We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub standard management”

Museo Archeologico Nazionale
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.25*
and up
Florence's Hidden Past: Archaeological National Museum Tour
More Info
US$29.66*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Hour Guided Visit of Florence Archaeological Museum
More Info
US$34.41*
and up
Photography Bike Tour of Florence
Ranked #98 of 632 things to do in Florence
Attraction details
Middle East
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sub standard management”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I have to agree with most of the reviews. While there is a good Etruscan collection there, it is basically inaccessible unless you read Italian or have a very good command of Latin or French. On the second floor there were many artifacts lacking any labeling at all.h
The only section with English labeling was the Egyptian collection. Part of that was closed off as people were "allegedly" working there. Sadly the lack of proper signage and labeling reflects directly and poorly upon the level of the museum's management.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Moshe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    29
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fine collection, but labelling subpar”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited this museum, which is near the Accademia where the David is, with my adult "child" who happens to have a degree in Classical Languages. He was a font of knowledge about many of the exhibits. Without his input, I would not have had as good an experience, since many of the exhibits are not labeled well. My Italian is rudimentary at best, and there are few signs in English or other languages. That said, the collection is fabulous! This is the best museum of its kind that I have visited.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“May be good for locals”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Generally the exhibitions were interesting.
We went there together with my significant one and lucky for us i used to study archeology for five years and it is my lifetime hobby, otherwise he would understand nothing. 90% of descriptions were in Italian, if not missing at all. And there was no warning beforehand.

Generally the bunch of old pots will tell you totally nothing without description, so consider twice wasting your money if you can not speak Italian.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not high on list”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

It's ok if you want some peace and quiet and have an interest in archeology.
Would not rate it as a must see though

Helpful?
Thank JoeCat68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The treasure”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This museum is one of the best places to see Etruscan art ,but the labeling is only in Italian. You can also see astonishing Roman, Greek and Egyptian exhibits and a rare collection from Kafiri in North Pakistan. The labeling seem to be the problem, and the staff is not very helpful

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank agachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Archeologico Nazionale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Archeologico Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing