We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free parking in central Florence in helpful, friendly clean hotel.”
Review of Hotel Dali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dali
Ranked #136 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel but welcoming and friendly. Well organised with Marco sorting our permits for driving into central Florence zone immediately on our arrival. Entry to parking very narrow so hire a little car if you're not great at manoeuvres! No breakfast but very well located and we would definitely recommend this place to budget travellers with high standards!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel is within a stones throw of the Duomo and also offered private parking. Service was fantastic and very friendly, showing us all the best places to visit and super helpful in returning a left mobile phone (Marco you're a saint)! Family room was good, comfortable and quiet and overlooked the courtyard. A very nice and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Dali is central to the Duomo and is a fairly easy walk to the major sights. The elevator worked the first time we used it but didn't for the rest of our three-night stay, and with luggage that would be an awkward climb up two curving sets of stairs.

Our room was large with a desk and wardrobe. The bed was a bit stiff and the pillows quite thin; even with two underneath our heads, the sleep quality wasn't great. There is no A/C so it gets a bit warm, even with the provided. There is a minifridge but ours had a bit of a rotting smell. The bathroom was about a standard size for Europe. It was decently clean, though not impeccable and smelled a little odd.

On the second night, about 9:30 p.m., someone started knocking on the front door of the hotel. When the knocking didn't get an answer (the receptionist leaves at about 7?), the knocking turned into pounding...then ringing the doorbell...then kicking...and more banging. It was annoying at first and then it got a little unnerving. This lasted for about 20 minutes. There is a sign on the door for patrons to phone Marco if they are locked out or arrive after hours, so I'm not sure what the incident was about.

The breakfast was disappointing, to say the least--packaged croissants, packaged toast and instant coffee. If I'd known about the breakfast and bathroom, and the incident, I would not have chosen to stay here. It was fine for a short stay and for our budget, but I wouldn't stay again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room next to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This place served its purpose and I am not complaining. For Florence, it seemed to have less stairs than other hotels, which I was grateful for, only 50). The location was very convenient so that was a huge plus. The downside can be easily fixed with proper planning: we were street side and it was loud the entire night. This wasn't just cars, it was people talking and singing and shouting up and down the street (I presumed there was a bar nearby?!). That can be fixed by requesting a room that overlooks the courtyard (from the floor plan in the hotel, the rooms seem to be bigger on that side too). I am typically not a share-a-bathroom kind of girl, but it was never a big issue, but of course, I would recommend requesting a room with a bathroom. For the price, this place definitely fit the bill.

Room Tip: Pick a courtyard view with a bathroom, you will have a great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AV_StL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in a large, sunny room with a private bath overlooking a lovely courtyard. It must have been one of the nicest rooms in this small hotel near the Duomo. It's on the second floor of a very old building with a rather small elevator. Given the age of the building, the bathroom wasn't like a four star hotel, but it was quite serviceable. Overall, we found the place charming. Marco is fluent in English, gracious and very helpful in recommending places for dinner that weren't full of tourists. We found it to be an easy walk from the train station and convenient to all the sights. We definitely plan on staying here again on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights in March. This was a super cute hotel, quiet, had charm and was close to the Duomo (visible from the street). We had a room over looking the courtyard and the tree outside our window was so picturesque. There was a wild owl that we could hear in the early morning hours. The bathrooms here were clean and had great water pressure. Since the hotel is so small, we didn't mind the shared bathrooms. We also liked that we had a sink in the room and that the hotel could be accessed at any time with the key to the main door. The walk to the train station was actually faster than we thought, despite others reviews. We would stay here again. I already miss it, now that I am writing the review :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are romantic and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbvargas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Dali for four nights based on the reviews of other TripAdvisor members.

The location was amazing. It was right next to the Duomo which is the heart of the city. We were within a 10-15 minute walk to pretty much anything you'd want to see in Florence. Plus, it was so easy to find our hotel when we needed to: just look for the Duomo.

You can't beat the price. We paid about €55-60 per night. To be honest, we probably would have spent the extra money for a little nicer next time though.

When we arrived, we were put into a room in the front that had two single beds instead of a double. They weren't even pushed together. We were told they overbooked and we would have to move rooms the next day. They moved our suitcases over to the other room while we were out the next day.

The new room was bigger and had a "double" bed, which was just two singles pushed together. The rooms did not have air conditioning, so the heat of August was brutal and uncomfortable. The rooms had a sink and mirror, but no bathroom. We showered and used the toilet in the common areas.

When checking out, we were overcharged for our stay, and it did take a call to the owner (Peter) to get it straightened out. Peter seemed nice and helpful, but Cleo, one of the hotel staff members, was confident we owed the incorrect amount.

All in all, if you just need a cheap hotel in a great location, this is it. But if you want comfortable, I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewAlanSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#170 of 410 in Florence
489 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#158 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#115 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#174 of 410 in Florence
495 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dali

Address: Via Dell'Oriuolo 17, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#54 Family Hotel in Florence
#121 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £37 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dali 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dal� is located in an old palace owned by the Marquis Frescobaldi, renowned by name to Italians and to wine producers worldwide. The hotel's peaceful setting is centrally located within old town Florence on Via dell'Oriuolo ("The Clock Road" in ancient Florentine). This little cobblestone road is still filled with "botteghe" (artisan shops), where carpenters, jewellers and frame-makers can be found at work. Marco and Samanta, a very nice couple native to Florence and experts in providing unparalleled comfort and service, manage the hotel. Their welcome will make you feel at home. They will be happy to help you by offering nice suggestions that will enhance your experience of the true Florentine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Dali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dali Hotel Florence
Hotel Dali Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing