We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable small hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Cavalcanti
Ranked #105 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable small hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a small hotel on the fourth floor of a residential building in central Florence. The location can't be beat - far enough off the beaten track to be quiet, yet close to everything. We never had to walk more than fifteen minutes to get to anything.

Rooms are generous for Italy and comfortable. They don't claim to offer breakfast but that's mainly because Italian breakfasts consist of cappuccinos and sweets. The staff was helpful but quiet and gave us our privacy - which is what we prefer.

Room Tip: The only difference between Standard and Superior rooms are the views. . . we had one overlooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KascadeKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    63
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
131
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Großbritannien
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location is central. The walk from the station was straightforward and took about 10 to 15 minutes. (I prefer to put my money into Gelato rather than taxis.)

The concept of this Relais really works perfectly for me. You get your keys and you can come and go as you please. They do not serve breakfast, but there is a pretty large, spotlessly clean room where you can prepare your own tea or coffee. There is toast, fruit, little cakes, meringue, cornflakes juice - all of it is complimentary. I remember waking up at 4 in the morning one night, with a craving for something sweet, so I went into the breakfast room and took a cake, an apple and a glass of juice and headed back to my room.

The room itself was spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. It did not feel like a hotel room at all. It was simply a beautiful place to rest. In terms of noise: yes, it is dead central and therefore not quiet, but there is a nifty way to keep out the noise. There are two sets of windows, outer window. Inner window. On top of that there are blackout panels of wood which keep light and noise out as well. Absolutely perfect and quiet, great mattress - perfect snoozing conditions!
The bathroom was so clean, I would have felt comfortable eating from the floor - no joke. Great shower.

The owners were super-friendly and helpful and after booking they were always very quickly and friendly in their responses.

I would stay there again, no question at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skando_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Relevais Cavalcanti in a word: CHARMING!!! A wonderful little gem tucked away in the heart of Florence, very near to the Piazza de Republica and with walking distance of everything. The cab driver dropped me off at the address but it was a little odd at first, as there is no hotel name posted on a sign. This is stated in the hotel website though. I just missed that fact. You find the hotel name on a buzzer, they buzz you in, up about 20 steps to an elevator and then to the 3rd floor. The manager was a young woman who checked me in, showed me around and gave me the set of keys: you need all of them: street door, hotel door and room door. I was upgraded from a single to a double. The view isn’t really anything, but just step into the street and Florence is your view. ☺ But I had a back room that was very, very quiet at night. I don’t really care about the workaday noise. There aren’t room numbers, just room names, but my room was nameless. Still, I was quite impressed with the size for a European room. In the room: double bed, armoire for clothes and with extra bedding, a small writing table and fridge and a nice roomy bathroom! I’m a solo traveler, but this would be perfectly comfortable for two people. As is stated on the website, there is a tearoom chock full of munchies and goodies all day. I’m an early riser, so a cup of coffee to start the day was great. And it’s no problem to tidy up either.
The bed is adequately comfortable with plenty of pillows. I like pillows! The rooms actually look like what is shown on the website. That doesn’t always happen. And, FREE WIFI!! I’m always amazed that big, expensive hotels and resorts charge for Wi-Fi, but the smaller places generally offer as part of the package.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azdemocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This guest house was everything that is shown on the web site - great location, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds modern plumbing and very stylish. What more could you want. The proprietors are very helpful and will book museums and taxis with a smile! Being central it is noisy at night but don't worry, the double glazing is very effective so close the windows and sleep soundly. You have your own set of keys to come and go as you please. It really feels like home from home as you can go to the guest kitchen any time and make a drink or nibble on a cake or biscuit which are in plentiful supply, very relaxed. Just one tip, if you are someone who does not like to start the day with refined white flour and highly sugared products (clearly very popular breakfast material in Italy) then be prepared for plan B.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends and we all absolutely loved our stay. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The location was amazing -- close to everything. What a charming experience to stay in a centuries-old palazzo. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I couldn't have been happier with my choice of this hotel. It was in a great location...everything was walkable. The building, like everything in Florence, is old and beautiful, but the rooms, though modest, were updated with remodeled bathrooms. They were kept very clean - cleaner than most hotel rooms I've stayed at (I'm picky!). The proprietor was gracious and helpful...recommending restaurants, ordering cabs and helping me navigate the city. It was a fantastic visit and I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

3 nights in the Botticelli room were delightful - the location is the best, the room and common areas are kept super clean, it was extemely quiet, and it had a great shower! We felt like we had our own little apartment in the center of town. Affordable as well! Francesca got reservations for us at the Uffizi and Accademia for the times we requested. It couldn't have been nicer. Thank you Anna, Francesca, and Junko!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#206 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#37 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#119 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#87 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Uffizi
Porcellino Gallery
Porcellino Gallery
#199 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Property: Relais Cavalcanti
Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing