We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable, and a change to have rooms with character”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #264 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Redditch
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, and a change to have rooms with character”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here in mid July as part of a package to see the MotoGP at Mugello, and read the previous reviews with a sense of trepidation. However the hotel was a delight. We had the room adjoining the main block, and it was delightful. Large, airy, and such a change from the usual hotel box you get. The breakfasts were satisfactory, and considering the early starts we made, 5:45 am, the staff were a lot more cheerful than I would have been. Paying to use the pool area was a bit much, I would have expected it to be free for residents, otherwise this would have been a 5 star review.
The hotel is in a great position for getting around, you are only 10 mins walk from the centre, and there are plenty of reasonable eateries nearby, try the Chinese in Via XXVII, and ice cream from the shop in piazza San Marco. Aviod the resturant next door to the ice cream shop, it's not very good at all.
Do take mosquito repellant,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    96
    67
    34
    31
See reviews for
52
85
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The room we ve got for 75 euros( not including parking) was very small.The staff was moving furniture in the morning,and we could hear all noises from inside. The breakfast was very poor, at around 9.15 almost everything was finished and we have barely obtained the refills. Some of the staff were rude. ( unappropriate comments and attitude).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Masiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bchémoûn, Mont-Liban, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was there from 29th of June till 1st of July 2012 with my friend and my brother. We had an excellent experience.We loved the hotel with the old royal style and beautiful paintings. The lobby is big and beautiful with old style comfortable couches, a nice Chandelier and wifi connection (only available there).The reception and staff were extremely helpful and friendly, fluent in English, French and even Spanish. The rooms were spacey clean and comfortable.
Good location too! Not very far from the train station.There is a bus stop and a park a 2 min walk away.We had a great experience in Florence and this hotel was definitely part of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

we were traveling on a budget and this one fitted the bill. we loved the exterior and we had a lovely room. Breakfast was fine and the coffee was good. strange man at reception though -one minute he was very friendly and helpful, the next he was rude and off-hand. It was quite hot and we asked how to operate the air conditioner - stunned to hear him say that the air conditioning would not be available until after we left. apparently it's only allowed to be comfortable for a very short period of the year, according to the date and not the temperature. Mosquitoes were very evident and no screens. Lovely swimming pool but extra cost (6 Euros, I think) levied for its use! It was an easy walk to the middle of town and, all in all, I would be prepared to stay there again - not in warm weather though.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Royal in 2011 We went out of season so the cost was reasonable - 75 per night for a double including breakfast. We thought the hotel was lovely and the staff very friendly. Based on tripadvisor reviews, we feared for the worst at Hotel Royal. To our delight, virtually every complaint proved unfounded. The manager, Arganini Francesco, handled all our questions with good-natured skill and provided excellent advice on restaurants. The rooms are spacious and clean, although they are sparsely but adequately furnished. The garden in back with a brand new swimming pool is just incredible.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

After reading the reviews I braced myself for the worst and hoped for the best. We paid 75 euros per night and based on that amount we were happy with the hotel. The room was very quiet over looking the lovely gardens and the bed very comfortable. There are definitely some maintenance issues with this hotel and it needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to what it truly could be, a gem in Florence. You could hear everything in the hallway loud and clear. Close your windows before sunset or you will get mosquitoes.
The breakfast was an indulgence for us, sweet/plain croissants especially loved the custard one, toasty bread (don't know what they call them) with nutella were our main weaknesses, we would never eat anything like this for breakfast. It was however lacking in fresh fruit, I found it to be a typical Italian breakfast.
We knew about the pool cost and internet so there were no surprises. The staff weren't anything great but the lady serving breakfast was lovely if you were with her (I don't envy her job).
Don' expect much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangiamiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Dirty rooms with amortised furniture, you pay for enternet - 15 euro, for pool - 8 euro, for parking - 56 euro for 2 days! For breakfast with no any choise. No air condition. The toilet was broken and water was dropping all night long. There were mosquitos everywhere. Most miserable and poor hotel i ever been. Don't go there! It is a shame for Florence and Italy!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doby80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Park Palace Hotel
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#187 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#235 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#170 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via delle Ruote 52, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A splendid Florentine villa built by the end of 1700. Residence of the owners until 1950, it was then turned into a hotel, and in 1990 completely restored by the present management: the Messina family. The Hotel Royal is located in a quiet zone of the town only 500 meters from the Central Station, the Congress Center and from the Cathedral. The hotel has a beautiful ancient garden with a swimming pool in the back and and a large parking place in front for its guests. Both services are for extra charge. All rooms are equipped with color TV with remote control, safe, minibar, direct-dial telephone, air-conditioning, hair-dryer. The stylish furniture grants to all rooms a sober and warm elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing