We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dali”
Review of Hotel Dali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dali
Ranked #141 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dali”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A nice and cheap place to stay with a great location in Firenze. The people at the front desk where helpful and welcoming. There is no breakfast, but you don't want to waste time in the hotel when there is so many good places to eat in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank scarybloodspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    202
    75
    17
    5
See reviews for
80
361
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is an affordable and comfortable option for a stay in Florence. We came directly from Venice and the vibrant heart of Florence was almost shocking and yet invigorating. Steps from the famous Duomo is Hotel Dali. This was a Rick Steeves pick and I noted that as well as being less expensive, the proprietors were very helpful to guests. Both sounded good to me.
Both husband and wife are lovely but we saw more of Marco. Before we arrived, he booked tickets for us to the Acadamie and the Uffiz Gallery. This is a must if you plan to see these wonderful galleries as they sell out. There was no charge by Hotel Dali for this service. It is just part of what they do. He also provided train information for Naples and alerted us to an open cellar weekend in the Chianti region which were both very helpful.
The big obvious disadvantage to Hotel Dali is no ensuite toile/shower. Every room has a sink. They only have ten rooms and two bathrooms. We stayed three nights and never had to wait. So it was not bad at all. The other potential negative is no breakfast provided. The Hotel Dali is much too small to start preparing and serving breakfast although there is a coffee maker and goodies in a basket in your room so you can make do with that.
Marco sent us to one of his favourite local cafes where mainly Florentines came for their morning cappuccino. Affordable! Coffee and pastries were great. This turned out to be one of our fave times of the day. Florence has lots of nice cafes. We had a few we expecially liked in the short time we were there and showed our preference by returning. We were always rememvbered.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the traffic as Rick Steeeves suggests. We did not do that and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Marco was extremely helpful, location is absolutely perfect and hotel had a fabulous Florence charm. No hesitations in recommending this hotel. Just use the mosquito zappers in your room and also, if you are driving, make sure you let them know your registration as the hotel is in the Limited Traffic Zone. Car park entrance is extremely tight so make sure you have a small car.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Calypso501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel but welcoming and friendly. Well organised with Marco sorting our permits for driving into central Florence zone immediately on our arrival. Entry to parking very narrow so hire a little car if you're not great at manoeuvres! No breakfast but very well located and we would definitely recommend this place to budget travellers with high standards!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel is within a stones throw of the Duomo and also offered private parking. Service was fantastic and very friendly, showing us all the best places to visit and super helpful in returning a left mobile phone (Marco you're a saint)! Family room was good, comfortable and quiet and overlooked the courtyard. A very nice and memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Dali is central to the Duomo and is a fairly easy walk to the major sights. The elevator worked the first time we used it but didn't for the rest of our three-night stay, and with luggage that would be an awkward climb up two curving sets of stairs.

Our room was large with a desk and wardrobe. The bed was a bit stiff and the pillows quite thin; even with two underneath our heads, the sleep quality wasn't great. There is no A/C so it gets a bit warm, even with the provided. There is a minifridge but ours had a bit of a rotting smell. The bathroom was about a standard size for Europe. It was decently clean, though not impeccable and smelled a little odd.

On the second night, about 9:30 p.m., someone started knocking on the front door of the hotel. When the knocking didn't get an answer (the receptionist leaves at about 7?), the knocking turned into pounding...then ringing the doorbell...then kicking...and more banging. It was annoying at first and then it got a little unnerving. This lasted for about 20 minutes. There is a sign on the door for patrons to phone Marco if they are locked out or arrive after hours, so I'm not sure what the incident was about.

The breakfast was disappointing, to say the least--packaged croissants, packaged toast and instant coffee. If I'd known about the breakfast and bathroom, and the incident, I would not have chosen to stay here. It was fine for a short stay and for our budget, but I wouldn't stay again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room next to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This place served its purpose and I am not complaining. For Florence, it seemed to have less stairs than other hotels, which I was grateful for, only 50). The location was very convenient so that was a huge plus. The downside can be easily fixed with proper planning: we were street side and it was loud the entire night. This wasn't just cars, it was people talking and singing and shouting up and down the street (I presumed there was a bar nearby?!). That can be fixed by requesting a room that overlooks the courtyard (from the floor plan in the hotel, the rooms seem to be bigger on that side too). I am typically not a share-a-bathroom kind of girl, but it was never a big issue, but of course, I would recommend requesting a room with a bathroom. For the price, this place definitely fit the bill.

Room Tip: Pick a courtyard view with a bathroom, you will have a great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AV_StL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 422 in Florence
465 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#111 of 422 in Florence
451 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#146 of 422 in Florence
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 422 in Florence
738 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#172 of 422 in Florence
485 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dali

Property: Hotel Dali
Address: Via Dell'Oriuolo 17, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#54 Family Hotel in Florence
#121 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dali 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dal� is located in an old palace owned by the Marquis Frescobaldi, renowned by name to Italians and to wine producers worldwide. The hotel's peaceful setting is centrally located within old town Florence on Via dell'Oriuolo ("The Clock Road" in ancient Florentine). This little cobblestone road is still filled with "botteghe" (artisan shops), where carpenters, jewellers and frame-makers can be found at work. Marco and Samanta, a very nice couple native to Florence and experts in providing unparalleled comfort and service, manage the hotel. Their welcome will make you feel at home. They will be happy to help you by offering nice suggestions that will enhance your experience of the true Florentine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dali Hotel Florence
Hotel Dali Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing