We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very shabby exterior but comfortable enough for transit”
Review of Hotel Ottaviani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ottaviani
Ranked #395 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very shabby exterior but comfortable enough for transit”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is right in front of the cathedral/ museum across the railway station.
Free WiFi is included even if it was not mentioned on our booking.
The lady at the reception did not speak or understand English well, but was very helpful.
She carried our luggage up the flight of stairs and was always cheerful.
Breakfast costs 1.99 euros and is a couple of cookies, a little cake and a hot/ cold drink.
At a walk-able distance to the main piazzas and the Duomo.

On the other hand, this can be a bit difficult to find, very shabby street and entrance, tiny lift up to the 2nd floor, people on the 3rd floor have to take the stairs.
Windows with mosquito net, stuffy inside the rooms, noisy street all throughout the day and night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    59
    57
    96
See reviews for
38
71
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Basic accommodations and great location. Very clean and breakfast was just right. Our bathroom was in the hall but close enough for comfort. No frills but we loved it here and the staff were good people.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the alley- a bit noisy with people and scooters, however our sleepless night was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucylooDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

This is a budget hotel, to be sure. Old, used, eclectic furniture, marginally appointed rooms. "Clean" is a relative term. Cheap towels.

But - great location to use as a base to walk around Florence, once you find it. Second flight lobby, small elevator that doesn't service all the floors.

In room shower stall, but shared toilet down the hall.

Staff is polite and helpful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The people running this place are great, and I don't want to give them a bad review, but honestly that was the loudest, noisiest place we have EVER stayed in so I could never stay there again! The location is fantastic, it is cheap, like other reviewers have said, the shared bathroom is fine. We had a private shower in our room which was ridiculously tiny but good pressure and clean. The desk is manned 24/7 which is good for security, the breakfast was cheap (although we didn't have it) and it was 3 euro upfront for unlimited wifi. If you stay here make sure u are not in a room on the main road unless you plan on not sleeping at all!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ottaviani for the 8 days we spent in Florence, because it was the cheapest room we could find that wasn't in a hostel. We were surprised to find it almost directly in the center of the city, right next to the river, the termini, the market, and all the main streets. The room was clean, and though the bathroom is shared it was never too inconvenient. The beds were small, but comfortable. Marina checked us in when we arrived, and we have yet to find someone with so much spirit and hospitality anywhere else in Florence. The staff was always smiling and patient, and we would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Florence on a budget, especially for a long period of time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinju L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Is sneakily classed as a 'hotel' so they can charge hotel tax (2 euros per person per night which you pay upon arrival), it is in fact more like a hostel. Its very small and makes up the 2nd and 3rd floor of a shared building. There is a small old fashioned lift to take your suitcase/luggage upstairs, we found the lift rather amusing as we got stuck trying to get in and out with our luggage (myself and 2 friends). Our room was clean:) which is always important. There is no aircon, do not be fooled thinking there is like we were. There is a large old fashioned fan on the ceiling which works but it means unfortunately that the only person who can feel it is the person sleeping directly underneath it....which as not me. So i was very hot sleeping here. It was very quiet and I did sleep well the 2 nights we stayed. We had a shower in our room, however its just sat in the corner of the room and is see through so none of us decided to use it...we all used the shared showers which were ok. We thought our breakfast was included when in fact it wasnt! we were told its an extra 3 euros a day if you want breakfast and that if theres room for you as theres not enough tables for everyone in the hotel to eat at the same time. We went to mcdonalds around the corner and got a brioche for 0.90 cents, so cheap! so if you stay here go to mcdonalds around the corner next to the train station for breakfast as theres is a rip off. The hotel breakfast is a super small bowl of cornflakes or granola and cheap orange or water....thats it for 3 euros. We didnt like the fact that we were asked to leave our room key at reception when we were out of the hotel. All the keys just hang up behind the counter, you walk in and help yourself. We could have picked up other room keys and gone into other peoples room as there is no security system. We thought we would walk in and have to ask for our room key giving them our names but they just ushed us to get out own key. Anyone could have walked in and stolen our belongings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeartSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Hi there,

I went to Florence on a Saturday and everything was fully booked !!! Being a bit desperate a was asking in all the hotels, finally I popped into one in very close location to the station , which was absolutely basic but incredibly clean . Paid 40 euros with Italian breakfast and I was happy to stay there. I do recommend this Pensionate if you do not expect a lot but a clean place to stay overnight!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgiAgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Masaccio
#268 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#264 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#243 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#280 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#279 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#315 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ottaviani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ottaviani

Property: Hotel Ottaviani
Address: Piazza Degli Ottaviani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ottaviani 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ottaviani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottaviani Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing