouse rather than the museum proper. Many of the pieces are so high on the shelves that a child would not be able to see much of them, and the reflections from the glass cases make seeing them even more difficult.

In most Italian museums, the guards know the works and are glad to answer questions. In this one, sadly, they seemed uninterested in either.

I'd still recommend visiting if you're interested in these kinds of works, but you'll unless you either already know everything or are happy to learn very little about the pieces, you'll leave as much frustrated as pleased.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
359 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
“Peaceful - a hidden gem worth seeing”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was up early one morning and wanted to go to the Museum of San Marco but was a little too early. Just around the corner I found this wonderful museum, which I had almost completely to myself. Full of Etruscan art and all sorts of interesting artefacts, I really enjoyed my time here. About an hour is all you need, but it was so peaceful and wonderful. Not a Florence must see, but worth a look if you have time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,568 reviews
3,175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,098 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Archeologico National Museum is worth seeing because there are many archaeological remains that are beautiful and worth seeing. However the museum is not well organized and there are many displayed items without identifying names. We had to ask the young ladies working in the museum for the names of the exhibits several times.

The bronze "Chimera of Arezzo" is one of the best known examples of the art of the Etruscans. It was found in Arezzo, an ancient city in Tuscany, in 1553 and was quickly claimed for the collection of the Medici Grand Duke of Tuscany Cosimo I. This is one of the most important exhibits.

There is a beautiful bronze statue of Minerva from Arrezo, 3rd century BC. There were many funerary urns from Chiusi, 5th century BC. There was a large sarcophagus from Tarquinia with a man lying on his side. There was a beautiful statue of Apollo Milani, 550 BC.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Archeologico Nazionale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Archeologico Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing