We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat yet close to the centre of Florence”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #253 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat yet close to the centre of Florence”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed three nights in mid May in this fine old building with a quiet, relaxing rear garden. It is an ideal spot for exploring the wonderful heart of the city on foot. All reception staff were very helpful, with excellent English. Breakfast was adequate (no fruit or eggs, and all drinks from machines). Room & bathroom were very clean. The shutters keep the room very dark but there was quite a lot of noise from the street from early morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    101
    67
    34
    31
See reviews for
54
86
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel Royal is a beautiful villa built in the 1700's, which is now a hotel. There is a big garden and pool (which they charge 8 euro per day for), which would be good in Summer. Our room on the first floor had plenty of room, comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom, with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. There is only free wifi in the lounge and breakfast room, but the lounge is lovely, with big comfortable armchairs. Breakfast was good, with cereal, croissants and pastries, rolls, ham, cheese, yoghurt, juice and coffee. The staff were helpful, without being overly friendly. The hotel is a bit out of the way, about a 10 minute walk to the station and the town centre, about 5 minutes to the market. We found this to be a good thing. It was very quiet at night, and with shutters on the windows it was very dark, so we slept very well. Also, at restaurants in this area you get a better meal for less money. We were very happy with Hotel Royal and would recommend it. Do yourself a favour while in Florence and grab a pizza at Gusta Pizza - delicious and cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful old villa, with a nice seating area on the ground floor. However its the only place I've been asked to pay to use the swimmingpool! This needs to change, I don't see the point when the pool is there and hardly anyone uses it. That's just bad service.

Some of the staff speak very bad English, which is disappointing in a big city like Firenze where you might want to get some tips. Staff recommended Ristorante Da Mimmo, what ever you do, don't go there! Its a terrible tourist trap!

Rooms were ok, my friends got a very small room, so mine was ok compeared. Bathroom is very little, you can hardly move about. The selection on breakfast is very limited, ham, cheese and croisants. Nothing special.

Location is a little bit out of the main attractions, but still within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelie0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We found this to be a really nice hotel. It's slightly out of the City centre which has the advantage that it's relatively inexpensive and relatively quiet. We travelled by train and it's a bit of a walk from the station, but you can walk from here to the Centre in about 20 minutes. We found the staff to be really pleasant and the breakfast was good. The curious thing about the hotel is that it has the feel of a country house, being a rather rambling building with terrace, small garden area and a pool. You do have to pay to use the hotel (I think it was 8 euro's per person per day, which seemed expensive and so we didn't use it). One of the hotel rooms is quite small but has a good sized private terrace.
We thought it was good and would be ready to use this hotel again so would recommend it.

Room Tip: Most rooms are in the main hotel on the first floor (there is a lift).There are a couple of 'ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taplow Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Really enjoyed the experience. Apart from the fact that Firenza is posibly one of the most beautiful cities in the world this Hotel was inexpensive, welcoming, excellently paced to walk to all the main points of interest, quiet, clean and actually quite grand given it's modest budget. The food was fine and although for some strange reason they do charge to use the pool I do not recall being charged to use the car park (I was on a Harley mind). I can quite understand if a charge was made though as secure parking in Italy is a must and so close to the city centre I'm sure it is at a premium.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5cottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I have to say this is the most random place i have ever stopped. When we checked in the man on reception informed us that we had to pay 25 euros to park, and 5 euros each to use the pool... He then told us we had a very nice room and took us to a 'suite' out the back. On first look it seemed nice, but on closer inspection it wasn't! The room was listed as costing 250 euros a night. we paid 50, and it was probably too much! The channdelier in the room was dropping down, the bed was metal and although was meant to be double, it was two singles made up as a double. the walls were cracked, and it was all very dated, no shower curtain was up, and we were provided with a few naff sachets of shampoo. the minibar in the room wasn't priced up, so i guess this is a place where they make prices up as they go, so we didn't touch it. Luckily we were quite central so we managed to walk to a nearby restaurant. We didn't sleep too good as the air con main untit was just outside our window (the window was tiny and very high up in the room).. We didn't sleep too well, and after a very average breakfast, we left early. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I went to Florence for my brothers wedding and stayed in the Hotel Royal for 3 nights. I stayed in a room for 4 people with my sister and parents. The room had a double bed and 2 single beds. The room was large enough to accomodate us all with a large bathroom and his & hers sinks. The room was very clean as was the Hotel on the whole.

I was expecting to find a very miserable/rude man at reception after reading the reviews for the Hotel and found quite the opposite. ALL of the staff at the Hotel Royal were incredibly polite and helpful.

One downside of the hotel was the bar - or lack of a bar! Had about 4 bottles on display which i suspect had been there since the Hotel was built! They also had no mixers at all to go with any of the bottles of alcohol on display.

I would reccoment this Hotel to anyone visiting Florence. Its is a beautiful Hotel in walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Park Palace Hotel
#169 of 422 in Florence
318 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#168 of 422 in Florence
733 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#86 of 422 in Florence
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
italhotels ginori al duomo
italhotels ginori al duomo
#255 of 422 in Florence
534 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 422 in Florence
591 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#183 of 422 in Florence
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via delle Ruote 52, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A splendid Florentine villa built by the end of 1700. Residence of the owners until 1950, it was then turned into a hotel, and in 1990 completely restored by the present management: the Messina family. The Hotel Royal is located in a quiet zone of the town only 500 meters from the Central Station, the Congress Center and from the Cathedral. The hotel has a beautiful ancient garden with a swimming pool in the back and and a large parking place in front for its guests. Both services are for extra charge. All rooms are equipped with color TV with remote control, safe, minibar, direct-dial telephone, air-conditioning, hair-dryer. The stylish furniture grants to all rooms a sober and warm elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing