We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Expensive Florence”
Review of Hotel Dali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dali
Ranked #133 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

So near the Duomo and the heart of Florence -- and they have a lift to the third floor.
Marco could not be more helpful. My room was a small twin-bedded off the lobby facing the street (and a view if you stuck your head out of the Duomo) and I was pleased to find it had its own sink. I had a shared toilet/bathroom and never had problems getting in when I needed to -- and it was clean and nearby. Although it is true the first night there was a noisy crowd going by at 2 a.m., and Marco said it could be noisy on a Saturday night, I had no problem with the sound issues on a Wed and Thursday night. Recommended great cafe for breakfast right near by. For the price I paid, this was a fabulous deal and would definitely recommend it to others. But the desk staff leaves by 7 pm and doesn't come back until 8 am so may not be great for very late arrivals.

Room Tip: Friends double room off of Lobby was large with small bathroom. My twin-bedded room off Lobby was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and we couldn't have found a better hotel in Florence. This was our first time in Florence and we were looking for something in a good location for a decent price and this hotel was far beyond our expectations. The location is amazing, just down the street form the Duomo (1 min walk) and easily accessible to all other sites in this amazing city. We stayed in 2 different rooms throughout our stay. For the first night we stayed in a room without a bathroom and the next 4 nights in a room with a bathroom. After staying in both rooms its clear the hotel has put a lot of effort in the small touches that go into making this hotel the value that it is. If you are in a room without a bathroom there are 2 shared bathrooms, which were both extremely clean and well kept. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the windows do a great job of keeping out the outside noise (the street can get a bit noisy on weekend nights). As great as the rooms were, the hotel staff are truly what made our stay as wonderful as it was. Peter and Marco are extremely attentive and kind. They assisted us in booking reservations for the Uffizi Gallery and to see The David, they gave us suggestions on how to get around the city and of some things to do that may be off the beaten path, and they gave us the best suggestions for restaurants in Florence (I have never eaten so good in my life). If you're looking for a hotel in Florence and have come across Hotel Dali, just stop and book this hotel.....now! I couldn't imagine a better stay! When we return to Florence (hopefully soon) we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A nice and cheap place to stay with a great location in Firenze. The people at the front desk where helpful and welcoming. There is no breakfast, but you don't want to waste time in the hotel when there is so many good places to eat in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank scarybloodspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is an affordable and comfortable option for a stay in Florence. We came directly from Venice and the vibrant heart of Florence was almost shocking and yet invigorating. Steps from the famous Duomo is Hotel Dali. This was a Rick Steeves pick and I noted that as well as being less expensive, the proprietors were very helpful to guests. Both sounded good to me.
Both husband and wife are lovely but we saw more of Marco. Before we arrived, he booked tickets for us to the Acadamie and the Uffiz Gallery. This is a must if you plan to see these wonderful galleries as they sell out. There was no charge by Hotel Dali for this service. It is just part of what they do. He also provided train information for Naples and alerted us to an open cellar weekend in the Chianti region which were both very helpful.
The big obvious disadvantage to Hotel Dali is no ensuite toile/shower. Every room has a sink. They only have ten rooms and two bathrooms. We stayed three nights and never had to wait. So it was not bad at all. The other potential negative is no breakfast provided. The Hotel Dali is much too small to start preparing and serving breakfast although there is a coffee maker and goodies in a basket in your room so you can make do with that.
Marco sent us to one of his favourite local cafes where mainly Florentines came for their morning cappuccino. Affordable! Coffee and pastries were great. This turned out to be one of our fave times of the day. Florence has lots of nice cafes. We had a few we expecially liked in the short time we were there and showed our preference by returning. We were always rememvbered.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the traffic as Rick Steeeves suggests. We did not do that and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed three nights. Marco was extremely helpful, location is absolutely perfect and hotel had a fabulous Florence charm. No hesitations in recommending this hotel. Just use the mosquito zappers in your room and also, if you are driving, make sure you let them know your registration as the hotel is in the Limited Traffic Zone. Car park entrance is extremely tight so make sure you have a small car.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Calypso501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel but welcoming and friendly. Well organised with Marco sorting our permits for driving into central Florence zone immediately on our arrival. Entry to parking very narrow so hire a little car if you're not great at manoeuvres! No breakfast but very well located and we would definitely recommend this place to budget travellers with high standards!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel is within a stones throw of the Duomo and also offered private parking. Service was fantastic and very friendly, showing us all the best places to visit and super helpful in returning a left mobile phone (Marco you're a saint)! Family room was good, comfortable and quiet and overlooked the courtyard. A very nice and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#164 of 409 in Florence
319 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#180 of 409 in Florence
493 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#167 of 409 in Florence
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#115 of 409 in Florence
462 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 409 in Florence
771 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dali

Address: Via Dell'Oriuolo 17, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#54 Family Hotel in Florence
#121 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £36 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dali 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dal� is located in an old palace owned by the Marquis Frescobaldi, renowned by name to Italians and to wine producers worldwide. The hotel's peaceful setting is centrally located within old town Florence on Via dell'Oriuolo ("The Clock Road" in ancient Florentine). This little cobblestone road is still filled with "botteghe" (artisan shops), where carpenters, jewellers and frame-makers can be found at work. Marco and Samanta, a very nice couple native to Florence and experts in providing unparalleled comfort and service, manage the hotel. Their welcome will make you feel at home. They will be happy to help you by offering nice suggestions that will enhance your experience of the true Florentine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Dali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dali Hotel Florence
Hotel Dali Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing